Cody Kaiser conquers Bend

Cody Kaiser (California Giant Berry Farms) rode away from the Junior men's 17-18 field and had plenty of time to celebrate his national championship on the finishing straight. Kaiser crossed the line 47 seconds ahead of silver medalist Jeffrey Bahnson (Thule/Van Dessel) and 59 seconds in front of bronze medal winner Skyler Trujillo (Black Sheep).

"It was a good battle between Bahnson, Trujillo and myself," said Kaiser. "It was slick out there so it really came down to who made the least mistakes."

At the start of the race Trujillo grabbed the holeshot with Bahnson and Kaiser quickly grabbing his wheel. Bahnson, the 2008 15-16 national champion, put the pressure on early and built a five-second lead, but by the third lap Kaiser was able to pull away for the nearly 50-second victory.

That left Bahnson and Trujillo to battle it out for the silver going into the final turn where the Delaware native got the best of the Rocky Mountain rider. Chris Wallace (KCCX-Verge) grabbed fourth before John Burton (Joy Ride Bikes) won a sprint to the finish to grab the final podium spot.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Cody Kaiser (California Giant Berry Farms)0:40:59
2Jeffrey Bahnson (Thule/vandessel)0:00:47
3Skyler Trujillo (Black Sheep)0:00:59
4Chris Wallace (Kccx/ Verge)0:01:55
5John Burton (Joyride Bikes/ek Ekcessories)0:02:00
6Bjorn Fox (Clif Bar Development Cross Tea)Row 5 - Cell 2
7Andrew Bennett (Team Redline)0:02:05
8J Fette (Hagens Berman Cycling)0:02:12
9Kolby Preble (Hammer Velo)0:02:26
10Matthew Spinks (Team Plan C)0:03:04
11Bob Siegel (Above Category Racing)0:03:14
12Jesse Keough (Clnoonan)0:03:18
13Andrew Templeton (
14Gordon Cottle (Porcupine/specialized Racing)0:03:34
15William Rader (Bicycles Plus)0:03:51
16Gunnar Bergey (C3athletes Serving Athletes)0:04:17
17Benjamin Swedberg (Rad Racing Hb)0:04:28
18Ryan Packard (Quadcycles Junior Team)0:04:30
19Kosta Psaltis (Radracing Nw/hagans Berman Llc)0:04:34
20Evan Renwick0:04:38
21Nick Bell0:04:53
22Cole Cutright (Asc Racing/redline)0:05:03
23Ben Bertiger (Major Motion)0:05:20
24Charles Hanlon (Guys Racing)Row 23 - Cell 2
25Peter Morris0:05:22
26Kendal Johnson0:07:50
27Benjamin Monaghan (Byrds)0:08:50
Swipe to scroll horizontally
One lap down
#Rider Name (Country) Team
28David Yamamoto
29Cody Tapley (Davis Bike Club)
30Cole Sprague
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Two laps down
#Rider Name (Country) Team
31Ethan Welshon (Black Sheep Junior Cycling)
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Three laps down
#Rider Name (Country) Team
32Taylor Stewart (Bike Trip)
DNSJacob Arnold (Pioneer Racing)
DNSGabe Watson-Norris (Radracing Nw/hagans Berman Llc)
DNSDavid Kessler (Mojo Wheels)
DNSJeremiah Dyer (Hudz-subaru Jr-devo Team)
DNSCallum Read (Active Knowledge)
DNSDavid Rokisky (Team Cross)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1