Fédrigo wins a wet and rainy Paris-Camembert

Frenchmen the best among four-man break

Pierrick Fédrigo scored his first victory of the 2013 season at Paris-Camembert, but he didn't seem to enjoy it as much as he might have during the rain-soaked day when many racers suffered. The 74th edition of the "race of the cheese" was decided at the very end when Fédrigo followed an attack by Pierre Rolland (Europcar) atop the mur des Champeaux, 10 kilometers before the finish line in Vimoutiers. Fédrigo crossed the line ahead of Sylvain Georges (AG2R-La Mondiale), Rolland and Julien Antomarchi (La Pomme Marseille) while Bryan Coquard (Europcar) won the bunch sprint for fifth 21 seconds later.

"I'm from the southwest," Fédrigo said. "I like the sun but not the rain and the cold. Several times, I thought of pulling out. Along the way, good sensations came back and I used as much courage as I could. My experience helped as well. Everyone was tired at the end."

A nine-man breakaway made its way to the centre of Normandy with Guillaume Bonnafond (AG2R-La Mondiale), Pierrick Quéméneur (Europcar), Fabien Schmidt (Sojasun), Alexandre Blain and Rob Britton (Raleigh), Kevin Lalouette (Roubaix), Tim de Clercq (TopSport-Vlaanderen), Romain Hardy (Cofidis) and Cédric Pineau (FDJ). Pineau, De Clercq and Britton were the last three to surrender in the final 20 kilometers. They were caught by Mikaël Chérel (AG2R-La Mondiale), Bryan Coquard (Europcar), Julien El Farès (Sojasun), Mike Terpstra (3M) and Antomarchi. Inspired by his brother's third place at Paris-Roubaix, Terpstra tried to finish solo, but he was overtaken by the winning quartet.

"Since the Circuit de la Sarthe, I knew that the wheel to follow was Rolland's," Fédrigo said. "It came down to a sprint between four solid riders. This race course suits me. I'm obviously happy to win here for the first time. Two years ago, I was able to win it, but I was racing with Sandy [Casar] who was close to home, so I raced for him to win. Paris-Camembert is a race that counts in the record book."

"It's not a shame to be beaten by Fédrigo," Georges said. "It's his revenge since I finished ahead of him two years at GP Plumelec. I told my teammates that I'd be up there today in the finale. It feels good to race at the front. I'm building up my form for the Giro."

Rolland had another race in mind. "With those meteorological conditions, it was hard to focus today," he said. "My mind was on Liège-Bastogne-Liège."

Fédrigo and Rolland will both tackle the oldest of the Classics but through a very different program. The FDJ rider will keep racing the French Cup at Tour du Finistère and Tro Bro Leon while the climber from Europcar will ride the Giro del Trentino. "So far, it's been difficult to find the motivation for racing because of the rain," Fédrigo said. "I'm strongly hoping for better weather in the weeks to come."

