Degenkolb wins Sparkassen Münsterland Giro

German takes second win of the season

John Degenkolb (Giant-Alpecin) took his second win of the season Monday at the Sparkassen Münsterland Giro, a 208km one-day race in Germany from Gronau to Münster. Degenkolb out kicked Roy Jans (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) and Pascal Ackermann (Rad-net Rose Team) in a rain-slicked finale.

"There was perfect team spirit today and I am delighted with the victory," said Degenkolb, who took his first win of the season in August during stage 4 of the Acrtic Race of Norway. "It is really great to win in my home country. The team worked very hard throughout the whole race and gave me a great lead-out."

A group of six riders went clear of the peloton after 50km of racing, but a chase from Giant-Alpecin, Etixx-QuickStep and Lotto Soudal brought the race back together with 25km to go.

"We reacted well on the late attacks in the finale," Degenkolb said. "For the sprint I had the right position and could come through at the right moment, so that was fantastic."

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1John Degenkolb (Ger) Team Giant-Alpecin4:50:52 
2Roy Jans (Bel) Wanty-Groupe Gobert  
3Pascal Ackermann (Ger) Rad-net Rose Team  
4Matteo Trentin (Ita) Etixx-Quick Step  
5Dion Smith (NZl) One Pro Cycling  
6Alan Banszek (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
7Phil Bauhaus (Ger) Bora-Argon 180:00:02 
8Gianni Meersman (Bel) Etixx-Quick Step  
9Robin Stenuit (Bel) Wanty-Groupe Gobert0:00:03 
10Bert van Lerberghe (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise  
11Jonas Koch (Ger) Verva Activejet Pro Cycling Team  
12Ryan Gibbons (RSA) Team Dimension Data  
13Max Kanter (Ger) LKT Team Brandenburg0:00:04 
14Marco Mathis (Ger) Rad-net Rose Team0:00:05 
15Roy Curvers (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin0:00:06 
16Linus Gerdemann (Ger) Stölting Service Group0:00:08 
17Maximiliano Richeze (Arg) Etixx-Quick Step0:00:11 
18Lennard Kämna (Ger) Stölting Service Group0:00:13 
19Zico Waeytens (Bel) Team Giant-Alpecin0:00:16 
20Tony Martin (Ger) Etixx-Quick Step0:00:17 
21Bernhard Eisel (Aut) Team Dimension Data0:00:36 
22Zakkari John Dempster (Aus) Bora-Argon 18  
23Marcel Kittel (Ger) Etixx-Quick Step0:00:54 
24Nikias Arndt (Ger) Team Giant-Alpecin  
25Alexander Geuens (Bel) Crelan - Vastgoedservice Continental Team0:01:07 
26Aaron Grosser (Ger) Team Sauerland NRW p/b Henley & Partners  
27Max Walscheid (Ger) Team Giant-Alpecin  
28Adrian Banaszek (Pol) Verva Activejet Pro Cycling Team0:01:08 
29Dennis Coenen (Bel) Crelan - Vastgoedservice Continental Team  
30Patrick Haller (Ger) Rad-net Rose Team  
31Dylan Page (Swi) Team Roth  
32Andrea Peron (Ita) Team Novo Nordisk  
33Robert Müller (Ger) Team Heizomat  
34Pascal Treubel (Ger) Team Heizomat  
35Fabian Wegmann (Ger) Stölting Service Group  
36Nikolay Mihaylov (Bul) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
37Luca Henn (Ger) Team Kuota-Lotto  
38Jiri Polnicky (Cze) Verva Activejet Pro Cycling Team  
39Alexander Weifenbach (Ger) Stölting Service Group  
40Timothy Stevens (Bel) Crelan - Vastgoedservice Continental Team  
41Grischa Janorschke (Ger) Team Roth  
42Matthias Krizek (Aut) Team Roth  
43Jonas Rapp (Ger) Team Heizomat  
44Joonas Henttala (Fin) Team Novo Nordisk  
45Nathan Müller (Ger) Team Heizomat0:01:09 
46Dries van Gestel (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise  
47Silvio Herklotz (Ger) Bora-Argon 180:01:11 
48Steele von Hoff (Aus) One Pro Cycling0:01:12 
49Kristian House (GBr) One Pro Cycling  
50Sven Reutter (Ger) Stölting Service Group  
51Jan Tschernoster (Ger) Rad-net Rose Team  
