Vos claims European Championship title

Van Den Brand, Wyman on podium

Marianne Vos (Netherlands) claimed the European Women’s Cyclo-cross Championship with a 37 second buffer over second place in Hoogstraten, Belgium. Vos took the title from countrywoman Daphny van den Brand who was second across the line, five seconds ahead of Great Britain’s Helen Wyman.

"My second European title," Vos told Cyclocross.info. "That feels good, even after all those Olympic and world titles, especially this early in the season. This was only my third race this winter, at Koppenberg I had some bad luck. After Oudenaarde I had a lot of question marks."

Czech Republic duo Katerina Nash and Pavla Havlikova rounded out the top five positions in the women’s race.

The Dutch riders took to the lead early, with van den Brand taking a small lead on the opening lap. Wyman bridged up to second-placed Vos on the road section at the completed of the first lap.

The trio then tried to force an advantage on the trailing riders, but were unable to draw a significant lead. Nash chased hard from behind, brining the leaders back into the fold.

Vos counterattacked after Nash’s effort, taking to the front of the race on her own. On the final lap Daphny had a small advantage over Wyman, who had managed to jump away from the other three chasers.

1Marianne Vos (Netherlands)0:38:40 
2Daphny van den Brand (Netherlands)0:00:37 
3Helen Wyman (Great Britain)0:00:42 
4Katerina Nash (Czech Republic)0:00:50 
5Pavla Havlikova (Czech Republic)0:00:55 
6Sanne van Paassen (Netherlands)0:01:08 
7Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (France)0:01:31 
8Caroline Mani (France)  
9Joyce Vanderbeken (Belgium)0:02:00 
10Sanne Cant (Belgium)0:02:04 
11Linda van Rijen (Netherlands)0:02:06 
12Katrin Leumann (Switzerland)0:02:07 
13Saskia Elemans (Netherlands)0:02:21 
14Lucie Chainel (France)0:02:31 
15Evelyn Staffler (Italy)0:02:50 
16Nadia Triquet (France)0:02:54 
17Jana Kyptova (Czech Republic)0:02:58 
18Arenda Grimberg (Netherlands)0:03:03 
19Pauline Ferrand-Prevot (France)  
20Gabriella Day (Great Britain)0:03:10 
21Sophie de Boer (Netherlands)0:03:18 
22Veronica Alessio (Italy)0:03:21 
23Elisabeth Brandau (Germany)0:03:34 
24Sabrina Schweizer (Germany)0:03:39 
25Elke Riedl (Austria)0:04:35 
26Nancy Bober (Belgium)0:05:03 
27Lise-Marie Henzelin (Switzerland)0:05:37 
28Martina Mikulaskova (Czech Republic)0:06:05 
29Zuzana Pirzkallova (Czech Republic)  
30Eszter Dosa (Belgium)  


Related Articles

Back to top