Pinotti wins GP Stresa time trial

Italian Champ closes season with win over Raisoni and Basso

Marco Pinotti (Columbia-HTC) ended his year on a high note on Sunday when he powered to a convincing victory in the GP Citta di Stresa time trial. Pinotti completed the 33.8-kilometre course 1:05 ahead of Alessandro Raisoni (CarmioOro - A-Style) while Ivan Basso (Liquigas) finished third 1:29 behind Pinotti.

"It was a good win," Pinotti said. "The time trial course was simple. It went out and back alongside a lake, so I really gave it everything on the second half. That's where I made the difference.

"Taking a victory on home soil in Italy as a way to round off the year is a nice feeling. It's a good way to start my winter holidays!"

Pinotti recognised that finishing well over a minute ahead of his closest rival was "a big gap. But a lot of the guys did the Giro di Lombardia the day before, and maybe that affected them. I myself was worried after not performing so well there, but things went completely the other way for me today and I managed to win."

1Marco Pinotti (Ita) Columbia-HTC0:40:48 
2Alessandro Raisoni (Ita) CarmioOro - A-Style0:01:05 
3Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas0:01:29 
4Ivan Santaromita (Ita) Liquigas0:01:52 
5Dario Cataldo (Ita) Quick Step0:02:13 
6Simon Clarke (Aus) ISD0:02:36 
7Sylvester Szmyd (Pol) Liquigas0:02:39 
8Pavel Brutt (Rus) Katusha0:02:51 
9Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Lampre-NGC0:02:53 
10Francesco Ginanni (Ita) Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni-Androni Giocattoli0:03:13 
11Paolo Longo Borghini (Ita) Barloworld0:03:29 
12Cadel Evans (Aus) Silence-Lotto0:03:42 
13Paolo Bailetti (Ita) Fuji-Servetto0:03:59 
14Marco Cattaneo (Ita) LPR Brakes-Farnese Vini0:04:00 
15Valerio Agnoli (Ita) Liquigas0:04:26 
16Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale0:04:28 
17Kjell Carlström (Fin) Liquigas0:04:36 
18Santo Anzà (Ita) Amica Chips-Knauf0:04:41 
19Giairo Ermeti (Ita) LPR Brakes-Farnese Vini0:04:52 
20Giampaolo Cheula (Ita) Barloworld0:05:22 
21Leonardo Bertagnolli (Ita) Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni-Androni Giocattoli0:05:27 
22Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre-NGC0:07:02 
Back to top