52Frederik Frison (Bel) Lotto Soudal  
53Sander Helven (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise  
54Jochem Hoekstra (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin0:01:13 
55Bert de Backer (Bel) Team Giant-Alpecin  
56Karol Domagalski (Pol) One Pro Cycling  
57Jay Thomson (RSA) Team Dimension Data  
58Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Team Roth0:01:15 
59Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Etixx-Quick Step  
60André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal0:01:22 
61Scott Thwaites (GBr) Bora-Argon 180:01:23 
62James Callum Shaw (GBr) Lotto Soudal  
63Shane Archbold (NZl) Bora-Argon 18  
64Stijn Vandenbergh (Bel) Etixx-Quick Step0:01:46 
65Jonas Tenbrock (Ger) Stölting Service Group0:02:06 
66Michael Schwarzmann (Ger) Bora-Argon 18  
67Daniel Bichlmann (Ger) Stradalli-BIKE AID0:02:10 
68Frederique Robert (Bel) Crelan - Vastgoedservice Continental Team0:02:18 
69Daniel Westmattelmann (Ger) Team Kuota-Lotto  
70Oscar Riesebeek (Ned) Metec TKH Continental Cyclingteam p/b Mantel  
71Mario Vogt (Ger) Rad-net Rose Team  
72David Boucher (Bel) Crelan - Vastgoedservice Continental Team  
73David Lozano Riba (Spa) Team Novo Nordisk  
74Martijn Verschoor (Ned) Team Novo Nordisk0:02:19 
75Samuel Williams (GBr) One Pro Cycling  
76Kevin de Mesmaeker (Bel) Team Novo Nordisk  
77Stephen Clancy (Irl) Team Novo Nordisk  
78Tom Stamsnijder (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin0:02:20 
79Dorian Lübbers (Ger) Team Heizomat  
80Adrien Niyonshuti (Rwa) Team Dimension Data0:02:21 
81Lukas Postlberger (Aut) Bora-Argon 18  
82Christian Koch (Ger) LKT Team Brandenburg0:02:22 
83Fabian Schormair (Ger) LKT Team Brandenburg0:02:23 
84Jaco Venter (RSA) Team Dimension Data  
85Nicolas Dougall (RSA) Team Dimension Data  
86Songezo Jim (RSA) Team Dimension Data  
87Marcin Mrozek (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
88Jasper Hamelink (Ned) Metec TKH Continental Cyclingteam p/b Mantel  
89Georg Loef (Ger) Christina Jewelry Pro Cycling  
90Jasper de Buyst (Bel) Lotto Soudal0:02:24 
91Raphael Freienstein (Ger) Team Kuota-Lotto  
92Bertlomiej Matysiak (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice0:02:36 
93Michal Podlaski (Pol) Verva Activejet Pro Cycling Team  
94Lander Seynaeve (Bel) Wanty-Groupe Gobert  
95Michael Goolaerts (Bel) Lotto Soudal  
96Leszek Plucinski (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
97Gerry Druyts (Bel) Crelan - Vastgoedservice Continental Team0:02:37 
98Kevin Deltombe (Bel) Lotto Soudal  
99Sjoerd Kouwenhoven (Ned) Metec TKH Continental Cyclingteam p/b Mantel  
100Thomas Koep (Ger) Stölting Service Group  
101Ruben Pols (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise  
102Marvin Kötting (Ger) Team Sauerland NRW p/b Henley & Partners0:03:27 
103Simon Redmers (Ger) Team Heizomat0:03:28 
104Joshua Huppertz (Ger) Team Kuota-Lotto0:04:15 
105Robert William Kessler (Ger) LKT Team Brandenburg0:04:49 
106Christopher Hatz (Ger) Team Kuota-Lotto0:05:07 
107Laurin Winter (Ger) Team Heizomat0:05:08 
108Jarno Gmelich Meijling (Ned) Metec TKH Continental Cyclingteam p/b Mantel  
109Florian Stork (Ger) Team Sauerland NRW p/b Henley & Partners0:05:09 
110Jonas Härtig (Ger) Team Sauerland NRW p/b Henley & Partners0:05:41 
111Kenny Dehaes (Bel) Wanty-Groupe Gobert0:06:51 
112Gert Dockx (Bel) Lotto Soudal  
113Tom Devriendt (Bel) Wanty-Groupe Gobert0:06:52 
114Aimé de Gent (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise  
115Robert Retschke (Ger) Team Kuota-Lotto0:06:53 
116Jordi van Dingenen (Bel) Crelan - Vastgoedservice Continental Team  


Related Articles

Back to top