Craig conquers short track race

Adam Craig (Rabobank-Giant) is back. After months of rehabilitation following ACL surgery, he won today's short track race in typical Adam Craig style. Craig waited until mid-race to launch his attack, and nobody could hold his wheel from thereon.

Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Subaru-Trek) finished second after making a late-race surge that nearly caught Craig. After winning Saturday's cross country race Sam Schultz (Subaru-Trek) finished third, with Derek Zandstra (3 Rox Racing) and Todd Wells (Specialized) rounding out the podium.

"I was surprised that I dropped everyone," said Craig. "I figured that Jeremy would get back to me, but whoever got to the bridge at the top first was going to win. I had maybe five metres at the bridge. I rested a bit on the last lap figuring that if he catches me I can always counter him."

Horgan-Kobelski had the large crowd screaming as he attempted to chase down Craig. "I was thinking maybe I had it because Adam was coming back quick but he had a little bit left in the tank," said Horgan-Kobelski. "I made a big move with two laps to go but I didn't have enough to get around him. I was a little cooked from closing that gap."

The short track racing today was easily the most exciting of the year. No less than eight different riders led laps. The attacking was viscous, and almost always took the form of out-of-the-saddle hammerfests up the mountain.

Ryan Woodall (Beick City Bicycles) took the hole shot off the start and led the first lap. Jonathan Page (Planet Bike), racing in the home state of his sponsor, attacked and took the lead while climbing the ski trail.  Page’s lead did not last, however, as Sid Taberlay (Sho-Air/Specialized) took over before the end of the second lap.

Schultz decided to stretch his legs on lap three, but Wells jumped him just before the bridge at the top of the course. On lap five Ryan Trebon (Kona) laid down one of the patented attacks he has used to win many cyclo-cross races, prompting Schultz, Carl Decker (Giant), and Wells to take up the chase.

By this time Taberlay, Max Plaxton (Sho-Air/Specialized), and Page had been dropped from the lead group. Decker made a move just after the start/finish area on lap seven and led until teammate Craig decided to give it a whirl.

Once Craig went off the front, only JHK seemed to have any chance of reeling him back in. Craig crossed the finish first, so surprised that he had won, that he forgot to do his iconic wheelie for the cheering crowd.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite men short track
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Adam Craig (Rabobank Giant)0:28:04
2Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Subaru-Trek)0:00:06
3Sam Schultz (Subaru-Trek)0:00:09
4Derek Zandstra (3 Rox Racing)0:00:13
5Todd Wells (Specialized)0:00:17
6Tristan Schouten (Mafia)0:00:20
7Carl Decker (Giant )0:00:22
8Ryan Trebon (Kona/FSA)0:01:03
9Sid Taberlay (Sho Air /Specialized)0:01:15
10Colin Cares (Kenda/Felt)0:01:21
11Ryan Woodall (Beick City Bicycles)0:01:32
12Kerry Werner (Shirks Racing)0:01:37
13Eric Batty (Trek Canada)0:01:43
14Jonathan Page (Planet Bike)0:01:52
15Tad Elliott (Sho Air)0:01:58
16Darrin Braun (Adventure 212/Specialized)0:02:02
17Brian Matter (Gear Grinder / Trek)0:02:04
18Stephen Ettinger (Mafia/Felt/PBR)0:02:06
19Andy Schultz (Kenda-Felt)0:02:08
20Jack Hinkens (Trek co-op)0:02:12
21Justin Lindine ( / Cannondale)0:02:16
22Robert Marion (American Classic/Kenda/Tomac)0:02:52
23Francis Morin (Team Canada)0:12:57
24Ethan Gilmour (Giant )0:12:58
25Russell Finsterwald (Subaru-Trek)0:12:59
26Travis Livermon (Champion System / Cannondale)0:13:57
27Mitchell Peterson (Giant )0:13:58
28Troy Wells (Team Clif Bar)0:13:59
29T J Woodruff (Trek Bicycles Boulder)0:14:57
30Eric Thompson (Maplelag/Paramo)0:14:58
31Gregory Carpenter (3D Racing)0:14:59
32Chris Peariso (Adventure 212 / Specialized)0:15:57
33Dylan Alesio (PureBulk/Notubes)0:15:58
34Nathan Guerra (Mr Tree / Powerbr)0:15:59
35Sebastien Cadieux-Duval (Team Canada)0:16:00
36Aaron Elwell (HighGear/Trek)0:16:01
37Simon Lalancette (devinci)0:16:57
38Joe Schneider (3D Racing / SpineOne Ortho)0:16:58
39Ronald Stawicki (Team Polska)0:16:59
40Blake Zumbrunnen (Revolution / Peak / Café Rio)0:17:00
41Scott Cole (Adventure 212/ Specialized)0:17:57
42Andrew Alesio (PureBulk/Notubes)0:17:58
43Dallas Fowler0:17:59
44John Burns (
45Alex Ryan (Champion Sytem Cannondale)0:18:01
46Richard Schoenfelder (GAS / Intrisic)0:18:57
47Mitchell Hoke (Tokyo Joes)0:18:58
DNFMax Plaxton (Sho Air /Specialized)Row 47 - Cell 2
DNFAdam Morka (Trek Canada)Row 48 - Cell 2
DNFKyle Spisak (Team Lake Effect / Train Ready)Row 49 - Cell 2
DNFTrevor Downing (Mafia Racing)Row 50 - Cell 2


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1