TechPowered By

More tech

International Cycling Classic 2009

Date range:
July 10-26, 2009

July 20, Whitnall Park Road Race: Hales Corners, WI 100km

Another Van Heerden takes a win

Daniel Carruthers
July 21, 2009, 14:54 BST,
July 23, 2009, 22:51 BST

Dahlman takes women's race

South Africa's Team MTN continue its domination of the International Cycling Classic with its sixth win in a row. This time Juan Van Heerden crossed the line first comfortably ahead of second placed Alexander Candelario (Kelly Benefit Strategies) and Hans Dekkers (Garmin-Slipstream) trailing in third.

The Wheel and Sprocket sponsored Whitnall Road Race was held on a beautiful, rolling 2.3 mile circuit with a steep hill prior to the finish line challenging the riders each lap. Just over 100 riders took to the start, with notable new teams in Subway Avanti from New Zealand and Kelly Benefit Strategies arriving with fresh legs.

After numerous early attacks that kept the pace brisk for most of the 100-kilometre race's first half, 13 riders attacked in a move that contained riders from most of the big teams. Initially it was a small group of five, but more and more riders jumped across and the large breakaway was allowed to roll away, despite Fly V Australia's Sulzberger and Cantwell missing out. The 13-man break was never seen again by the peloton and its riders sprinted it out for the stage victory.

"I attacked on the second to last climb and got a good gap that I thought would hold to the line, but I was caught at the bottom of the steep climb. Third place is still good, though," said Hans Dekkers of Garmin Slipstream.

Subway-Avanti rider Josh England of New Zealand looked impressive to claim fourth spot, outsprinting fellow countryman Heath Blackgrove. "I'm just getting back into racing after a block of time off to complete a semester at university," said England. "I have been training very hard over the last three months to get into shape for the rest of the American racing season." He is here with Omnium Track World Champion Hayden Godfrey and Jason Allen. The Subway-Avanti team will be looking to race aggressively at the 140-kilometre Lake Front Road Race.

When it comes to field sprints, the duo of Cantwell and Sulzberger from the Fly V Australia team are almost unstoppable and they proved it yet again at the Whitnall Road Race. The Australian pair, with their superb positioning and sprint ability, finished 1-2 in the bunch sprint for 14th and 15th place respectively. Sulzberger, who has been in yellow since day one, remains in the overall lead. However, it did not all go to plan since some key rivals, like Hans Dekkers (Garmin-Slipstream), acquired some points to close the gap slightly.

"Tonight did not go to plan as we wanted it," said Sulzberger. "Jonny [Cantwell] was in a lot of breaks early in the race, but we both missed the final break that had Hans Dekkers in it. He pulled some points back on me today and passed Jonny for second place overall. Jonny did a great lead-out for me to win the bunch sprint and we still claimed some points."

1 Juan Van Heerden (Team Mtn)    
2 Alexander Candelario (Kelly Benefit Strategies)    
3 Hans Dekkers (Garmin Slipstream Pro-Tour)    
4 Josh England (Subway- Avanti)    
5 Heath Blackgrove (Hotel San Jose/Rgm Advisors)    
6 Nick Bennette (Minuteman Road Club)    
7 Brad Huff (Jelly Belly Cycling Team)    
8 Andreas Graf (Gourmetfein)    
9 Chris Winn (Mob Cyclery Racing / Rmcef)    
10 Toby Marzot (Team Mountain Khakis)    
11 Ryan Fleming (Minuteman Road Club)    
12 Daniel Bowman (Kelly Benefit Strategies)    
13 Michael Friedman (Garmin Slipstream)    
14 Bernard Solzberger (Fly V Australia)    
15 Jonathan Cantwell (Fly V/Australia)    
16 Andreas Muller (No Radunion)    
17 Jay Thomson (Team Mtn)    
18 Carlos Vargas (Hotel San Jose/Rgm Advisors)    
19 Chad Hartley (Team Geargrinder)    
20 Sheldon Deeny (Bissell Pro Cycling Team)    
21 Gregg Brandt (Bianchi Gp)    
22 Oneal Samuels (Myogenesis.Com P/B United Healthcare)    
23 Michael Van Eerd (Team Yrc Now Ms)    
24 Ricardo Van Der Velde (Garmin Slipstream Pro-Tour)    
25 Ronnie Strange (Hotel San Jose/Rgm Advisors)    
26 Alex Wieseler (Nova Cycle Sports Foundation Inc.)    
27 Jason Short (Rbm Matrix)    
28 Isaac Howe (Team Mountain Khakis)    
29 Sergio Hernandez (Rock Racing)    
30 Stephen Kincaid (Empire)    
31 Adam Farabaugh (Empire)    
32 Wei-Cheng Lee (Team Exustar Taiwan)    
33 Phillip Mann (Ciclismo)    
34 Andrew Armstrong (Matrix/Rbm)    
35 Timothy Henry    
36 Dan Lionberg    
37 Chun-Kai Feng (Team Exustar Taiwan)    
38 Ian Mclead (Team Mtn)    
39 Aaron Molloy (Minuteman Road Club)    
40 Brian Cornelius (Landis/Trek)    
41 Bradley Clifford (Team Saskatchewan)    
42 Kip Spaude (Iscorp)    
43 Martin Adamczyk (Socalcycling.Com)    
44 Zachary Davies    
45 Nick Housley (Myogenesis P/B United Health Care)    
46 Will Hoffarth (Team Mountain Khakis)    
47 Phil Cortes (Amore Vita / Velorie P/B Lifetime Fitness)    
48 Christopher Mcgarity (Team Saskatchewan)    
49 David Byer    
50 Gustavo-Adolfo Mendez (Kahala La-Grange)    
51 Chris Arndt (Team Wheel And Sprocket)    
52 Brad Schaeffer (Team Abundance)    
53 Aaron Whalen (Horizon Organic Pb Prerace.Com)    
54 Max Taam (Rd: Horizon Organic Pb Prerace.Com / Mtn)    
55 Lucas Joppa (Triangle Velo)    
56 Bryan Fawley (Dallas Metal Fab / Park Place Dealerships)    
57 Daniel Workman (Ciclismo)    
58 John (Jackie) Simes (Team Mountain Khakis)    
59 Hayden Godfrey (Subway-Avanti)    
60 Duane Dickey (Iowa City Cycling Club)    
61 Brad Sheehan (Minuteman Road Club)    
62 John Meyers (Abd Cycling Team)    
63 Andrew Bradley (Gourmetfein)    
64 Daniel Carruthers (Hansaton Hearing Systems)    
65 Anthony Bennett (Jittery Joe's U25 Pb Kudzu.Com)    
66 Christoff Van Heerden (Team Mtn)    
67 Jonathan Chodroff (Ouch Presented By Maxxis)    
68 Bradley Potgieter (Team Mtn)    
69 (Unknown Rider)    
70 Robert White (Team Geargrinder)    
71 Bryce Mead (Jelly Belly Cycling Team)    
72 Levi Baker (Tyson Racing)    
1 Melissa Dahlman (Mbrc/Flanders)    
2 Josephine Giddens (Hub Racing)    
3 Nicky Wangsgard (Colavita Sutter Home P/B Cooking Light)    
4 Sarah Caravella (Alan)    
5 Shontell Gauthier (Colavita Sutter Home P/B Cooking Light)    
6 Emma Petersen (Team Ultralink)    
7 Bianca Bergman (Bianchi/Grand Performance)    
8 Amy Mcguire (Hub Racing)    
9 Ho-Hsun Huang (Team Exustar Taiwan)    
10 Karla Kingsley (Sugarcrm)    
11 Elizabeth Morse Hill (Hub Racing)    
12 Julia Farell (Team Ultralink)    
13 Kate Ligler (Dolce Vita)    
14 Mary-Ellen Ash (Sugarcrm)    
15 Leah Kirchmann (Team Manitoba)    
16 Lauren Liscinski (Now-Ms Society)    
17 Karlee Gendron (Woodcock Cycle Works/Team Manitoba)    
18 Carrie Cash Wootten (Team Revolution)    
19 Christine Roettger (Team Revolution)    
20 Sally Annis (Hub Racing)    
21 Trish Black (Morgan Stanley/Team Spine/Specialized)    
22 Sheba Farrin (Hub Racing)    
23 Sandra Hyra (Defined Fitness Training Llc)    
24 Kristin Wentworth (Team Kenda)    
25 Sydney Brown (Mercy Cycling Team)    
26 Gwen Inglis (Dft P/B Treads)    
27 Mary Magnani (Dolce Vita Cycling)    
28 Liz Leyden (Hub Racing)    
29 Jeannie Kuhajek (Team Mack)    
30 Kate Ross (Lip Smacker)    
31 Rachel Byus (Team Hotel San Jose)    
32 Julia Lafranchise (Now-Ms Society)    
33 Jennifer Johansen (Now-Ms Society)    
34 Veronica Martinez (Hub Racing)    
35 Julie Kuliecza (Team Marshall Mechanical)