Elvin wins Gooik-Geraardsbergen-Gooik

Kopecky second, Delzenne third

Gracie Elvin (Orica-AIS) won her second consecutive title at the UCI 1.1 Gooik-Geraardsbergen-Gooik in Belgium on Sunday. The Australian won the race from a sprint ahead of Lotte Kopecky and Elise Delzenne, both from the Lotto Soudal Ladies team.

"We were really in control the whole race today," said Elvin in a team press release. "It was great for us to have so many cards to play and then actually finish it off.

"I tried to keep a clear head going into the race, we had a good team plan before the race. We've really been working since the camp on our tactics and communication so we ticked all the boxes today and we had a lot of confidence in ourselves and each other, which is also something we have really been working on.

"It just all came together today so it really was perfect for us. Everyone's in a really good place, good form, training camp went so well, we've all been working hard but super lucky to have our great staff who have been facilitating all of this.

"We are all very happy at the moment and it's exciting to keep moving forward like this."

The women's 136km one-day race is nestled on the calendar between two American WorldTour events; Tour of California and Philadelphia International Cycling Classic, which has spread the peloton across two continents.

Still a strong field was present, marked by the day's early breakaway that included two powerful riders Emma Johansson (WiggleHigh5) and Annemiek Van Vleuten (Orica-AIS), and the pair gained 1:30 on the field over the hilly terrain. With a teammate in the breakaway, Elvin was able to sit in and wait for the final sprint. The two were caught in the closing kilometres and Elvin's teammates placed her in perfect position to win the sprint.

"It was a great day for the team," said Van Vleuten. "I was able to go with Emma when she attacked on the uphill cobbles with around 50 kilometres to go.

"It was close in the final, I was ready to sprint and then suddenly we were caught. Amanda Spratt did a fantastic counter attack which worked perfectly for us as Boels-Dolmans then had to chase.

"They closed in and I fought back with Gracie on my wheel and started the sprint around 400m to go. I am happy I was still able to lead her out for the sprint and that she was able to win. Overall it was a really amazing day for the team."

