Skip to main content

Belgian selection for Nommay

By Brecht Decaluwé

Belgian national cyclo-cross coach Rudy De Bie has announced the ten-man selection for Sunday's World Cup event in Nommay, France. Newly crowned Belgian champion Bart Wellens (Fidea) leads a formidable line-up together with Sven Nys (Rabobank) and world champion Erwin Vervecken (Fidea). Tim Van Nuffel (Stevens Racing Team) has lost his place to in-form Jan Verstraeten (Sunweb).

Van Nuffel didn't start at the Belgian championships due to illness while Verstraeten managed a surprise third place in Otegem on Monday, finishing ahead of big guns like Wellens and Klaas Vantornout (Fidea). Verstraeten also managed to get into the selection earlier this season in Treviso and Pijnacker.

In 2005 the last World Cup race in Nommay was won by Nys ahead of Tom Vannoppen (Sunweb).

Belgian selection for Nommay:

Bart Wellens (Fidea), Sven Nys (Rabobank), Erwin Vervecken (Fidea), Sven Vanthourenhout (Sunweb), David Willemsens (Sunweb), Bart Aernouts (Rabobank), Klaas Vantornout (Fidea), Kevin Pauwels (Fidea), Davy Commeyne (Palmans) and Jan Verstraeten (Sunweb).
Reserves: Tim Van Nuffel and Jan Soetens (Jartazi)