American downhiller Shaw wins junior World Cup in Pietermaritzburg

Vergier and Pierron round out top three

In the junior men's downhill World Cup, SRAM/TLD Racing's Luca Shaw charged to his first World Cup victory of the 2014 season as he edged out Lapierre Gravity Republic's Loris Vergier and the Frenchman's fellow countryman Amaury Pierron.

With riders starting in reverse order, second down the hill Pierron claimed the hot seat early on and with just Vergier and Shaw left to charge would have been excused for starting to believe his fairytale may just become reality.

It wasn't to be though as Vergier cruised passed him before Shaw, Friday's fastest qualifier, went one better yet to get his season off to the perfect start.

"I worked really hard this winter, this was always my goal and for it to finally happen is just such a relief and I'm just so happy," said an exhausted Shaw afterwards.

"I wanted to do a good run yesterday because this track's a little tricky to race, it's got some slippery corners. Qualifying first kind of took the pressure off me a little today but I was still nervous this morning for sure!

"I just tried to do what I did in qualifying again today though and clean up the couple of mistakes I made yesterday and it worked out so I'm just so happy.

"Last year was my first year as a junior and I learned a lot. I feel great this season and a lot smarter this season than I was last so I just can't wait for the rest of the World Cups," said the SRAM/TLD Racing rider.

Full Results

Junior men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Luca Shaw (USA) Sram/TLD Racing0:04:15.300 
2Loris Vergier (Fra) Lapierre Gravity Republic0:00:01.990 
3Amaury Pierron (Fra) France0:00:08.401 
4Aiden Varley (Aus) Australia0:00:12.109 
5Benjamin Boutie (Fra) Lac Blanc/Scott0:00:14.464 
6Francisco Matias (Chi) Chile0:00:15.809 
7Taylor Vernon (GBr) GT Factory Racing0:00:16.331 
8Thomas Estaque (Fra) Lac Blanc/Scott0:00:17.593 
9Frazer Mccubbing (GBr) Steve Peat Syndicate0:00:18.037 
10Neil Stewart (GBr) Fmd Racing0:00:18.390 
11Thibault Laly (Fra) France0:00:18.941 
12Bradley Swinbank (GBr) Steve Peat Syndicate0:00:25.225 
13Sam Herd (GBr) Perth City Cycles0:00:28.237 
14Mike Schaer (Swi) Switzerland0:00:29.214 
15Jonathan Philogene (RSA) South Africa0:00:36.427 
16Sebastian Petersen (RSA) South Africa - B0:01:01.051 
17Nicholas Camp (RSA) South Africa0:01:08.094 
18Joshua Bryant (RSA) South Africa - B0:01:13.656 
19Grey Keegan (RSA) South Africa - B0:01:16.769 
20Christopher Cartwright (RSA) South Africa - B0:01:20.325 
21Tynan Usswald (RSA) South Africa0:01:23.361 
22Jacques Prins (RSA) South Africa0:03:10.944 
DNFKevin Smale (RSA) South Africa  
DNSAndrew Dorrit (GBr) MS Mondraker Team  
Junior men World Cup standings after one round
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Luca Shaw (USA) Sram/TLD Racing60 pts
2Loris Vergier (Fra) Lapierre Gravity Republic40 
3Amaury Pierron (Fra) France30 
4Aiden Varley (Aus) Australia25 
5Benjamin Boutie (Fra) Lac Blanc/Scott20 
6Francisco Matias (Chi) Chile18 
7Taylor Vernon (GBr) GT Factory Racing16 
8Thomas Estaque (Fra) Lac Blanc/Scott14 
9Frazer Mccubbing (GBr) Steve Peat Syndicate12 
10Neil Stewart (GBr) Fmd Racing10 
11Thibault Laly (Fra) France8 
12Bradley Swinbank (GBr) Steve Peat Syndicate6 
13Sam Herd (GBr) Perth City Cycles4 
14Mike Schaer (Swi) Switzerland2 
15Jonathan Philogene (RSA) South Africa1 


Related Articles

Back to top