Koerber father and son win final stage

Bishop, Haywood capture overall wins

Jeremiah Bishop (MonaVie / Cannondale) and Sue Haywood (Shenandoah Bicycle Company) locked up the overall titles at the Pisgah Mountain Bike Stage Race in North Carolina, during the final The Hub Transylvania Loop stage on Sunday. 

In the elite men's race, Asheville local pro Sam Koerber (Gary Fisher 29er) put an end to the dominance of Bishop by winning the final stage.  He ended up with a 4:22 margin over Bishop at the end.  Harlan Price (Independent Fabrication) finished third at 9:13 for the day.  In the overall, it was Bishop, Koerber and Christian Tanguy (Fraser / Cannondale) taking the top three.

With her final stage win, Haywood swept all stages and the prologue, which of course, gave her the overall win, too.  Cheryl Sornson (Trek Racing Coop) was just 1:34 behind on the final stage, which helped her claim second overall, too. Brenda Simril (Motor Mile Racing) claimed third on the final stage, but Carey Lowery (Outdoor Store / Specialized) took third overall.

Local Bob Koerber, father of Sam won the elite men's 40+ final stage while Bill Lanzilotta (Terrapin Brewing Co) claimed the overall win.


Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sam Koerber (Gary Fisher 29er)3:03:02 
2Jeremiah Bishop (Monavie Cannondale)0:04:22 
3Harlan Price (Independent Fabrication)0:09:13 
4Christian Tanguy (Fraser / Cannondale)0:09:40 
5Evan Plews (EvanPlews.com)0:10:26 
6Colby Pearce (Hudz/Subaru)0:13:46 
7Drew Scharns (Boone Velo)0:35:46 
8Frank Webber (CARVE)1:01:13 
Elite women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Susan Haywood (Shenandoah Bicycle Company)3:58:03 
2Cheryl Sornson (Trek Racing Coop)0:01:34 
3Brenda Simril (Motor Mile Racing)0:10:37 
4Carey Lowery (Outdoor Store/Specialized)0:12:25 
5Janel Demeter (Guys Racing Club)0:47:24 
Elite men 40+
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Bob Koerber3:36:29 
2Morgan Olsson (GVC / Cycles de Oro)0:03:05 
3Bill Lanzilotta (Terrapin Brewing Co)0:04:34 
4Timothy Hopkin (NCCX/Hammer Nutrition)0:13:54 
5Bradley Cobb (Motor Mile Racing)0:21:53 
6Chris Goddard (Team Fraser)0:25:46 
7Lee Simril (Motor Mile Racing)0:32:13 
Men 29 & Under
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Peter Butt3:23:51 
2Jeremy Edge (Terrapin Brewing)0:06:39 
Open women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Anet Lamberson (MTBAndy.com)4:58:19 
2Denise Sauerbrey (Sycamore Cycles)0:16:57 
3Lindsay Ann Rodkey (Velo Bella)10:01:41 
DNSSarah Miller (CARVE)  
Men 30 - 39
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Garth Prosser (Cannondale Factory)3:29:11 
2Mike Coco0:07:48 
3Michael Nixon (Cannondale Factory)0:13:37 
4John Hughes (Guy's Racing Club)0:14:57 
5Mike Schultz0:21:32 
6Justin Mace0:27:42 
7Andrew Christman (Terrapin Brewing / New Belgium)0:37:50 
8Stephen Janes (World Bicycle Relief)1:07:16 
9John Clasen (Bicycle Station)1:07:55 
10Jeff S Plassman1:16:21 
11Kevin J Tobin (Team Fluid)1:27:24 
12Jason Luque (Champion Cycling)1:43:28 
13David Goodall (Grab My Wheel)2:48:00 
14Graham Averill (Skippy Titsworth)2:48:06 
15Perry Thomas3:08:03 
DNSMarc Calderone (Geoffrey K Calderone, Jr., Esq)  
Men 40+
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Alex Hawkins3:32:05 
2Todd Henne0:19:49 
3John Miller (Guys Racing)0:22:00 
4Geoff Calderone (Geoffrey K Calderone, Jr., Esq)0:33:33 
5Van Council (Van Michael Salon)0:37:05 
6Patrick McMahon (Asheville YetiRider)1:15:10 
7John Head (John Head)2:21:32 
DNSBruce E Belden (Aaron's pb New England Financial)  
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jason Morgan (Industry Nine)3:39:21 