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Gracie Elvin (Aus) Orica-AIS3:33:15 
2Lotte Kopecky (Bel) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
3Elise Delzenne (Fra) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
4Sarah Roy (Aus) Orica-AIS  
5Chantal Blaak (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
6Rasa Leleivyte (Ltu) Lithuania  
7Amy Pieters (Ned) Wiggle High5  
8Floortje Mackaij (Ned) Team Liv-Plantur  
9Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (Den) Team BMS Birn  
10Daiva Tuslaite (Ltu) Lithuania  
11Sofie De Vuyst (Bel) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
12Valerie Demey (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Etixx-Guill D'or  
13Emma Johansson (Swe) Wiggle High5  
14Thalita De Jong (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team  
15Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Orica-AIS  
16Vita Heine (Nor) Hitec Products  
17Marie Vilmann (Den) Team BMS Birn  
18Eleonora Van Dijk (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team0:00:06 
19Marianne Vos (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team0:00:12 
20Amanda Spratt (Aus) Orica-AIS0:00:14 
21Demi De Jong (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team0:01:06 
22Anouska Koster (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team  
23Christina Siggaard (Den) Team BMS Birn  
24Eva Buurman (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
25Janneke Ensing (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team0:01:07 
26Kelly Van Den Steen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Etixx-Guill D'or  
27Amalie Dideriksen (Den) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
28Romy Kasper (Ger) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
29Rotem Gafinovitz (Isr)  
30Molly Weaver (GBr) Team Liv-Plantur  
31Marta Bastianelli (Ita) Alé Cipollini  
32Moniek Tenniglo (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team  
33Demmy Druyts (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Etixx-Guill D'or0:04:36 
34Dalia Muccioli (Ita) Alé Cipollini0:06:46 
35Esra Tromp (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
36Sara Mustonen (Swe) Team Liv-Plantur  
37Miriam Bjørnsrud (Nor) Hitec Products  
38Jessy Druyts (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Etixx-Guill D'or  
39Monique Van De Ree (Ned) Lares-Waowdeals Women Cycling Team0:07:55 
40Pia De Quint (Bel) Lares-Waowdeals Women Cycling Team  
41Jesse Vandenbulcke (Bel) Lares-Waowdeals Women Cycling Team  
42Marjolein Van 'T Geloof (Ned)  
43Danique Braam (Ned)  
44Sara Penton (Swe) Lares-Waowdeals Women Cycling Team  
45Willeke Knol (Ned) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
46Nathalie Verschelden (Bel)  
47Riejanne Markus (Ned) Team Liv-Plantur  
48Sarah Inghelbrecht (Bel) Lares-Waowdeals Women Cycling Team  
49Vibeke Dybwad (Nor) Norway  
50Ingrid Tempert (Ned)  
51Gilke Croket (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Etixx-Guill D'or  
52Daniela Gass (Ger)  
53Senna Feron (Ned)  
54Lotte Van Hoek (Ned) Lares-Waowdeals Women Cycling Team  
55Julie Solvang (Nor) Norway  
56Inga Rodieck (Ger)  
57Eva Van Den Born (Ned)  
58Laura Vainionpää (Fin)  
59Francesca Cauz (Ita) Alé Cipollini  
60Caroline Thorvik Olsen (Nor)  
61Kelly Druyts (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Etixx-Guill D'or  
62Suzanne Verhoeven (Ned)  
63Stine Andersen Borgli (Nor) Norway  
64Loren Rowney (Aus) Orica-AIS  
65Jolien D'hoore (Bel) Wiggle High5  
66Alexandra Manly (Aus) Orica-AIS  
67Genevieve Whitson (GBr)  
68Karen Elzing (Ned)  
69Wiebke Rodieck (Ger)  
70Julia Soek (Ned) Team Liv-Plantur  
71Julie Leth (Den) Hitec Products  
72Lensy Debboudt (Bel)  
73Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) Hitec Products  
74Nina Kessler (Ned) Lensworld-Zannata  
75Annelies Dom (Bel) Lensworld-Zannata  
76Esther Van Veen (Ned)  
77Lisa Küllmer (Ger)  
78Maaike Polspoel (Bel) Lensworld-Zannata  
79Alice Maria Arzuffi (Ita) Lensworld-Zannata  
80Beatrice Rossato (Ita) Alé Cipollini  
81Tessa Dijksman (Ned)  
82Lauren Kitchen (Aus) Hitec Products  
83Ilona Hoeksma (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
84Rozanne Slik (Ned) Team Liv-Plantur  
85Birgitte Ravndal (Nor) Norway  
86Marie Flataas (Nor) Norway  
87Martina Alzini (Ita) Alé Cipollini  
88Thea Thorsen (Nor) Hitec Products  
DNFAnna Christian (GBr) Wiggle High5  
DNFLucy Garner (GBr) Wiggle High5  
DNFEllen Skerritt (Aus) Alé Cipollini  
DNFIsabelle Beckers (Bel) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
DNFSusanna Zorzi (Ita) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
DNFWinanda Spoor (Ned) Lensworld-Zannata  
DNFKim De Baat (Bel) Lensworld-Zannata  
DNFMargriet Helena Kloppenburg (Den) Team BMS Birn  
DNFJannie Sand (Den) Team BMS Birn  
DNFSilvija Latozaite (Ltu) Lithuania  
DNFEdita Janeliunaite (Ltu) Lithuania  
DNFIeva Jakubonyte (Ltu) Lithuania  
DNFJustina Jovaišyte (Ltu) Lithuania  
DNFLinda Jacobsson (Swe)  
DNFJosefine Huitfeldt (Den)  
DNFEllinor Huusko (Swe)  
DNFAmy Hill (GBr)  
DNFDani Christmas (GBr)  
DNFNele Armée (Bel)  
DNFMieke Leeman (Bel)  
DNFLiliano Leenknegi (Bel)  
DNFEvelien Debboudt (Bel)  
DNFSylvia Debboudt (Bel)  
DNFCéline Van Severen (Bel)  
DNFAna Paula Casetta (Bra)  
DNFMalin Berlin (Swe)  
DNFLaura Van Geyt (Bel)  
DNFLisa Vermeire (Bel)  
DNFSylvie Boermans (Ned)  
DNFDana Lodewyks (Bel)  
DNFSteffi Lodewyks (Bel)  
DNFFatima Berton (Bel)  
DNFBryony Van Velzen (Ned)  
DNFRobin Driehuis (Ned)  
DNFEsther Van Leeuwen (Ned)  
DNFKim Lahaije (Ned)  
DNFTessa Veen (Ned)  
DNFBianca Lust (Ned)  

Related Articles

Back to top