Felline wins the Giro dell'Appennino

Brambilla shows talent, second ahead of Reda

Fabio Felline (Androni Giocattoli) won the sprint of about 20 riders at the end of the Giro dell'Appenino, with Gianluca Brambilla (Colnago - CSF Inox) and Francesco Reda (Acqua & Sapone) coming in second an third. After a total of seven categorized climbs, the 22-year-old still found his top finishing speed while climbers such as Michele Scarponi (Lampre) launched unsuccessful attacks.

The mountainous course from Novi Ligure to Genova inevitably split up the field. After about 30 kilometres, a handful of riders got away: Enrico Rossi (Meridiana - Karmen), Andrea Palini (Team Idea), Federico Rocchetti (Utensilnord), Marco Canola (Colnago-CSF), Matthias Brändle (NetApp), Marko Kump (Adria Mobil).

The group did not last long however, as the Passo della Bocchetta after 130 kilometres saw the field come back on the remaining three escapists (Canola, Rocchetti and Brändle). A mighty counter-attack saw Michele Scarponi (Lampre), Domenico Pozzovivo (Colnago-CSF Inox) and Carlos Betancur (Acqua & Sapone) take the trio back, while about 20 riders formed a chase group behind.

Felline's Androni teammates put on the pace and while the trio had 40 seconds advantage on the penultimate climb of Castagnola, they managed to reel them back in with ten kilometres to go, setting up the sprint. A confident Felline did not wait long on the finishing straight and led the group home in front all the way, making it impossible for anyone to come round him.

Full Results

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Fabio Felline (Ita) Androni Giocattoli 4:50:47  
2 Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Colnago - Csf Inox    
3 Francesco Reda (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
4 Eros Capecchi (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
5 Matthias Brandle (Aut) Team Netapp    
6 Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre - ISD    
7 Kristijan Durasek (Cro) Adria Mobil    
8 Radoslav Rogina (Cro) Adria Mobil    
9 Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Lampre - ISD    
10 Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Androni Giocattoli    
11 Fabio Andres Duarte Arevalo (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
12 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Colnago - Csf Inox    
13 Angelo Pagani (Ita) Colnago - Csf Inox    
14 Alessandro Bisolti (Ita) Team Idea    
15 Carlos Alberto Betancur Gomez (Col) Acqua & Sapone    
16 Stefano Pirazzi (Ita) Colnago - Csf Inox 0:00:04  
17 Jackson Rodriguez (Ven) Androni Giocattoli    
18 Carlos José Ochoa (Ven) Androni Giocattoli 0:00:07  
19 Jose Rodolfo Serpa Perez (Col) Androni Giocattoli 0:00:12  
20 Marco Marzano (Ita) Lampre - ISD 0:00:13  
21 Emanuele Sella (Ita) Androni Giocattoli 0:00:22  
22 Stefano Locatelli (Ita) Colnago - Csf Inox 0:00:29  
23 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Acqua & Sapone 0:01:18  
24 Matej Mugerli (Slo) Adria Mobil    
25 Henry Frusto (Ita) Team Nippo    
26 Darwin Atapuma Hurtado (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
27 Cristiano Salerno (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
28 Patxi Javier Vila Errandonea (Spa) Utensilnord Named    
29 Chris Butler (USA) Champion System Pro Cycling Team    
30 Cayetano José Sarmiento Tunarrosa (Col) Liquigas-Cannondale    
31 Robinson Eduardo Chalapud Gomez (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
32 Tomaz Nose (Slo) Adria Mobil    
33 Rubens Bertogliati (Swi) Team Type 1 - Sanofi    
34 Frederico Rocchetti (Ita) Utensilnord Named 0:01:22  
35 Luca Barla (Ita) Team Idea 0:05:10  
36 Craig Lewis (USA) Champion System Pro Cycling Team    
37 Marc De Maar (AHo) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team    
38 Vladimir Miholjevic (Cro) Acqua & Sapone    
39 Dalivier Ospina Navarro (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
40 Jaroslaw Dabrowski (Pol) Amore & Vita    
41 David Boily (Can) Spidertech Powered By C10    
42 Brian Vandborg (Den) Spidertech Powered By C10    
43 Morris Possoni (Ita) Lampre - ISD    
44 Kristjan Fajt (Slo) Adria Mobil    
45 Paolo Longo Borghini (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
46 Andreas Dietziker (Swi) Team Netapp    
47 Bartosz Huzarski (Pol) Team Netapp    
48 Johan Esteban Chaves Rubio (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
49 Stiven Fanelli (Ita) Utensilnord Named    
50 Cameron Wurf (Aus) Champion System Pro Cycling Team    
51 Marco Canola (Ita) Colnago - Csf Inox    
52 Filippo Savini (Ita) Colnago - Csf Inox    
53 Alessandro De Marchi (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
54 Enrico Battaglin (Ita) Colnago - Csf Inox    
55 Enrico Rossi (Ita) Meridiana Kamen Team    
56 Cesare Benedetti (Ita) Team Netapp    
57 Maurizio Biondo (Ita) Meridiana Kamen Team    
58 Javier Gonzalez Barrera (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes 0:07:27  
59 Reto Hollenstein (Swi) Team Netapp 0:10:09  
60 Paul Lang (Aut) WSA - Viperbike Kärnten    
61 Pirmin Lang (Swi) Atlas Personal - Jakroo    
62 Jonathan Fumeaux (Swi) Atlas Personal - Jakroo    
63 Jonathan Clarke (Aus) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team    
64 Marko Kump (Slo) Adria Mobil    
65 Jason Mccartney (USA) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team    
66 Blaz Bonca (Slo) Meridiana Kamen Team    
67 Edoardo Girardi (Ita) Utensilnord Named    
68 Yovcho Yovchev (Bul) Amore & Vita    
69 Tomohiro Hayakawa (Jpn) Team Nippo    
70 Oleg Berdos (Mda) Utensilnord Named    
71 Cristian Cominelli (Ita) Team Idea    
72 Alessandro Bazzana (Ita) Team Type 1 - Sanofi    
73 Julien Antomarchi (Fra) Team Type 1 - Sanofi    
74 Vincenzo Garofolo (Ita) Team Nippo    
75 Aristide Ratti (Ita) Team Idea    
76 Andrea Palini (Ita) Team Idea    
77 Lucas Euser (USA) Spidertech Powered By C10    
78 Ryan Anderson (Can) Spidertech Powered By C10    
79 Javier Megias Leal (Spa) Team Type 1 - Sanofi    
80 Davide Mucelli (Ita) Utensilnord Named    

Related Articles

Back to top