TechPowered By

More tech

US ProXCT #5: Mount Snow 2009

Date range:
August 7- 9, 2009

August 08, Elite men cross country:

Kabush continues winning streak in Mt. Snow

Dave McElwaine
August 08, 2009, 23:04 BST,
August 11, 2009, 17:32 BST

Mid-race attack unmatched by Taberlay

Canadian Champion Geoff Kabush (Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain) used familiar tactics from his playbook to take a convincing win at the Mount Snow Pro XCT. Kabush has been on a roll of late. Last month he earned his fifth successive Canadian national championship and won the Bromont World Cup race last weekend. Sid Taberlay (Sho-Air/Specialized) gave Kabush very stiff competition to finish second. Todd Wells, who rode with the leaders until the last climb, finished third. Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Gary Fisher/Subaru) was well off the pace in fourth and Sam Schultz (Gary Fisher/Subaru) finished fifth.

Conditions at Mount Snow were the best in years. The sun was shining all day, providing a temperature of about 75 degrees Fahrenheit (23 Celsius) and the occasional mud on the course was not significant enough to give the "mudders" any advantage. This year’s course did not go quite as high up the mountain as in years past, yet climbing turned out to be the deciding factor in the race.

Within the first lap a select group consisting of Kabush, Taberlay, Wells, Schultz, and Horgan-Kobelski formed with Kabush pushing the pace early. At the beginning of the second lap, young Schultz could be seen pulling these other elite riders, Olympians all, up the mountain.

It was evident early in the race that series leader Max Plaxton (ShoAir/Specialzed was having trouble staying with the leaders. He dropped to seventh place, riding behind strong teammate, Sam Jurekovic. As the race wore on Jurekovic put distance between himself and Plaxton.

On lap three, the Gary Fisher riders were dropped from the lead group. From that point on Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski would ride fourth, while a slightly fading Schultz seemed to be paying for those early efforts. He would hang on for a podium spot, however, making it a good all-around outing for the Gary Fisher Team.

Wells and Kabush appeared to be working together at times, before the Canadian made his move. "I was working with Todd to try to get off the front. Sid was just kind of sitting on our wheels," said Kabush afterwards. "Then, on one really decisive climb, a gap opened up.

"I was just feeling out the other guys and figuring out the course where I could make some time…and save something for a decisive move"

"Kabush nailed it on that steep climb," said Wells. "Sid was closed to him and I was behind Sid…Sid got a gap on me and we were all at our limit riding into the finish."

With today’s fourth place finish, Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski took over the series lead from Max Plaxton. Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski was awarded the leaders jersey at a ceremony after the race.

Some of the Elite riders will race Super D on Sunday morning. All of them are expected to line up for Short Track racing in the afternoon. Stay tuned to for full coverage all weekend.


Elite men
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Geoff Kabush (Can) 1:37:57  
2 Sid Taberlay (USA) 0:01:11  
3 Todd Wells (USA) 0:02:01  
4 Jeremy Horgan-Kobelsk (USA) 0:02:55  
5 Sam Schultz (USA) 0:03:58  
6 Derek Zandstra (Can) 0:05:03  
7 Sam Jurekovic (USA) 0:06:20  
8 Rotem Ishai (Isr) 0:07:44  
9 Barry Wicks (USA) 0:08:17  
10 Andy Schultz (USA) 0:08:42  
11 Carl Decker (USA) 0:08:57  
12 Michael Broderick (USA) 0:09:43  
13 Peter Glassford (Can) 0:10:30  
14 Max Plaxton (Can) 0:11:19  
15 Kris Sneddon (Can) 0:11:31  
16 Spencer Paxson (USA) 0:11:56  
17 Sam Koerber (USA) 0:12:49  
18 Thomas Turner (USA) 0:13:04  
19 Colin Cares (USA) 0:13:21  
20 Rob Squire (USA) 0:13:21  
21 Adam Craig (USA) 0:15:20  
22 Tad Elliott (USA) 0:15:20  
23 Jesse Jakomait (USA) 0:15:56  
24 Ryan Woodall (USA) 0:16:19  
25 Matt Hadley (Can) 0:16:23  
26 Adam Snyder (USA) 0:17:37  
27 Dylan Alesio (USA) 0:18:13  
28 Stephen Ettinger (USA) 0:19:37  
29 Dana Weber (USA) 0:19:49  
30 Macky Franklin (USA) 0:21:11  
31 Mike Mooradian (USA) 0:21:40  
32 Ethan Gilmour (USA) 0:22:17  
-1lap Tristan Cowie (USA)    
-1lap Mike Joos (USA)    
-1lap Benjamin Moore (USA)    
-1lap Tom Sampson (USA)    
-1lap Brent Mellen (USA)    
-1lap John Burns (USA)    
-1lap Matthew O'Keefe (USA)    
-1lap Robert Marion (USA)    
-1lap Andrew Alesio (USA)    
-1lap Matthew Bailey (USA)    
-1lap Andrew Freye (USA)    
-1lap Noah Tautfest (USA)    
-1lap Martin Kell (USA)    
-1lap Blake Harlan (USA)    
-2laps Justin Raynes (USA)    
-2laps Greg Carpenter (USA)    
-2laps Nathan Wyatt (USA)    
-2laps Rickey Visinski (USA)    
-2laps Shane Gouldthread (USA)    
-2laps Scott Frederick (USA)    
-2laps Greg Waggoner (USA)    
-2laps Kurt Schmid (USA)    
-2laps Wiley Mosley (USA)    
-2laps Andrew Rigel (USA)    
-3laps Jordan Kahlenberg (USA)    
-3laps Kat Statman (USA)    
-3laps Leo Sandoval (USA)    
-3laps Paul Kolb (USA)    
-3laps Greg Montello (USA)    
-3laps Arthur White (USA)    
DNF Jeremy Powers (USA)    
DNF Alex Ryan (USA)    
DNF Patrick Wallace (USA)    
DNF Travis Livermon (USA)    
DNF Ryan Trebon (USA)    
DNF Christian Favata (USA)    
DNF Jason Sager (USA)    
DNF Aaron Snyder (USA)    
DNS Seamus McGrath (Can)