Santos Women's Tour Down Under 2020 - Preview

Amanda Spratt (Mitchelton-Scott)
Amanda Spratt (Mitchelton-Scott) (Image credit: Getty Images)

If there were ever an event on the brink of becoming WorldTour it's the Santos Women's Tour Down Under. Upgraded to the 2.Pro Series this year, the event is about to embark on its fifth edition held from January 16-19 in and around Adelaide, Australia.

Amanda Spratt, the country's newly crowned elite women's road race champion, will line up with her Mitchelton-Scott team and attempt a fourth consecutive overall victory. As someone who has raced every edition of the marquee stage race, Spratt is surprised that the event has not acquired a licence to be part of the Women's WorldTour, yet.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Kirsten Frattini
Deputy Editor

Kirsten Frattini is the Deputy Editor of Cyclingnews, overseeing the global racing content plan.

Kirsten has a background in Kinesiology and Health Science. She has been involved in cycling from the community and grassroots level to professional cycling's biggest races, reporting on the WorldTour, Spring Classics, Tours de France, World Championships and Olympic Games.

She began her sports journalism career with Cyclingnews as a North American Correspondent in 2006. In 2018, Kirsten became Women's Editor – overseeing the content strategy, race coverage and growth of women's professional cycling – before becoming Deputy Editor in 2023.

Latest on Cyclingnews