Brand takes roller-coaster victory in Vlaamse Druivencross

It was a roller-coaster ride, but Lucinda Brand emerged from the mud in Overijse to claim victory in the 2018 Vlaamse Druivencross after a dramatic tussle with Nikki Brammeier. 

The Dutch champion fell several times in another muddy edition of the race, struggling particularly on a steep descent in the latter part of the course. 

In a see-saw race, the lead changed hands between Brand and Brammeier on numerous occasions, the former appearing stronger on the ascents but weaker on the descents.

Brand led the race into the penultimate lap but ceded the lead when she fell again on the late descent, leaving Brammeier to take the bell in pole position. However, on a steep uphill section late into the race she couldn't find the power and was forced to proceed on foot, allowing Brand through. 

There must have been plenty of nerves as she took on that vicious descent for the final time but this time she made no mistake and crossed the line alone to take victory. 

Brammeier finished second, while Eva Lechner took the final podium spot.

"It was a hard-fought battle," Brand told Belgian TV channel Sporza. "Every time I started to go downhill, it just went wrong, so maybe I have to ride a bit more open-mindedly. I'm grateful to the spectators who took care of me now and then." 


Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lucinda Brand (Ned) Team Sunweb0:47:20
2Nikki Brammeier (GBr) Mudiita0:00:11
3Eva Lechner (Ita) Creafin Tüv Sud0:01:34
4Alice Maria Arzuffi (Ita) Steylaerts - 7770:02:18
5Loes Sels (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:02:20
6Ffion James (GBr)0:02:21
7Harriet Harnden (GBr)0:02:47
8Marion Norbert Riberolle (Fra)0:03:53
9Shirin Van Anrooij (Ned)0:04:32
10Pauline Delhaye (Fra)0:05:01
11Karen Verhestraeten (Bel)0:05:26
12Maddie Wadsworth (GBr)0:07:01
13Geerte Hoeke (Ned) Creafin Tüv Sud0:07:02
14Mari-Liis Mõttus (Est)0:07:44
15Corey Coogan Cisek (USA)Row 14 - Cell 2
16Tess Van Loy (Bel)Row 15 - Cell 2
17Diana Steffenhagen (Ger)Row 16 - Cell 2
18Tine Rombouts (Bel)Row 17 - Cell 2
DNFEllen Van Loy (Bel) Telenet Fidea LionsRow 18 - Cell 2
DNFJoyce Vanderbeken (Bel)Row 19 - Cell 2
DNFElle Anderson (USA)Row 20 - Cell 2
DNFLindy Van Anrooij (Ned)Row 21 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews