Visconti prevails in Carnago

Italian champion bests Ponzi and Belletti

Giovanni Visconti (Farnese Vini) took advantage of an excellent lead out from his teammates and his powerful final acceleration to win the GP Carnago one-day race in northern Italy.

The Italian national champion beat Simone Ponzi (Liquigas - Cannondale) and Manuel Belletti (Colnago CSF) as riders looked to impress Italian national coach Paolo Bettini and earn a place in the team for the world championships.

Visconti gave Farnese Vini its 18th win of the season but has confirmed that he will join Movistar for 2012.

“We raced really well as a team today,” Visconti said, praising his teammates.

“First Caccia was in the break and then we controlled the racing before Mazzanti and then especially Pierpaolo De Negri guided me in the finale and set me up in an optimum position. I went through the last corner in first position and so the road was wide open. Because I’m able to quickly get a gap in a sprint, I had an ‘easy time’ and won well.”

Visconti hopes to sign off with Farnese Vini with a leadership role at the world championships and success at the Giro di Lombardia.

“I’m still not at my best but I’m getting there as I planned to do in September,” he explained. “I had virtually a month and a half away from the races after the Italian national championships in June, so that I’d be fresh for the end of the season. I want to do well right to the final weeks of the season and I’m especially focused on the Giro di Lombardia.”

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli4:43:52 
2Simone Ponzi (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale0:00:01 
3Manuel Belletti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
4Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
5Carlos Alberto Betancourt Gomez (Col) Acqua & Sapone  
6Jure Kocjan (Slo) Team Type 1 - Sanofi Aventis0:00:02 
7Davide Rebellin (Ita) Miche  
8Andrea Piechele (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
9Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) d'Angelo & Antenucci - Nippo  
10Daniele Colli (Ita) Geox-TMC  
11Giuseppe De Maria (Ita) De Rosa - Ceramica Flaminia  
12Jackson Rodriguez (Ven) Androni Giocattoli  
13Leonardo Bertagnolli (Ita) Lampre - ISD  
14Maciej Paterski (Pol) Liquigas-Cannondale  
15Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli  
16Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) FDJ0:00:06 
17Giampaolo Cheula (Ita) Geox-TMC0:00:09 
18Blaz Furdi (Slo) Adria Mobil  
19Mauro Finetto (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale  
20Rafai Chtioui (Tun) Acqua & Sapone  
21Enrico Magazzini (Ita) Lampre - ISD  
22Danilo Andrenacci (Ita) d'Angelo & Antenucci - Nippo  
23Alessandro Donati (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
24Sandy Casar (Fra) FDJ  
25Luca Solari (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
26Francesco Di Paolo (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
27Christian Meier (Can) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling  
28Marcel Aregger (Swi) Price Your Bike  
29Xavier Florencio Cabre (Spa) Geox-TMC  
30Emanuele Bindi (Ita) Meridiana Kamen Team  
31Edoardo Girardi (Ita) De Rosa - Ceramica Flaminia  
32Reto Hollenstein (Swi) Team Vorarlberg  
33Dominik Hrinkow (Aut) Team Vorarlberg0:00:18 
34Alessandro Proni (Ita) Acqua & Sapone0:00:21 
35Kristjan Fajt (Slo) Adria Mobil  
36Laszlo Bodrogi (Fra) Team Type 1 - Sanofi Aventis  
37Pier Paolo De Negri (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli  
38Jose Rodolfo Serpa Perez (Col) Androni Giocattoli  
39Stefan Schumacher (Ger) Miche - Guerciotti  
40Ermanno Capelli (Ita) Team Vorarlberg  
41Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre - ISD  
42Rémi Pauriol (Fra) FDJ  
43Henry Frusto (Ita) d'Angelo & Antenucci - Nippo  
44Marco Corti (Ita) Geox-TMC  
45Walter Proch (Ita) Ora Hotels Carrera  
46Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ0:00:27 
47Paolo Bailetti (Ita) De Rosa - Ceramica Flaminia  
48Oleg Berdos (Mda) De Rosa - Ceramica Flaminia0:00:54 
49Tomaz Nose (Slo) Adria Mobil  
50Roberto Antonio Richeze (Arg) Ora Hotels Carrera  
51Ariel Maximiliano Richeze (Arg) d'Angelo & Antenucci - Nippo0:01:21 
52Enrico Battaglin (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox0:01:23 
53David Gutierrez Gutierrez (Spa) Geox-TMC0:01:29 
54Simone Boifava (Ita) Ora Hotels Carrera  
55Alessandro Bazzana (Ita) Team Type 1 - Sanofi Aventis  
56Luca Barla (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
57Thomas Tiozzo (Ita) Lapmre - ISD  
58Giuseppe Di Salvo (Ita) Miche - Guerciotti  
59Morgan Schmitt (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling  
60Maciej Bodnar (Pol) Liquigas-Cannondale  
61Omar Lombardi (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox0:01:48 
62Damiano Margutti (Ita) De Rosa - Ceramica Flaminia0:02:08 
63Krzysztof Szczawinski (Pol) Miche - Guerciotti  
64Dariusz Batek (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
65Gianluca Maggiore (Ita) De Rosa - Ceramica Flaminia  
66Volodymyr Zagorodny (Ukr) Miche - Guerciotti  
67Mirko Tedeschi (Ita) Lampre - ISD  
68Massimo Graziato (Ita) Lampre - ISD  
69Alessandro De Marchi (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
70Claudio Corioni (Ita) Acqua & Sapone0:02:39 
71Junya Sano (Jpn) d'Angelo & Antenucci - Nippo0:03:08 
72Fabio Taborre (Ita) Acqua & Sapone0:03:30 
73Angelo Pagani (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
74Diego Caccia (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli0:03:38 
75Leonardo Giordani (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli  
76Francesco Ginanni (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
77Thomas Bertolini (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli0:03:50 
78Marco Frapporti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
79Danilo Napolitano (Ita) Acqua & Sapone0:04:01 
80Cédric Pineau (Fra) FDJ0:04:06 


Related Articles

Back to top