Down Under debutantes announce lineups

Making their ProTour debut at the 2009 Tour Down Under, Garmin Slipstream and Team Katusha have announced who will travel to Australia in January.

After signing for the Russian outfit this season, Robbie McEwen will return to a happy hunting ground with former Predictor-Lotto teammate Gert Steegmans. The Belgian has also signed for Katusha, and the pair will be reunited in their first race together since the 2006 season.

Matt White also returns to competition in Australia's biggest race, albeit as a directeur sportif for the Garmin squad. White enjoyed his first season in the position this year and with the likes of Julian Dean, Trent Lowe and Chris Sutton at his disposal, the American team will surely be at the pointy end of the results.

Tour Down Under Race Director Mike Turtur said of the latest announements, "It's great to see two new teams joining the UCI ProTour. And I am pleased that Team Katusha is being spearheaded by Australian sprinter Robbie McEwen." He added that, "It will be great to see Matt [White] back at the event, now on the other side of the competition."

Team Katusha for Tour Down Under: Robbie McEwen (Aus), Geert Steegmans (Bel), Kenny De Haes (Bel), Juan Horrach (Esp), Stijn Vandenbergh (Bel), Sergey Klimov (Rus) and Nikolay Trusov (Rus). DS: Dmitri Konyshev (Rus)

Garmin Slipstream for Tour Down Under: Julian Dean (NZl), Trent Lowe (Aus), Timmy Duggan (USA), Chris Sutton (Aus), Ryder Hesjedal (Can), Cameron Meyer (Aus) and Christian Meier (Can). DS: Matthew White (Aus)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1