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Pierrick Fédrigo (Fra) FDJ4:53:35 
2Sylvain Georges (Fra) Ag2R La Mondiale  
3Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar  
4Julien Antomarchi (Fra) La Pomme Marseille  
5Bryan Coquard (Fra) Team Europcar0:00:21 
6Anthony Geslin (Fra) FDJ  
7Julien Simon (Fra) Sojasun  
8Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) Ag2R La Mondiale  
9Julien El Fares (Fra) Sojasun  
10Thomas Moses (GBr) Team Raleigh  
11Laurent Pichon (Fra) FDJ  
12Yannick Martinez (Fra) La Pomme Marseille  
13Gijs Van Hoecke (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise  
14Juan José Oroz Ugalde (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi  
15Tim Declercq (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise  
16Arnaud Gérard (Fra) Bretagne-Seche Environnement  
17Mathieu Drujon (Fra) BigMat-Auber 93  
18Mikael Chérel (Fra) Ag2R La Mondiale  
19Mike Terpstra (Ned) Team 3M  
20Loic Desriac (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
21Sébastien Minard (Fra) Ag2R La Mondiale0:00:30 
22Julien Duval (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
23Anthony Charteau (Fra) Team Europcar  
24Rob Britton (Can) Team Raleigh  
25Edwig Cammaerts (Bel) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
26Sibrecht Pieters (Bel) Team 3M  
27Geoffroy Lequatre (Fra) Bretagne-Seche Environnement0:00:33 
28Théo Vimpere (Fra) BigMat-Auber 93  
29Cédric Pineau (Fra) FDJ  
30Rémi Pauriol (Fra) Sojasun0:00:36 
31Cyril Bessy (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
32Tom Van Asbroeck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise  
33Cyrille Patoux (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole0:02:11 
34Jarl Salomein (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise0:02:13 
35Morgan Kneisky (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole0:02:16 
36Florian Guillou (Fra) Bretagne-Seche Environnement0:02:30 
37Salvador Guardiola Tora (Spa) Team Differdange-Losch  
38Stijn Neirynck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise0:02:32 
39Adrián Sáez De Arregi (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi0:02:51 
40Yoann Paillot (Fra) La Pomme Marseille0:04:18 
41Arnold Jeannesson (Fra) FDJ  
42Cyril Gautier (Fra) Team Europcar  
43Guillaume Levarlet (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
44Jonathan Hivert (Fra) Sojasun0:04:27 
45Grégoire Tarride (Fra) La Pomme Marseille0:04:38 
46Christian Helmig (Lux) Team Differdange-Losch  
47Thomas Scully (USA) Team Raleigh  
48Lachlan Norris (Aus) Team Raleigh  
49César Bihel (Fra) Team Differdange-Losch0:05:25 
50Justin Jules (Fra) La Pomme Marseille  
51Timothy Vangheel (Bel) Team 3M0:06:37 
52Franck Bouyer (Fra) Team Europcar0:08:35 
53Peio Bilbao (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi  
54Natnael Berhane (Eri) Team Europcar  
55Flavien Dassonville (Fra) BigMat-Auber 93  
56Renaud Dion (Fra) Bretagne-Seche Environnement  
57Jérémy Bescond (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:08:38 
58Wouter Wippert (Ned) Team 3M0:10:26 
59Perrig Quemeneur (Fra) Team Europcar0:11:47 
60Sascha Weber (Ger) Team Differdange-Losch0:11:49 
61Jean-Marc Marino (Fra) Sojasun  
62Hugo Houle (Can) Ag2R La Mondiale  
DNFRobert Bush (USA) La Pomme Marseille  
DNFAntoine Lavieu (Fra) La Pomme Marseille  
DNFThomas Vaubourzeix (Fra) La Pomme Marseille  
DNFGuillaume Bonnafond (Fra) Ag2R La Mondiale  
DNFJulian Kern (Ger) Ag2R La Mondiale  
DNFRicardo Garcia Ambroa (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi  
DNFSteffen Radochla (Ger) Euskaltel-Euskadi  
DNFAndre Schulze (Ger) Euskaltel-Euskadi  
DNFGiovanni Bernaudeau (Fra) Team Europcar  
DNFAnthony Delaplace (Fra) Sojasun  
DNFJérémie Galland (Fra) Sojasun  
DNFFabien Schmidt (Fra) Sojasun  
DNFAlexandre Blain (Fra) Team Raleigh  
DNFEric Berthou (Fra) Team Raleigh  
DNFRichard Lang (Aus) Team Raleigh  
DNFMark O'brien (Aus) Team Raleigh  
DNFMarius Bernatonis (Ltu) Team 3M  
DNFFrederik Verkinderen (Bel) Team 3M  
DNFTimothy Stevens (Bel) Team 3M  
DNFJoren Segers (Bel) Team 3M  
DNFMatthieu Boulo (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFRudy Kowalski (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFKevin Lalouette (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFMaxime Le Montagner (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFSjef De Wilde (Bel) Team Differdange-Losch  
DNFVytautas Kaupas (Ltu) Team Differdange-Losch  
DNFGediminas Kaupas (Ltu) Team Differdange-Losch  
DNFMyron Simpson (NZl) Team Differdange-Losch  
DNFSven Vandousselaere (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise  
DNFJasper De Buyst (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise  
DNFTim Mertens (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise  
DNFJean-Marc Bideau (Fra) Bretagne-Seche Environnement  
DNFSébastien Duret (Fra) Bretagne-Seche Environnement  
DNFArmindo Fonseca (Fra) Bretagne-Seche Environnement  
DNFEduardo Sepulveda (Arg) Bretagne-Seche Environnement  
DNFLuis Angel Mate Mardones (Spa) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
DNFRomain Hardy (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
DNFRudy Molard (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
DNFTristan Valentin (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
DNFArnaud Courteille (Fra) FDJ  
DNFGeoffrey Soupe (Fra) FDJ  
DNFBenoît Vaugrenard (Fra) FDJ  
DNFFabien Bacquet (Fra) BigMat-Auber 93  
DNFSteven Tronet (Fra) BigMat-Auber 93  
DNFGuillaume Faucon (Fra) BigMat-Auber 93  
DNFDimitri Le Boulch (Fra) BigMat-Auber 93  
DNFStéphane Rossetto (Fra) BigMat-Auber 93  

Related Articles

Back to top