Wout van Aert takes his first season win at X2O Trophy Herentals

Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) powered to his first victory of the 2020-2021 cyclo-cross season, powering away from a puncture-plagued world champion Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix) in a sloppy mud-fest in Herentals.

Van Aert overcame a last-lap crash to cruise to the win on his home course by 35 seconds over Van der Poel.

Michael Vanthourenhout (Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal) was best of the rest in third as his teammate, European champion Eli Iserbyt, did enough to hold onto the time-based classification lead.

With a heavy, hilly and technical new course in Herentals ahead, Van der Poel and Van Aert shot away from the gun and quickly established themselves at the head of the field, with Vanthourenhout the only rider able to stay close in the opening lap. Van der Poel's mountain bike racing experience showed as he handled the steep slippery descents and rutty straightaways with aplomb.

Van Aert, in contrast, went in for multiple bike changes in the first laps, trying to dial in the correct pressure and having to use precious energy to ride back to the Dutchman. By the end of the second lap, Van der Poel had a handful of seconds on Van Aert, with Vanthourenhout losing ground behind ahead of Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal teammates Eli Iserbyt and Laurens Sweeck, and Toon Aerts (Telenet Baloise).

Van der Poel built his lead on the third lap but disaster struck after the halfway point when the world champion's risk of running lower tyre pressures to help on the technical sections cost him - he punctured far from the pits and Van Aert was able to catch him and ride past, opening up a solid 30-second advantage by the end of lap four of six on his home course.

The battle for the time-based classification continued behind. Coming into the Herentals round, Iserbyt led by 1:20 over Lars van der Haar (Telenet Baloise) with Aerts down 2:33, and the European champion continued to fight to limit his losses, chasing with Aerts and Quinten Hermans (Tormans) as Van der Haar faded.

In the closing laps, Van Aert continued his strong ride to hold off Van der Poel, who simply could not close down the half-minute gap and with no dog in the general classification fight, he seemed to put it in cruise control and save energy for the bigger races ahead.

Pelted by a torrential downpour, Vanthourenhout powered into the final lap at 1:23, with Aerts leading Iserbyt at 2:10, with Hermans and Sweeck seven seconds behind.

By the finish, Van Aert had stretched his gap to 35 seconds on Van der Poel despite coming down in a steep downhill turn. Vanthourenhout was third at 1:32, with Aerts taking fourth over Iserbyt at 2:14 and 2:18, respectively.

Iserbyt extended his lead over Van der Haar in the series classification by 30 seconds.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Brief Results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Wout van Aert (Bel) Team Jumbo-Visma 0:58:13
2Mathieu van der Poel (Ned) Alpecin-Fenix 0:00:35
3Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal 0:01:32
4Toon Aerts (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions 0:02:14
5Eli Iserbyt (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal 0:02:18
6Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal 0:02:26
7Quinten Hermans (Bel) Tormans Cyclo Cross Team 0:02:38
8Lars van der Haar (Ned) Telenet Baloise Lions 0:02:48
9Corne van Kessel (Ned) Tormans Cyclo Cross Team 0:02:50
10Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Credishop-Fristads 0:03:25

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews