McConneloug wins Cycle-Smart International weekend opener

Elliott and Van Gilder round out podium

Local favourite Mary McConneloug (Team Kenda/Seven/NoTubes) powered to her second victory of the season with a solo victory on Saturday in the 19th annual Cycle-Smart International. Canada's Natasha Elliott (Garneau/Club Chassure/Ogilvy) finished second, 21 seconds behind McConneloug, while Laura Van Gilder (C3 Athletes Serving Athletes) crossed the line in third, 37 seconds off the pace in the ninth round of the Verge New England Championship Cyclo-cross Series.

The Elite women's race split up quickly after the gun with McConneloug and Elliott breaking away from the field on the first lap. A chase group formed behind them with Verge series leader Maureen Bruno Roy (MM Racing p/b Seven Cycles), Van Gilder, Minuteman Road Club racers Andrea Smith and Anna Barensfeld as well as Sara Bresnick-Zocchi (’s Bicycles).

McConneloug and Elliott were able to stretch their advantage on the chase group and were matching each other move for move until Elliott bobbled in the sand. McConneloug, hearing of Elliott's bobble over the loudspeaker, threw down a huge attack and held Elliott at an arm's length for the rest of the race, eventually finishing with a 21-second advantage.

Behind them, Van Gilder proved to be too strong for the chase group and soloed in for third place ahead of Bruno Roy. Barensfeld outsprinted Smith for fourth.

The Elite women race in Northampton, Massachusetts once again on Sunday in the second day of the Cycle-Smart International, round 10 of the 14-race Verge New England Championship Cyclo-cross Series.

Full results
1Mary McConneloug (USA) Team Kenda/Seven/NoTubes0:35:43 
2Natasha Elliott (Can) Garneau Club Chaussure Ogilvy0:00:21 
3Laura Van Gilder (USA) C3 Athletes Serving Athletes0:00:37 
4Maureen Bruno Roy (USA) MM Racing p/b Seven Cycles0:01:08 
5Anna Barensfeld (USA) Minuteman Road Club0:01:44 
6Andrea Smith (USA) Minuteman Road Club  
7Anna Milkowski (USA)'s Garage/IF0:01:58 
8Sara Bresnick-Zocchi (USA)'s Bicycles0:02:05 
9Rebecca Wellons (USA) Team Plan C0:02:15 
10Ann D'Ambruoso (USA) Minuteman Cycling Club0:02:38 
11Sally Annis (USA) Hub Racing  
12Linnea Koons (USA) October Factory Racing0:03:20 
13Rebecca Blatt (USA) US Army/Central Wheel0:03:33 
14Karen Potter (USA) Zanconato0:03:34 
15Christina Tamilio (USA) Minuteman Road Club  
16Crystal Anthony (USA) Minuteman Road Club0:03:40 
17Anna McLoon (USA) Altarum Women's Cycling Team0:04:05 
18Arielle Filiberti (USA) Hot Tubes Development Cycling Team Inc.0:04:09 
19Karin Holmes (USA) Sunapee S&W0:04:16 
20Sarah Krzysiak (USA) Syracuse Bicycle/Spokepost.com0:04:52 
21Beth Mason (USA) Verge Sport - Test Pilot0:05:02 
22Natalia Gardiol (USA) Cambridge Bicycle0:05:03 
23Marilyn Ruseckas (USA) Seven Cycles0:05:13 
24Michelle Kersbergen (USA) Joe's Garage0:05:38 
25Carmen Labbe (Can) POLAR Canada0:05:52 
26Allison Snooks (USA) Minuteman Road Club0:06:16 
27Mary Lynn Hadix (USA) CVC/Subaru of New England0:07:53 
LappedCallie Gordon (USA)  
DNFAnna Young (USA) Pioneer Racing  
DNSEmily Curry (USA) Joe's Garage  
Back to top