FDJ win team time trial opener at La Méditerranéenne

Ladagnous takes the event's first leader's jersey

The FDJ team won the opening team time trial at the four-day La Méditerranéenne race, with Matthieu Ladagnous their first rider across the line and so the first race leader.

The opening team time trial covered a 5.5km course, with rain and wet roads making a real test of nerve for the riders racing in close formation. The opening stage was held around the town of Banyoles, in the Catalan region of Spain, close to the French border. Other stages will be held in France, before a final circuit stage in Italy as the race jumps along the Mediterranean coast.

FDJ was one of the last teams to start and set a time of 6:00, covering the course at over 55kmh. Astana was a close second, finishing just half a second slower than their French rivals. Direct Energie was third in 6:08, with Cofidis fourth at 6:11.

The US-based Rally Cycling team finished a solid eighth in a time of 6:18, with new team leader Danny Pate bringing home the team ahead of Rob Britton and Evan Huffman.

It is the first team time trial victory in the long history of the FDJ team and comes as riders use a new Lapierre Aerostorm time trial bike. Also in the FDJ squad for the race are sprinter Arnaud Demare, Mickael Delage, Odd Christian Eiking, Ignatas Konovalovas, Marc Sarreau and Alexandre Geniez.

Ladagnous will wear the race leader’s jersey on the second stage from Banyuls sur Mer to nearby Port Vendres. The stage heads into the hills with 1500m of climbing before diving back down to the Mediterranean. 

