White wins men’s U23 Australian road race championships

Local rider beats Potter and Jenner after late attack

Local rider Nicholas White (Team Bridge Lane) took the green and gold national champion’s jersey in the men’s under 23 road race. He beat Michael Potter (Pro Racing Sunshine Coast) and 2017 winner Samuel Jenner (Team Wiggins Le Col) in a long sprint in Buninyong.

“I couldn’t think of anything better, to be able to do this in my hometown is something else and to have all the supporters there as well,” said White. “I was getting the shakes going around the last lap with everyone yelling out my name was a pretty surreal feeling and it hasn’t really sunk in yet.”

“It’s pretty surreal, it still hasn’t sunk in, it’s amazing,” White added on the podium after celebrating with family and friends.

“I couldn’t have done it without the five guys riding with me, it’s just as much their win as any one else’s, I can’t think them enough, and the team for all their support. It’s incredible.”

White took second overall in the 2018 National Road Series and was keen to do well on his local roads despite a knee problem.

The 127km race was fast from the start with a dozen breakaway attacks forming and collapsing during the 11 lap-race. The decisive attack came at the final climb when Jenner and White sparked a strong move, forcing Potter with no option but to join.

Their lead was never more than a few seconds and it fell as White, Potter and Jenner played cat and mouse before the sprint.
“I had the whole team riding on the front for me and they made an unreal effort to get me around and even coming down to the bell lap when I had four guys with me, I knew I was definitely in with a chance and it was starting to feel like this could be a reality and this could be mine,” White explained.

“The last time over the climb was super hard but after all the effort the boys put in I knew I needed to be up to the front with those two guys so to be able to give them a reward and to win this is pretty special.”


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Nicholas White3:21:19 
2Michael Potter  
3Samuel Jenner  
4Cameron Scott  
5Jarrad Drizners0:00:04 
6Darcy Pirotta  
7Riley Fleming  
8Ben Metcalfe  
9Matthew Dinham  
10Benjamin Andrews  
11Sebastian Berwick  
12Shaun Falzarano  
13Liam Magennis  
14Sam Bascombe  
15Iven Bennett  
16Bailey Walters  
17Aden Paterson  
18Sebastian Presley  
19Alexander Evans  
20Alastair Christie-Johnston  
21Harry Sweeny  
22Carter Turnbull  
23Calan White  
24Rudy Porter0:01:36 
25Zachary Johnson  
26Matthew Harvey0:02:00 
27Cameron Wright  
28Alex Lack0:02:02 
29Dylan Mckenna0:02:51 
30Jordan Schmidt0:02:58 
31Jordan Louis0:03:23 
32Jensen Plowright0:03:27 
33Brent Rees  
34David Williams  
35Peter Livingstone  
36Angus Calder  
37William Hodges  
38Rhys Robotham0:04:22 
39Tom Gough  
40Daniel Simpson  
41Carter Bettles  
42Tyler Lindorff0:04:24 
43Michael Harris0:06:12 
44Jacob Emmerton0:09:08 
45Thomas Bolton0:10:48 
46Timothy Harvey  
47Brandon Conway0:11:02 
48Liam Edwards  
dnfBen Cross  
dnfThomas Green  
dnfTom Mcfarlane  
dnfTom Benton  
dnfWill Moloney-Morton  
dnfThomas Jones  
dnfGodfrey Slattery  
dnfConor Leahy  
dnfCallum Pearce  
dnfFintan Conway  
dnfTaj Jones  
dnfKelland O'brien  
dnfZack Gilmore  
dnfBentley Niquet-Olden  
dnfLeigh Phillips  
dnfJasper Albrecht  
dnfConnor Sens  
dnfLachlan Darch  
dnfDaniel Siwek  
dnfTristan Saunders  
dnfLiam Lawlor  
dnfMark Sampson  
dnfEthan Egglestone  
dnfLachlan Sinclair  
dnfWilliam Pender-Buchan  
dnfTom Chester  
dnfMyles Stewart  
dnfCraig Wiggins  
dnfBlake Quick  
dnfBen Spenceley  
dnfConnor Reardon  
dnfHarrisen Bryant  
dnfIndiana Michel  
dnfByron Woods  
dnfAndrew Gynes  
dnfJack Marshall  
dnfJet Turner  
dnfBrendon Green  
dnfEwen Doonan  
dnfMackenzie Hastings  
dnfAmarni Drake  
dnfCharlie Barber  
dnfCooper Sayers  
dnfThomas Beddome  
dnfOliver Hartung  
dnfAron Barclay  
dnfEmerson Julian  
dnfAlex Clairs  
dnfByron Davies  
dnfLeighton Taylor  
dnfPatrick Brett  
dnfHarry Askew  
dnfNicholas Torney  
dnfPatrick Sharrad  
dnfHayden Turton  
dnfMartin Fatmaja Hoggart  
dnfJames Farley  
dnfJarrod Williams  
dnfLachlan Harrigan  
dnfJason Woodard  
dnfSam Horan  
dnfChester Hinton  
dnfNathan Burrell  
dnfThomas Ford  
dnfXavier Cooper  
dnfHamish Webber  
dnfAlexander Chrystall  
dnfTim Lennon  
dnfHarry Watson  
dnfWill Ockenden  
dnfRobert Parker  
dnfTerance Hore  
dnfJosh Sutton  
dnfAlex Durrant-Whyte  
dnfIsaac Buckell  
dnfLiam Pino  
dnfLucas Hoffman  
dnfConnor Bagot  
dnsNic Simpson  

Related Articles

Back to top