Saramotins dominates Designa event

Rasmussen second on cycling return

Aleksejs Saramotins (Team Designa Køkken) won the Designa Grand Prix in Kjellerup, Denmark after riding away from Michael Rasmussen. Rasmussen was contesting his first race since his International Cycling Union (UCI) suspension concluded on July 25.

Troels Vinther (Team Capinordic) took third place, crossing the line with team-mate Daniel Holm Foder 1:14 minutes behind Saramotins.

While the UCI is pursuing Rasmussen for a fine of one year’s salary in a case that will be heard by the Court of Arbitration for Sport, the governing body hasn’t yet opposed his return to racing. "As Mr Rasmussen has also appealed to the CAS to contest his pledge, the UCI has decided not to oppose Mr Rasmussen's return to competition, pending the CAS's judgment," the UCI told AFP.

Saxo Bank's Chris Anker Sørensen took fifth place 1:16 minutes behind Saramotins, while team-mate Jakob Fulgsang finished just outside the top 10 in 11th place.

1Aleksejs Saramotins (Team Designa Køkken)1:19:08 
2Michael Rasmussen0:01:01 
3Troels Vinther (Team Capinordic)0:01:14 
4Daniel Holm Foder (Team Concordia)  
5Chris Anker Sørensen (Saxo Bank)0:01:16 
6Simon Lerbech (Team Concordia)0:01:22 
7Thomas Guldhammer (Team Capinordic)  
8Michael Reihs (Team Designa Køkken)  
9Lars Ulrich (Team Concordia)  
10Allan Johansen (Team Designa Køkken)  
11Jakob Fulgsang (Saxo Bank)  
12Martin Pedersen (Team Capinordic)  
13Max Jenkins (Glud & Marstrand Horsens)0:01:45 
14Frank Høj (Team Saxo Bank)0:01:52 
15Martin Mortensen (Vancansoleil)  
16Thomas Riber-Selleberg (Team Capinordic)  
17Rene Jørgensen (Team Designa Køkken)0:01:56 
18Luthando Kaka (Glud & Marstrand Horsens)  
19Nicolaj Olesen (Team Concordia)  
20Jimmi Sørensen (Team Designa Køkken)0:01:59 


Back to top