Santambrogio wins GP Industria & Artigianato - Larciano

Sinkewitz and Gatto second and third

Mauro Santambrogio (Vini Fantini-Selle Italia) claimed his first win of the season in Larciano as he won the GP Industria & Artigianato ahead of Patrick Sinkewitz (Meridiana) and his teammate Oscar Gatto.

Santambrogio’s Vini Fantini-Selle Italia squad took control of the race on the final climb of San Baronto and his new teammate Danilo Di Luca was prominent in setting the pace on the ascent. Approaching the summit, Santambrogio accelerated sharply and brought Sinkewitz clear of the peloton with him, while Steve Cummings (BMC) tried and failed to get across to them on the way down.

It soon became apparent that the two leaders would fight it out for the win, and when Sinkewitz overshot a bend two kilometres from the line, the way was paved for Santambrogio to take his maiden win for Vini Fantini-Selle Italia.

Sinkewitz recovered sufficiently to hang on for second place at 12 seconds, while Oscar Gatto prevailed in the eight-man sprint for third place two seconds later.

Danilo Di Luca, who only signed for Vini Fantini-Selle Italia on Thursday and who was riding his first race for over 200 days, finished 10th. The veteran, who was suspended after testing positive for CERA in 2009, is set to line up for the team at the Giro d’Italia.

Full Results
1 Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia 4:49:21  
2 Patrik Sinkewitz (Ger) Meridiana Kamen Team 0:00:12  
3 Oscar Gatto (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia 0:00:14  
4 Ivan Rovny (Rus) Ceramica Flaminia-Fondriest    
5 Andrea Fedi (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia-Fondriest    
6 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
7 Carlos Julian Quintero (Col) Colombia    
8 Francesco Manuel Bongiorno (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox    
9 Jackson Rodriguez (Ven) Androni Giocattoli    
10 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia    
11 Simone Campagnaro (Ita) Team Nippo-De Rosa 0:00:30  
12 Fabio Andres Duarte Arevalo (Col) Colombia    
13 Jarlinson Pantano (Col) Colombia    
14 Matteo Fedi (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia-Fondriest 0:00:40  
15 Stefano Pirazzi (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox    
16 Stephen Cummings (GBr) BMC Racing Team    
17 Nicola Boem (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox    
18 Caleb Fairly (USA) Garmin-Sharp    
19 Federico Rocchetti (Ita) Utensilnord    
20 Marco Zamparella (Ita) Utensilnord    
21 Sergio Pardilla Bellon (Spa) MTN-Qhubeka    
22 Arkimedes Arguelyes Rodriges (Rus) Lokosphinx    
23 Fabio Taborre (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia    
24 Gabriele Bosisio (Ita) Utensilnord    
25 Michael Rodriguez Galindo (Col) Colombia    
26 Floris Smeyers (Bel) Verandas Willems 0:01:30  
27 Sergey Klimov (Rus) RusVelo    
28 Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Androni Giocattoli    
29 Dmitry Sokolov (Rus) Lokosphinx    
30 Antonio Santoro (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia-Fondriest    
31 Alexander Rybakov (Rus) RusVelo    
32 Tomaz Nose (Slo) Adria Mobil    
33 Filippo Savini (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia-Fondriest    
34 Sergey Firsanov (Rus) RusVelo    
35 Francesco Failli (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia    
36 Jacques Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) MTN-Qhubeka    
37 Emanuel Kiserlovski (Cro) Meridiana Kamen Team    
38 Matej Mugerli (Slo) Adria Mobil    
39 Daniel Oss (Ita) BMC Racing Team 0:01:50  
40 Stefano Locatelli (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox    
41 Martin Kohler (Swi) BMC Racing Team 0:03:50  
42 Jeffry Johan Romero Corredor (Col) Colombia    
43 Dalivier Ospina Navarro (Col) Colombia    
44 Robbie Squire (USA) Ceramica Flaminia-Fondriest 0:04:30  
45 Nicola Dal Santo (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia-Fondriest    
46 Jean-Albert Carnevali (Bel) Verandas Willems    
47 Simon Pavlin (Slo) Adria Mobil    
48 Marco Canola (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox    
49 Meron Russom (Eri) MTN-Qhubeka    
50 Sergei Pomoshnikov (Rus) RusVelo    
51 Olivier Pardini (Bel) Verandas Willems    
52 Thomas Dekker (Ned) Garmin-Sharp    
53 Louis Meintjes (RSA) MTN-Qhubeka    
54 Primoz Roglic (Slo) Adria Mobil    
55 Primoz Roglic (Slo) Adria Mobil    
56 Fortunato Baliani (Ita) Team Nippo-De Rosa    
57 Leonardo Pinizzotto (Ita) Team Nippo-De Rosa    
58 Mikhail Antonov (Rus) Lokosphinx 0:06:00  
59 Steven Caethoven (Bel) Accent Jobs-Wanty 0:08:30  
60 Alessio Camilli (Ita) Team Nippo-De Rosa    
61 Lawrence Warbasse (USA) BMC Racing Team    
62 Jonathan Monsalve (Ven) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia    

Related Articles

Back to top