2Geoffrey Bergmark (Sycamore Cycles)0:00:09 
3Tim Dickson (Guy's Racing Club)0:00:30 
4Brad Welch (Accurate Geo Technology)0:17:30 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Stephen Tebbett (Specialized UK/WDMBC)4:20:40 
1James Poole (Specialized UK/WDMBC)  
2Ed Hein (Guys Racing/Corporate)0:01:19 
2Bill Nagel (Guys Racing/Corporate)0:00:25 
3Brad Jacobs0:03:11 
3Scott Miller0:03:25 
4Shawn McCann (Harpers Bike Shop/Yeti Cycles)0:11:18 
4Jon Magnuson (Harpers Bike Shop/Yeti Cycles)  
5Christopher Danz (GT Dirt Coalition)0:50:00 
5David Swan (GT Dirt Coalition)  
Elite men final general classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jeremiah Bishop (Monavie Cannondale)10:59:20 
2Sam Koerber (Gary Fisher 29er)0:16:10 
3Christian Tanguy (Fraser / Cannondale)0:38:11 
4Evan Plews (EvanPlews.com)0:42:17 
5Colby Pearce (Hudz/Subaru)1:01:21 
6Harlan Price (Independent Fabrications)1:02:16 
7Drew Scharns (Boone Velo)2:11:14 
8Frank Webber (CARVE)4:09:34 
Elite women final general classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Susan Haywood (Shenandoah Bicycle Company)14:10:33 
2Cheryl Sornson (Trek Racing Coop)0:36:15 
3Carey Lowery (Outdoor Store/Specialized)0:40:39 
4Brenda Simril (Motor Mile Racing)1:20:08 
5Janel Demeter (Guys Racing Club)3:09:42 
Elite men 40+ final general classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Bill Lanzilotta (Terrapin Brewing Co)12:58:33 
2Morgan Olsson (GVC / Cycles de Oro)0:04:15 
3Bob Koerber0:15:43 
4Timothy Hopkin (NCCX/Hammer Nutrition)0:35:30 
5Bradley Cobb (Motor Mile Racing)1:12:19 
6Lee Simril (Motor Mile Racing)2:29:30 
7Chris Goddard (Team Fraser)2:45:13 
Men 29 & Under final general classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Peter Butt12:51:22 
2Jeremy Edge (Terrapin Brewing)0:02:09 
Open women final general classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Anet Lamberson (MTBAndy.com)18:45:09 
2Denise Sauerbrey (Sycamore Cycles)0:22:48 
3Lindsay Ann Rodkey (Velo Bella)21:40:09 
Men 30 - 39 final general classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Garth Prosser (Cannondale Factory)12:43:39 
2Mike Coco0:07:49 
3John Hughes (Guy's Racing Club)0:46:01 
4Mike Schultz1:06:10 
5Justin Mace1:22:10 
6Michael Nixon (Cannondale Factory)1:39:25 
7Andrew Christman (Terrapin Brewing / New Belgium)1:59:11 
8Jeff S Plassman3:52:59 
9John Clasen (Bicycle Station)4:15:20 
10Kevin J Tobin (Team Fluid)4:33:47 
11Stephen Janes (World Bicycle Relief)4:45:14 
12Jason Luque (Champion Cycling)5:47:35 
13Graham Averill (Skippy Titsworth)10:35:28 
14Perry Thomas11:04:47 
Men 40+ final general classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Todd Henne13:43:53 
2Alex Hawkins0:01:54 
3John Miller (Guys Racing)0:53:10 
4Geoff Calderone (Geoffrey K Calderone, Jr., Esq)0:59:29 
5Patrick McMahon (Asheville YetiRider)2:58:27 
6John Head (John Head)6:03:08 
7Van Council (Van Michael Salon)11:27:48 
Singlespeed final general classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jason Morgan (Industry Nine)13:22:23 
2Tim Dickson (Guy's Racing Club)0:03:35 
3Geoffrey Bergmark (Sycamore Cycles)0:16:32 
4Brad Welch (Accurate Geo Technology)0:48:23 
Teams final general classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ed Hein (Guys Racing/Corporate)15:15:00 
1Bill Nagel (Guys Racing/Corporate)15:18:35 
2Scott Miller1:14:56 
2Brad Jacobs0:00:29 
3Stephen Tebbett (Specialized UK/WDMBC)0:02:53 
4Shawn McCann (Harpers Bike Shop/Yeti Cycles)0:03:14 
4Jon Magnuson (Harpers Bike Shop/Yeti Cycles)0:04:46 
3James Poole (Specialized UK/WDMBC)0:12:50 
5Christopher Danz (GT Dirt Coalition)2:33:33 
5David Swan (GT Dirt Coalition)2:34:29 


Back to top