Keeneslide keeps dream of completing 100 percent of the race alive

Make or break day two takes a toll on many racers

Known by cyclists as "Satan's Velodrome", the Simpson Desert claimed a further 12 riders on day two - leaving only one out of 30 starters still eligible to complete 100% of the 580km from Purnie Bore to Birdsville.

Yesterday's event leader, Lynton Stretton from Emu Park in Queensland succumbed to the extreme conditions this morning. Riders battled head winds, 40-plus degree temperatures, and very soft sand on some flat sections which made it difficult for riders to finish the stage within the allocated time.

However, NSW rider, Alan Keeneslide saw off the challenge of the desert today to become the only rider still in contention to complete the entire course. Stretton is in second position (91%), with Jason Dreggs (89%) in third.

Day two is traditionally considered to be the make or break day for most riders. Riders are still feeling the effects of a draining first day - and find it difficult to front up with legs that are fresh enough to overcome the large sandhills that present on the morning of day two - not taking into account the headwinds and soft sand that prevailed today. The question now is can Keeneslide continue at the required level, or will he too fall to the conditions the desert will throw up over the next few days?


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Alan Keeneleside (Aus)100  % Completed
2Lynton Stretton (Aus)91 
3Jason Dreggs (Aus)89 
4Andrew Jamieson (NZl)86 
5Ken Schack-Evans (Aus)83 
6Michael Dalton (Aus)82 
7Jeff Rooney (Aus)82 
8Kane Chandler (Aus)80 
9Kerry Richards (Aus)76 
10Ben Turner (Aus)74 
11Al Descantes (Aus)74 
12Rodney Edwards (Aus)73 
13Leon Colbert (Aus)72 
14Roman Petr (Svk)71 
15Katarina Cervikova (Svk)69 
16Billy Johnstone (Aus)66 
17Simon Holland (Aus)65 
18Mark McLaren (Aus)63 
19David Schutz (Aus)61 
20Ole Kelderman (Aus)57 
21Rick Neale (Aus)56 
22Aaron Branden (Aus)55 
23Freddy Moojen (Aus)52 
24John White (NZl)49 
25Elisha Houghton (Aus)47 
26Andrew Hellier (Aus)44 
27Andrew Armstrong-Taylor (Aus)39 
28Mike Brennan (Aus)36 
29Chris Bain (Aus)36 
30Wayne Chapman (Aus)22 
Back to top