Fahlin wins Crescent Vargarda WorldTour race

Lotta Lepisto is second, followed by Chantal Blaak

Emilia Fahlin (Ale Cipollini) sprinted to the win Sunday during Crescent Vargarda, the 15th round of the Women's World Tour. The 27-year-old Swedish rider claimed the win in her home country after making it into a nine-rider move that escaped on a dirt section late in the race, then outsprinted Lotta Lepistö (Cervelo Bigla) and Chantal Blaak (Boels Dolmans) at the line.

"I am happy to have broken the ice, winning in Sweden was extraordinary," Fahlin said after the race. "I'm fine, I'm fit and I really wanted to be a leader at home. I dedicate this victory to my family, now present at the finish line, to my team, perfect even here, we are united and strong, and to the crowd shouting my name at the roadside, they gave me the strength to sprint and win the best win of my career."

Cervelo Bigla's Nicole Hanselmann went on a 30km solo flyer before the day's decisive move, the nine-rider break that contained Fahlin, slipped away as the riders approached the finishing circuits and the infamous gravel sections.

The breakaway group also included Amy Pieters (Wiggle High5), Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Lensworld-Zannata), Hannah Barnes (Canyon-SRAM), Amanda Spratt (Orica-AIS), Julia Soek (Liv-Plantur) and Shara Gillow (Rabo Liv).

The nine-rider group never gained more than a two-minute advantage, and it wasn’t clear until the last lap whether they would be successful. With most teams represented in the move, however, the peloton eventually sat up, and the winner would come from the escapees.

Fahlin surprised the group with an early jump and held off the sprinters to take the win. Lepistö said the Swedish rider deserved the win.

"I feel like Emilia and I did most of the work in the breakaway," the Cervelo Bigla rider said. "I think Emilia was having super legs today and she took the last corner first and had the most speed and could hold the 300 metres in the front. I was trying to pass her so badly but I just died, my legs were totally empty."

