Jonnier wins on slippery Mont Sainte Anne course

French women take four of five top spots; Moseley in third

Sabrina Jonnier (Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain Bicycles) is proving to be unstoppable in the women's World Cup downhill, taking her fifth consecutive win of the season at Mont Sainte Anne, Quebec, in Canada on Saturday, despite changing weather that made the track slick and slippery.

Through the first 10 racers of the 20 rider field, there was rapid and frequent turnover in the Hot Seat. The first rider to hang on to the Hot Seat for a while was Emilie Siegenthaler (Scott 11). Siegenthaler was eventually dislodged by Melissa Buhl (KHS).

Buhl was pleased with her run. "It was pretty good. I struggled a bit in the mud but I kept it together. I was going back and forth between the mud and the dry tires, and I was glad I stuck to the dry. There were a couple of spots of mud where I would have like spikes, but it paid off in the rocks because they were pretty slippery."

The next rider to lay down a fast run was Tracy Moseley (Trek World Racing), who was almost immediately displaced by Emmeline Ragot (Suspension Center), with a strong time that was good enough to maintain the Hot Seat until only Jonnier remained to descend.

Jonnier was the class of the field. Her run of 5:26.50 beat Ragot by 3.79 seconds. "That run was the best of the weekend. Conditions were a lot different than this morning. It dried out a lot," Jonnier said. "I decided to be a bit cautious and then go fast when I could. I just want to win and be happy on my bike." Jonnier's win was her fifth consecutive victory of the season.

Moseley finished in third place, 4.77 seconds back. With her win here, Jonnier stretches her lead in the World Cup standings to 1,382 points, with Ragot a distant second with 1,115 points. Four of the top five riders are now French, with only Moseley, in third, breaking the streak.


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sabrina Jonnier (Fra) Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain Bicycles0:05:26.50 
2Emmeline Ragot (Fra) Suspension Center0:00:03.79 
3Tracy Moseley (GBr) Trek World Racing0:00:04.77 
4Céline Gros (Fra) Morzine-Avoriaz 740:00:09.91 
5Floriane Pugin (Fra) Iron Horse-Kenda-Playbiker0:00:10.21 
6Mio Suemasa (Jpn)0:00:12.07 
7Melissa Buhl (USA)0:00:20.28 
8Emilie Siegenthaler (Swi) Scott 110:00:21.14 
9Anita Molcik (Aut) Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team0:00:24.73 
10Fionn Griffiths (GBr) Norco World Team0:00:26.11 
11Micayla Gatto (Can)0:00:26.80 
12Kathleen Pruitt (USA)0:00:27.95 
13Claire Buchar (Can) Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense0:00:30.02 
14Petra Bernhard (Aut) Ancillotti Doganaccia Racing Team0:00:30.95 
15Danice Uyesugi (Can)0:00:31.69 
16Anais ° Pajot (Fra) Team Sunn0:00:32.38 
17Rebecca Mcqueen (Can)0:00:34.36 
18Jessica Stone (GBr) 2Stagefactory0:00:38.88 
19Darian Harvey (USA)0:01:06.38 
20Gabrielle Molloy (NZl)0:01:10.31 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Trek World Racing72 pts
2Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team69 
3Monster Energy / Specialized / Mad Catz63 
4Santa Cruz Syndicate57 
5Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain Bicycles54 
6Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense54 
7Scott 1154 
8GT Bicycles38 
9Suspension Center35 
10Subaru Mountain Bike Pro Team35 
11Animal Commencal30 
12Morzine-Avoriaz 7430 
13Iron Horse-Kenda-Playbiker28 
14MS Evil Racing26 
15Norco World Team21 
16MSC Bikes18 
17Kenda Morewood17 
18Ancillotti Doganaccia Racing Team17 
19Team Sunn15 
20Solid Aclass Factory Team14 
22Duncan Riffle Racing5 
23Just Reid Race Team4 
World Cup standings after six rounds
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sabrina Jonnier (Fra) Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain Bicycles1382 pts
2Emmeline Ragot (Fra) Suspension Center1115 
3Tracy Moseley (GBr) Trek World Racing966 
4Céline Gros (Fra) Morzine-Avoriaz 74726 
5Floriane Pugin (Fra) Iron Horse-Kenda-Playbiker714 
6Mio Suemasa (Jpn)650 
7Myriam Nicole (Fra)607 
8Fionn Griffiths (GBr) Norco World Team480 
9Melissa Buhl (USA)415 
10Emilie Siegenthaler (Swi) Scott 11412 
11Claire Buchar (Can) Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense344 
12Anita Molcik (Aut) Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team190 
13Joanna Petterson (RSA)180 
14Petra Bernhard (Aut) Ancillotti Doganaccia Racing Team172 
15Micayla Gatto (Can)160 
16Miriam Ruchti (Swi) Team Vario Racing130 
17Jessica Stone (GBr) 2Stagefactory102 
18Katy Curd (GBr)92 
19Anais Pajot* (Fra) Team Sunn85 
20Helen Gaskell (GBr)80 
21Sarah Newman (GBr)60 
22Diana Marggraff (Ecu)60 
23Kathleen Pruitt (USA)45 
24Anka Martin (RSA)40 
25Helene Valerie Fruhwirth (Aut)35 
26Danice Uyesugi (Can)30 
27Miranda Miller (Can)30 
28Elisa Canepa (Ita) Iron Horse-Kenda-Playbiker30 
29Rebecca Mcqueen (Can)30 
30Risa Suseanty (Ina)25 
31Caroline Sax (Fra)25 
32Harriet Rucknagel (Ger)20 
33Victoria Phillips (RSA)20 
34Fanny Lombard* (Fra)20 
35Antje Kramer (Ger)15 
36Sophie Borderes (Fra)15 
37Darian Harvey (USA)10 
38Emma Atkinson* (GBr)10 
39Gabrielle Molloy (NZl)5 
Team World Cup standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Santa Cruz Syndicate424 pts
2Trek World Racing414 
3Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain Bicycles301 
4Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team289 
5Monster Energy / Specialized / Mad Catz289 
6Scott 11270 
7GT Bicycles241 
8Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense220 
9MS Evil Racing215 
10Suspension Center203 
11Animal Commencal188 
12Iron Horse-Kenda-Playbiker180 
13Morzine-Avoriaz 74148 
14Norco World Team139 
15Subaru Mountain Bike Pro Team118 
17Kenda Morewood82 
18Ancillotti Doganaccia Racing Team78 
20Lapierre Powered By Saab Salomon62 
21MSC Bikes61 
22Team Vario Racing56 
23Duncan Riffle Racing41 
24Team Sunn37 
25Specialized Team America34 
26Solid Aclass Factory Team25 
27Dytech DH12 
28Ghost A.T.G. Pro Team9 
29XMS-Devinci World Cup Team6 
30Just Reid Race Team4 
Back to top