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
2Astana Pro Team  
3Direct Energie0:00:08 
4Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:00:11 
5Roubaix Metropole Europeenne De Lille  
6Fortuneo - Vital Concept0:00:16 
7AG2R la Mondiale0:00:18 
8Rally Cycling  
9Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec0:00:21 
10Bardiani CSF0:00:24 
11Team Vorarlberg0:00:26 
12HP-BTP Auber 93  
13Delko Marseille Provence KTM0:00:30 
14Euskadi Basque Country-Murias0:00:32 
15Equipe Cycliste Armee de Terre0:00:35 
General classification after stage 1
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Matthieu Ladagnous (Fra) FDJ0:06:00 
2Marc Sarreau (Fra) FDJ  
3Mickael Delage (Fra) FDJ  
4Arnaud Demare (Fra) FDJ  
5Alexandre Geniez (Fra) FDJ  
6Andriy Grivko (Ukr) Astana Pro Team  
7Andrey Zeits (Kaz) Astana Pro Team  
8Daniil Fominykh (Kaz) Astana Pro Team  
9Bakhtiyar Kozhatayev (Kaz) Astana Pro Team  
10Laurens De Vreese (Bel) Astana Pro Team  
11Eros Capecchi (Ita) Astana Pro Team  
12Thomas Boudat (Fra) Direct Energie0:06:08 
13Lilian Calmejane (Fra) Direct Energie  
14Antoine Duchesne (Can) Direct Energie  
15Guillaume Thévenot (Fra) Direct Energie  
16Tony Hurel (Fra) Direct Energie  
17Brian Nauleau (Fra) Direct Energie  
18Jeremy Cornu (Fra) Direct Energie  
19Ignatas Konovalovas (Ltu) FDJ0:06:09 
20Florian Senechal (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:06:11 
21Rudy Molard (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
22Arnold Jeannesson (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
23Yoann Bagot (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
24Loïc Chetout (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
25Rudy Barbier (Fra) Roubaix Metropole Europeenne De Lille  
26Julien Antomarchi (Fra) Roubaix Metropole Europeenne De Lille  
27Daan Myngheer (Bel) Roubaix Metropole Europeenne De Lille  
28Florent Pereira (Fra) Roubaix Metropole Europeenne De Lille  
29Jeremy Leveau (Fra) Roubaix Metropole Europeenne De Lille  
30Dieter Bouvry (Bel) Roubaix Metropole Europeenne De Lille  
31Maxime Cam (Fra) Fortuneo - Vital Concept0:06:16 
32Julien Loubet (Fra) Fortuneo - Vital Concept  
33Frédéric Brun (Fra) Fortuneo - Vital Concept  
34Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) Fortuneo - Vital Concept  
35Anthony Delaplace (Fra) Fortuneo - Vital Concept  
36Florian Vachon (Fra) Fortuneo - Vital Concept  
37Armindo Fonseca (Fra) Fortuneo - Vital Concept  
38Kevin Ledanois (Fra) Fortuneo - Vital Concept  
39Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:06:18 
40Cyril Gautier (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
41Jan Bakelants (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale  
42Mikael Cherel (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
43Ben Gastauer (Lux) AG2R La Mondiale  
44Christophe Riblon (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
45Axel Domont (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
46Eric Young (USA) Rally Cycling  
47Rob Britton (Can) Rally Cycling  
48Adam De Vos (Can) Rally Cycling  
49Evan Huffman (USA) Rally Cycling  
50Pierrick Naud (Can) Rally Cycling  
51Tom Zirbel (USA) Rally Cycling  
52Danny Pate (USA) Rally Cycling  
53Daniel Hoelgaard (Nor) FDJ0:06:19 
54Odd Christian Eiking (Nor) FDJ  
55Francesco Chicchi (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec0:06:21 
56Tiziano Dall'antonia (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec  
57Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec  
58Serghei Tvetcov (Rom) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec  
59Marco Benfatto (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec  
60Emerson Oronte (USA) Rally Cycling0:06:22 
61Gert Joeaar (Est) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
62Michael Van Staeyen (Bel) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
63Romain Cardis (Fra) Direct Energie  
64Simone Andreetta (Ita) Bardiani CSF0:06:24 
65Stefano Pirazzi (Ita) Bardiani CSF  
66Nicola Boem (Ita) Bardiani CSF  
67Nicola Ruffoni (Ita) Bardiani CSF  
68Francesco Manuel Bongiorno (Ita) Bardiani CSF  
69Paolo Simion (Ita) Bardiani CSF  
70Francesc Zurita (Spa) Team Vorarlberg0:06:26 
71Sergio Ferreira Sousa (Por) Team Vorarlberg  
72Lukas Meiler (Ger) Team Vorarlberg  
73Nicolas Winter (Swi) Team Vorarlberg  
74Zolt Der (Hun) Team Vorarlberg  
75Alo Jakin (Est) HP-BTP Auber 93  
76Pierre Gouault (Fra) HP-BTP Auber 93  
77César Bihel (Fra) HP-BTP Auber 93  
78Guillaume Levarlet (Fra) HP-BTP Auber 93  
79Julien Guay (Fra) HP-BTP Auber 93  
80Romain Feillu (Fra) HP-BTP Auber 93  
81Théo Vimpere (Fra) HP-BTP Auber 93  
82Maxime Renault (Fra) HP-BTP Auber 93  
83Julien El Fares (Fra) Delko Marseille Provence KTM0:06:30 
84Thierry Hupond (Fra) Delko Marseille Provence KTM  
85Yannick Martinez (Fra) Delko Marseille Provence KTM  
86Romain Combaud (Fra) Delko Marseille Provence KTM  
87Delio Fernandez Cruz (Spa) Delko Marseille Provence KTM  
88Julien Berard (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
89Aritz Bagües (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias0:06:32 
90Adrian Gonzalez (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias  
91Jon Ander Insausti Irastorza (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias  
92Aitor Gonzalez (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias  
93Alex Aranburu (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias  
94Rémy Di Gregorio (Fra) Delko Marseille Provence KTM0:06:34 
95Daniel Diaz (Arg) Delko Marseille Provence KTM  
96Egan Arley Bernal (Col) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec  
97Stéphane Poulhies (Fra) Armee De Terre0:06:35 
98Yoann Barbas (Fra) Armee De Terre  
99Jerome Mainard (Fra) Armee De Terre  
100Jimmy Raibaud (Fra) Armee De Terre  
101Kevin Lebreton (Fra) Armee De Terre  
102Thomas Rostollan (Fra) Armee De Terre  
103Clément Penven (Fra) Armee De Terre  
104Yann Guyot (Fra) Armee De Terre  
105Christophe Laborie (Fra) Delko Marseille Provence KTM0:06:38 
106Marco Bandiera (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec  
107Giorgio Cecchinel (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec  
108Luca Sterbini (Ita) Bardiani CSF0:06:42 
109Manuel Porzner (Ger) Team Vorarlberg0:06:47 
110Daniel Lehner (Aut) Team Vorarlberg  
111Simone Sterbini (Ita) Bardiani CSF0:06:51 
112Felix Pouilly (Fra) Roubaix Metropole Europeenne De Lille0:06:52 
113Eneko Lizarralde (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias0:06:55 
114Kenny Bouvry (Bel) Veranclassic-AGO0:06:57 
115Justin Jules (Fra) Veranclassic-AGO  
116Dimitri Peyskens (Bel) Veranclassic-AGO  
117Yannick Mayer (Ger) Veranclassic-AGO  
118Sam Lennertz (Bel) Veranclassic-AGO  
119Massimo Vanderaerden (Bel) Veranclassic-AGO0:06:58 
120Peio Olaberria (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias0:06:59 
121Rayane Bouhanni (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
122Louis Verhelst (Bel) Roubaix Metropole Europeenne De Lille0:07:02 
123Julien Deschesne (Bel) Veranclassic-AGO0:07:31 

Related Articles

Back to top