Taborre wins in Cesenatico

Rebellin and Dan Martin complete the podium

Fabio Taborre (Acqua & Sapone) took his second win of the year and the second victory of his career at the Memorial Pantani race, beating Davide Rebellin (Miche Guerciotti) and Daniel Martin (Team Garmin Cervelo) with a well-timed sprint.

Taborre was part of the key 15-rider breakaway that formed on the last climb and he still had the speed in his legs to win in the center of Cesenatico after other riders joined the move. Only 54 riders finished in the late summer heat in Italy.

The one-day race remembers Marco Pantani, who died of a cocaine overdose in 2004, just a few years after his double success in the 1998 Giro d’Italia and Tour de France. The race attracted a big-name field, with Alessandro Petacchi and Michele Scarponi (Lampre-ISD), Vincenzo Nibali and Ivan Basso (Liquigas-Cannondale) and Italian national champion Giovanni Visconti (Farnese Vini-Neri) all on the start list.

A hard race in the heat

Nibali was the first to attack after just 20km of racing, despite the heat of the later summer in central Italy. He was joined by Davide Ricci Bitti (Farnese Vini Neri Sottoli), Alberto Contoli (Colnago Csf Inox) and Davide Torosantucci (D'Angelo & Antenucci Nippo), and they quickly opened a three-minute lead. Nibali then attacked alone on the third time over the Montevecchio and was joined by 13 riders, including teammate Ivan Basso, Miche Guerciotti duo Davide Rebellin and Stefan Schumacher, Vuelta winner Juan Jose Cobo –in his first race since winning in Madrid, Visconti and Scarponi.

The race then left the hills for laps of a finishing circuit in Pantani’s home town of Cesenatico on the Adriatic coast. Here the other riders managed to get back on, boosting the front group to 27 riders.

Taborre had support from Alessandro Donati and Alessandro Proni in the finale and used his speed and positioning to beat Rebellin and Martin.

Many of the riders in the race will now head to Tuscany for the Coppa Sabatini on Thursday and then the Giro dell’Emilia in Bologna on Sunday.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Fabio Taborre (Ita) Acqua & Sapone4:25:31 
2Davide Rebellin (Ita) Miche - Guerciotti  
3Daniel Martin (Irl) Team Garmin - Cervélo  
4Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli  
5Oleg Berdos (Mda) De Rosa - Ceramica Flaminia  
6Paolo Bailetti (Ita) De Rosa - Ceramica Flaminia  
7Fabio Felline (Ita) Geox - TMC  
8Riccardo Chiarini (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - C.I.P.I.  
9Juan José Cobo Acebo (Spa) Geox - TMC  
10Miguel Ángel Rubiano Chávez (Col) D'Angelo & Antenucci - Nippo  
11Damiano Caruso (Ita) Liquigas - Cannondale  
12Stefan Schumacher (Ger) Miche - Guerciotti  
13Christophe Le Mével (Fra) Team Garmin - Cervélo  
14Emanuele Sella (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - C.I.P.I.  
15Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
16Nicolas Baldo (Fra) Atlas Personal  
17Federico Canuti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
18Carlos Alberto Betancur Gómez (Col) Acqua & Sapone  
19Marco Marzano (Ita) Lampre - ISD0:00:06 
20Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas - Cannondale  
21Federico Rocchetti (Ita) De Rosa - Ceramica Flaminia  
22Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Lampre - ISD0:00:11 
23Alessandro Donati (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
24Alessandro Proni (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
25Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre - ISD  
26Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas - Cannondale  
27Alan Marangoni (Ita) Liquigas - Cannondale  
28Sergey Rudaskov (Rus) Itera - Katusha0:01:52 
29Aristide Ratti (Ita) WIT  
30Timofey Kritskiy (Rus) Itera - Katusha  
31Luca Solari (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - C.I.P.I.  
32David De la Fuente Rasilla (Spa) Geox - TMC  
33Vyacheslav Kuznetsov (Rus) Itera - Katusha  
34Ermanno Capelli (Ita) Team Vorarlberg  
35Xavier Florencio Cabre (Spa) Geox - TMC  
36Peter Stetina (USA) Team Garmin - Cervélo  
37Claudio Corioni (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
38Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Lampre - ISD  
39Fausto Fognini (Ita) WIT  
40Carlos José Ochoa (Ven) Androni Giocattoli - C.I.P.I.  
41Juan Sebastian Tamayo Martínez (Col) WIT  
42Roberto Antonio Richeze (Ita) Ora Hotels Carrera  
43Volodymyr Bileka (Ukr) Amore & Vita  
44Giuseppe Di Salvo (Ita) Miche - Guerciotti  
45Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
46Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Liquigas - Cannondale  
47Matteo Di Serafino (Ita) Vega Prefabbricati Montappone [Dilettanti]  
48Damiano Margutti (Ita) De Rosa - Ceramica Flaminia  
49José Rodolfo Serpa Pérez (Col) Androni Giocattoli - C.I.P.I.  
50Thomas Peterson (USA) Team Garmin - Cervélo  
51Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli  
52Luca Zanasca (Ita) WIT  
53Angelo Pagani (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox0:01:58 
54Sacha Modolo (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox0:02:00 


Related Articles

Back to top