Lecomte wins three in a row at women's Leogang World Cup

Young French revelation Loana Lecomte (Massi) took her third straight cross-country World Cup (XCO) win on Sunday in Leogang, Austria, to solidify her lead in the overall standings, after also winning the Short Track (XCC) on Friday. Lecomte becomes the first women to win the opening three rounds of the World Cup season since the legendary Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesjaa 15 years earlier.

Jenny Rissveds (Sweden) finished second and Laura Stigger (Specialized) third.

Leogang has been a stop on the Downhill circuit for many years, but this is the first time the XCO World Cup has taken place here. Last Fall, it hosted the World Championships, so riders weren't completely unprepared, but the long, steep climbs in the Austrian Alps quickly tore apart the fields.

The course suited Lecomte perfectly as a climber, and she took the lead before the end of the start loop and the first of five laps, never to relinquish it. Incredibly, she has led every lap of every World Cup race this season. She steadily powered away from the rest of the field to a gap of over two minutes, before slowing slightly on the last lap.

The more interesting race was behind, as five riders battled for the remaining podium spots - world champion Pauline Ferrand Prévot (Absolute-Absalon-BMC), Olympic champion Jenny Rissveds (Sweden), Austrian champion Laura Stigger (Specialized), Swiss champion Jolanda Neff (Trek Factory) and Australian champion Rebecca McConnell (Primaflora Mondraker XSauce).

All five, at various times, led the chase and attacked, before having to back off and recover. Rissveds rode more conservatively and it paid off on the last lap when she rode away to take second with the fastest split of the day, just in front of local favourite Stigger. Neff took fourth, showing a return to form following her serious crash of over a year ago, ahead of Ferrand Prévot.

"I'm very happy to have this shape [fitness]," said Lecomte, "I just prepare the best I can and it is enough. It's a little strange, because I have now won four World Cups as an Elite, but I never won a [UCI] Junior series race or an Under-23 World Cup."

Rissveds, who struggled with depression after her Olympic win and left the sport for two years, has now started to show the form that won her the Olympic title in 2016, a little more than a month before she will defend that title at the Tokyo Olympic Games.

"I've been struggling with my self-confidence the last couple of weeks, so this was a very good race for me," Rissveds said. "I've been practicing a lot lately to commit fully; it's very scary to go all-in because it hurts and there is a chance of making mistakes. So I've been practicing that, and I did that even today in the race, and I'm very happy with how it turned out."

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Loana Lecomte (Fra) 1:17:03
2Jenny Rissveds (Swe) 0:01:48
3Laura Stigger (Aut) 0:01:50
4Jolanda Neff (Swi) 0:02:02
5Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) 0:02:30
6Evie Richards (GBr) 0:02:42
7Rebecca Mcconnell (Aus) 0:03:17
8Anne Terpstra (Ned) 0:03:24
9Rocio Del Alba Garcia Martinez (Spa) 0:03:32
10Eva Lechner (Ita) 0:04:14
11Sina Frei (Swi) 0:04:21
12Linda Indergand (Swi) 0:04:22
13Lena Gerault (Fra) 0:04:38
14Janika Lõiv (Est) 0:04:46
15Daniela Campuzano Chavez Peon (Mex) 0:05:10
16Haley Batten (USA) 0:05:12
17Maja Wloszczowska (Pol) 0:05:13
18Ronja Eibl (Ger) 0:05:17
19Yana Belomoina (Ukr) 0:05:25
20Anne Tauber (Ned) 0:05:42
21Alessandra Keller (Swi) 0:06:04
22Nicole Koller (Swi) 0:06:53
23Malene Degn (Den) 0:07:29
24Jitka Čábelická (Cze) 0:07:32
25Lotte Koopmans (Ned) 0:07:37
26Catharine Pendrel (Can) 0:07:41
27Sandra Walter (Can)
28Barbara Benkó (Hun) 0:08:01
29Steffi Häberlin (Swi) 0:08:15
30Katarzyna Solus-miskowicz (Pol) 0:08:20
31Hélène Clauzel (Fra) 0:08:44
32Emily Batty (Can) 0:08:59
33Lucie Urruty (Fra) 0:09:05
34Sophie Von Berswordt (Ned) 0:09:11
35Jennifer Jackson (Can) 0:09:38
36Karla Štěpánová (Cze) 0:09:57
37Haley Smith (Can) 0:10:07
38Kelsey Urban (USA) 0:10:14
39Martina Berta (Ita) 0:10:15
40Tanja Žakelj (Slo) 0:10:46
41Greta Seiwald (Ita) 0:10:58
42Elisabeth Osl (Aut) 0:11:24
43Kim Ames (Ger) 0:11:48
44Nina Benz (Ger) 0:14:41
45Candice Lill (RSA)
46Giorgia Marchet (Ita)
47Paula Gorycka (Pol)
48Tereza Tvarůžková (Cze)
49Theresia Schwenk (Ger)
50Chrystelle Baumann (Swi)
51Cherie Redecker (RSA)
52Janina Wüst (Swi)
53Anna Spielmann (Aut)
54Charline Fragnière (Swi)
55Seraina Leugger (Swi)
56Amelie Laquebe (Fra)
57Gabriela Wojtyla (Pol)
58Elisabeth Brandau (Ger)
59Cindy Montambault (Can)
60Katharina Kurz (Ger)
DNFChiara Teocchi (Ita)
DNFAndrea Waldis (Swi)
DNFRamona Forchini (Swi)
DNFMichelle Vorster (Nam)
DNFCeylin del Carmen Alvarado (Ned)
DNFGitha Michiels (Bel)
DNFMariske Strauss (RSA)
DNSLaurie Arseneault (Can)
DNSFabienne Schaus (Lux)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews