Marian College and MIT win team omniums

Hayduk and Williams win individual omniums

The 2009 USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships are officially in the books as competition wrapped up on Saturday at the Valley Preferred Cycling Center in T-town. Marian College and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) both succeeded in defending their overall team omniums in Divisions I and II while Colleen Hayduk (Kutztown University) and David Williams (Marian College) claimed the women's and men's individual omniums.

Marian College completed its sweep of the team events with a win in the team pursuit on Saturday. Due to afternoon rain, the finals were not held and Marian was instead declared the winner based on its winning time in the qualification round. The foursome of Robert Bush, Adam Leibovitz, Alex Wieseler, and David Williams posted a time of 3:31.100 to best the Fort Lewis College and Colorado State University squads.

Having also won the women's team pursuit and the coed team sprint on Friday, Marian captured the overall team omnium in Division I over Fort Lewis College and Colorado State University. In Division II, MIT took top honors over Mesa State College and Kutztown University.

Colleen Hayduk grabbed her third win of the week on Saturday. After clocking a 12.747 over the 200 meters to qualify in first, she breezed through the early rounds and defeated Amelia Bjesse Puffin (Portland State University) in the final. Sixteen-year-old Stephanie Torres (Bard College) beat out local veteran Lauren Shirock (Penn State) in the bronze medal round.

With her win in the sprint, in addition to her earlier wins in the 500-meter and the Points Race, Hayduk wrapped up the women's individual omnium. The Kutztown University student claimed the overall prize over fellow Kutztown rider Mary Costelloe and Marian College's Jacqueline Kurth.

In the men's points race, David Williams took his second gold medal of the week. His winning move came as part of a six-man break that lapped the field once. Williams completed the 90 laps with a total of 38 points to edge out Zack Allison (Colorado State University) and Rodney Santiago (Penn State) who both finished with 35 points.

In addition to his points race victory, his win in the four-kilometer time trial and third-place effort in the kilometer time trial on Thursday grabbed Williams the men's individual omnium over second- and third-place riders David Espinoza (Penn State) and Matthew Fox (Midwestern State University).


Men's Team Pursuit
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Marian College (Robert Bush, Alex Wieseler, David Williams, Adam Leibovitz)0:03:31.100 
2Fort Lewis College (Dana Alia, Yorgos Arambadjis, Russell Brown, Ian Burnett)0:03:36.300 
3Colorado State University (Zack Allison, Caley Fretz, Christopher Hall, Garrison Schulte)0:03:37.200 
4Midwestern State University (Joshua Carter, Matthew Fox, Danny Robertson, Matt Sauls)0:03:42.600 
5Lees-McRae College (Christopher Dale, Zachary Felpel, Wentworth Knipe, Nathan Larson)0:03:45.400 
6Penn State (Richard Schenck, Jeremy Shirock, Roberto Torres-Aguiar, Rodney Santiago)0:03:46.600 
7Lindsey Wilson College (Christopher Bogedin, Matthew Dooley, Kyle Foley, Peter Smith)0:03:49.600 
8MIT (Tim Humpton, Zachary LaBry, Jose Soltren, Mike Garrett)0:03:52.200 
9Temple University (Alexander Bloom, John Gurcsik, Eric Mayer)0:04:00.500 
10Georgetown University (Alex Siegel, Brett Sisto, Tucker Sawin)0:04:02.200 
11Mesa State College (Richard Geng, Patric Rostel, Sam Van Kuren)0:04:02.500 
11US Military Academy (Brenden Siekman, Nick Garcia, Gregory Keith, Joseph Perez)0:04:04.100 
13DePauw University (Christopher Day, Aaron Fioritto, Paul Mooney)0:04:13.200 
Men's Points Race
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1David Williams (Marian College)38 pts
2Zack Allison (Colorado State University)35 
3Rodney Santiago (Penn State)35 
Women's sprint
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Colleen Hayduk  
2Amelia BjessePuffin  
3Stephanie Torres  
4Lauren Shirock  
5Elena Dorr  
6Anna Sklorenko  
7Sierra Siebenlist  
8Jacqueline Kurth  
9Melissa (Missy) Erickson  
10Rikki Boucher  
11Brooke Crum  
12Chloe Jackson  
13Laura Ralston  
14Stephanie Falls  
15Tammy Wildgoose  
16Ashley Grubb  
17Rebecca Finley  
18Autumn Wentworth  
19Kaelin Proud  
20Yuri Matsumoto  
Team Omnium, Division 1
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Marian College  
2Fort Lewis College  
3Colorado State University  
Team Omnium, Division 2
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)  
2Mesa State College  
3Kutztown University  
Women's Individual Omnium
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Colleen Hayduk (Kutztown University)  
2Mary Costelloe (Kutztown University)  
3Jacqueline Kurth (Marian College)  
Men's Individual Omnium
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1David Williams (Marian College)  
2David Espinoza (Penn State)  
3Matthew Fox (Midwestern State University)  
Back to top