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Emilia Fahlin (Swe) Alé Cipollini3:35:31 
2Lotta Lepistö (Fin) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team  
3Chantal Blaak (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
4Amy Pieters (Ned) Wiggle High5  
5Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Ita) Lensworld-Zannata  
6Hannah Barnes (GBr) Canyon-SRAM  
7Amanda Spratt (Aus) Orica-AIS  
8Julia Soek (Ned) Team Liv-Plantur  
9Shara Gillow (Aus) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team  
10Roxane Knetemann (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team0:00:13 
11Dani King (GBr) Wiggle High5  
12Eugenia Bujak (Pol) BTC City Ljubljana0:00:48 
13Carmen Small (USA) Cylance Pro Cycling  
14Anouska Koster (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team  
15Sheyla Gutierrez Ruiz (Spa) Cylance Pro Cycling  
16Alice Barnes (GBr) Drops Cycling Team  
17Kaat Van Der Meulen (Bel) Lensworld-Zannata  
18Polona Batagelj (Slo) BTC City Ljubljana  
19Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Canyon-SRAM  
20Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (Den) Team BMS Birn  
21Camilla Møllebro (Den) Team BMS Birn  
22Leah Kirchmann (Can) Team Liv-Plantur  
23Alexis Ryan (USA) Canyon-SRAM  
24Jermaine Post (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
25Sarah Roy (Aus) Orica-AIS  
26Anna Trevisi (Ita) Alé Cipollini  
27Laura Massey (GBr) Drops Cycling Team  
28Janneke Ensing (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
29Sara Penton (Swe) Swedish National Team  
30Rozanne Slik (Ned) Team Liv-Plantur  
31Annelies Dom (Bel) Lensworld-Zannata  
32Malgorzta Jasinska (Pol) Alé Cipollini  
33Ganna Solovei (Ukr) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
34Ellen Van Dijk (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
35Loren Rowney (Aus) Orica-AIS  
36Marta Tagliaferro (Ita) Alé Cipollini  
37Chloe Hosking (Aus) Wiggle High5  
38Julie Leth (Den) Hitec Products  
39Anna Plichta (Pol) BTC City Ljubljana  
40Lauren Kitchen (Aus) Hitec Products  
41Marie Vilmann (Den) Team BMS Birn  
42Esra Tromp (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
43Martina Ritter (Aut) BTC City Ljubljana  
44Jessica Allen (Aus) Orica-AIS  
45Alexandra Manly (Aus) Orica-AIS  
46Lisa Klein (Ger) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team  
47Emilie Moberg (Nor) Hitec Products  
48Karol-Ann Canuel (Can) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
49Olga Zabelinskaya (Rus) Bepink  
50Ilaria Sanguineti (Ita) Bepink  
51Audrey Cordon (Fra) Wiggle High5  
52Rossella Ratto (Ita) Cylance Pro Cycling  
53Trixi Worrack (Ger) Canyon-SRAM0:01:03 
54Anna Van Der Breggen (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team  
55Elena Cecchini (Ita) Canyon-SRAM  
56Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Wiggle High5  
57Amber Neben (USA) Bepink  
58Katarzyna Pawlowska (Pol) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
59Stephanie Pohl (Ger) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team  
60Tayler Wiles (USA) Orica-AIS  
61Evelyn Stevens (USA) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team0:01:12 
62Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
63Sara Mustonen (Swe) Team Liv-Plantur  
64Katrine Aalerud (Nor) Norway National Team0:02:20 
65Ingrid Moe (Nor) Norway National Team  
66Hannah Payton (GBr) Drops Cycling Team  
67Natalie Van Gogh (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
68Olena Pavlukhina (Aze) BTC City Ljubljana  
69Vera Koedooder (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
70Corinna Lechner (Ger) BTC City Ljubljana  
71Christina Siggaard (Den) Team BMS Birn  
72Cecilie Gotaas Johnsen (Nor) Hitec Products  
73Tereza Medvedova (Svk) Bepink  
74Riejanne Markus (Ned) Team Liv-Plantur  
75Amy Roberts (GBr) Wiggle High5  
76Ida Erngren (Swe) Swedish National Team  
77Line Marie Gulliksen (Nor) Norway National Team0:04:26 
78Emmy Thelberg (Swe) Swedish National Team0:04:43 
79Doris Schweizer (Swi) Cylance Pro Cycling  
80Francesca Pattaro (Ita) Bepink  
81Martina Alzini (Ita) Alé Cipollini0:06:58 
82Silvia Valsecchi (Ita) Bepink  
83Nicole Hanselmann (Swi) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team  
84Mieke Kroeger (Ger) Canyon-SRAM  
85Thea Thorsen (Nor) Hitec Products0:08:20 
86Julie Solvang (Nor) Norway National Team  
87Minna-Maria Kangas (Fin) Finnish National Team0:14:57 
88Tone Hatteland Lima (Nor) Hitec Products  
89Turid Korshavn (Nor) Norway National Team0:15:47 
90Malin Berlin (Swe) Swedish National Team0:18:47 
DNFMoniek Tenniglo (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team  
DNFNina Kessler (Ned) Lensworld-Zannata  
DNFAlice Maria Arzuffi (Ita) Lensworld-Zannata  
DNFWinanda Spoor (Ned) Lensworld-Zannata  
DNFRachele Barbieri (Ita) Cylance Pro Cycling  
DNFAbigail Van Twisk (GBr) Drops Cycling Team  
DNFLouise Norman Hansen (Den) Team BMS Birn  
DNFTrine Schmidt (Den) Team BMS Birn  
DNFFrida Knutsson (Swe) Swedish National Team  
DNFAntonia Grondahl (Fin) Finnish National Team  
DNFRosa Törmänen (Fin) Finnish National Team  
DNFCecilia Aintila (Fin) Finnish National Team  
DNFSuvi Lavonen (Fin) Finnish National Team  
DNFMaija Syrjä (Fin) Finnish National Team  
DNFEmma Skjerstad (Nor) Norway National Team  
Back to top