Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado wins X²0 Badkamers Trofee Krawatencross

European champion Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (Alpecin-Fenix) won the X²0 Badkamers Trofee Krawatencross ahead of world champion Lucinda Brand (Baloise Trek Lions), while Denise Betsema (Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal) finished third.

"It was an exciting race," Alvarado told Sporza. "I never really found the connection, but in the last lap Lucinda Brand came up. I expected that so I looked at her. And then it became a sprint. Our legs were full [sprint], but I could hold out the longest. "

Betsema took the early lead in the women's five-lap race with Sanne Cant (Iko-Crelan) close behind, followed by Brand, Alvarado, and Annemarie Worst (777).

Betsema and Cant reconnected at the front of the race, but a tumble from Cant and and a bike change from Betsema, allowed a chasing Alvarado to regain contact. Alvarado lost a few seconds to the two leaders in the sand section, and for a while Brand and Worst were racing in fourth and fifth positions. 

The five riders reshuffled on course but remained in contention for the race victory coming into the final lap. After a swift bike-change, Alvarado came out of the pits with a small lead, and while Betsema, Cant, and Brand caught back up, Worst was distanced.

Brand and Alvarado pushed through the final half of the last lap to distance Cant and Betsema, with the leading pair contesting the sprint. Brand started her sprint first, but Alvarado came around her at the line for the victory.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (Ned) Alpecin - Fenix 48:50:00
2Lucinda Brand (Ned) Baloise Trek Lions
3 Denise Betsema (Ned) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:00:13
4 Sanne Cant (Bel) Iko - Crelan 0:00:20
5Annemarie Worst (Ned) 777 0:00:32
6 Inge Van der Heijden (Ned) 777 0:01:44
7 Fem Van Empel (Ned) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:01:45
8 Manon Bakker (Ned) Credishop-Fristads 0:01:47
9Yara Kastelijn (Ned) Credishop-Fristads 0:01:50
10 Eva Lechner (Ita) Starcasino CX Team 0:02:08
11 Aniek Van Alphen (Ned) Credishop-Fristads 0:02:24
12Alicia Franck (Bel) Proximus - Alphamotorhomes - Doltcini CT 0:02:33
13Marthe Truyen (Bel) Baloise Trek Lions 0:02:45
14Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) Iko - Crelan 0:03:27
15Ellen Van Loy (Bel) Baloise Trek Lions 0:03:32
16Anna Kay (GBr) Starcasino CX Team 0:03:34
17Puck Pieterse (Ned) Alpecin - Fenix 0:03:56
18Kiona Crabbé (Bel) 0:04:22
19Suzanne Verhoeven (Bel) 0:05:00
20Susanne Meistrok (Ned) Proximus - Alphamotorhomes - Doltcini CT 0:05:05
21Alice Maria Arzuffi (Ita) 777 0:05:24
22 Lucia Gonzalez Blanco (Spa) Nesta - Skoda Alecar CX Team 0:05:44
23Rebecca Fahringer (USA) 0:05:56
24Lindy Van Anrooij (Ned) Starcasino CX Team 0:06:02
25Julie Brouwers (Bel) 0:07:51
26Tessa Zwaenepoel (Bel) Proximus - Alphamotorhomes - Doltcini CT 0:09:25
27Shana Maes (Bel) Tormans Cyclo Cross Team 0:09:48
28 Meg De Bruyne (Bel) 0:10:17
29Fauve Bastiaenssen (Bel) 1 lap
30Jinse Peeters (Bel) 1 lap
31 Siobhan Kelly (Can) 2 laps
32Laura Greenhalgh (GBr) 2 laps
DNFMarion Norbert Riberolle (Fra) Starcasino CX Team
DNF Loes Sels (Bel) Iko - Crelan

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Kirsten Frattini
Women's Editor

Kirsten Frattini is an honours graduate of Kinesiology and Health Science from York University in Toronto, Canada. She has been involved in cycling from the community and grassroots level to professional cycling's WorldTour. She has worked in both print and digital publishing, and started with Cyclingnews as a North American Correspondent in 2006. Moving into a Production Editor's role in 2014, she produces and publishes international race coverage for all men's and women's races including Spring Classics, Grand Tours, World Championships and Olympic Games, and writes and edits news and features. As the Women's Editor at Cyclingnews, Kirsten also coordinates and oversees the global coverage of races, news, features and podcasts about women's professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews