Cyclo-cross World Championships: Van der Poel beats Van Aert to elite men's title

Mathieu van der Poel recovered from a second lap crash before putting on a masterclass of bike riding to clinch a fourth elite men’s cyclo-cross world title. 

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu van der Poel (Netherlands) 0:58:57
2Wout van Aert (Belgium) 0:00:37
3Toon Aerts (Belgium) 0:01:24
4Thomas Pidcock (Great Britain) 0:01:37
5Laurens Sweeck (Belgium) 0:02:05
6Michael Vanthourenhout (Belgium) 0:02:14
7Eli Iserbyt (Belgium) 0:02:18
8Quinten Hermans (Belgium) 0:02:23
9Lars van der Haar (Netherlands) 0:02:41
10Joris Nieuwenhuis (Netherlands) 0:03:15
11Corne van Kessel (Netherlands) 0:04:09
12Gianni Vermeersch (Belgium) 0:04:21
13Kevin Kuhn (Switzerland) 0:04:29
14Daan Soete (Belgium) 0:04:57
15Yan Gras (France) 0:05:11
16Joshua Dubau (France) 0:05:28
17Tim Merlier (Belgium) 0:05:34
18Zdenek Stybar (Czech Republic) 0:05:42
19Timon Ruegg (Switzerland) 0:05:50
20Curtis White (United States Of America) 0:06:33
21David van der Poel (Netherlands)
22David Menut (France)
23Gioele Bertolini (Italy)
24Jakob Dorigoni (Italy)
25Jonas Lindberg (Denmark)
26Felipe Orts Lloret (Spain)
27Steve Chainel (France)
28Cristian Cominelli (Italy)
29Kevin Suarez Fernandez (Spain)
30Gilles Mottiez (Switzerland)
31Ismael Esteban Aguero (Spain)
32Sebastian Fini Carstensen (Denmark)
33Michael Boros (Czech Republic)
34Sascha Weber (Germany)
35Heinrich Haussler (Australia)
36Marek Konwa (Poland)
37Ondrej Glajza (Slovakia)
38Nicolas Samparisi (Italy)
39Antonio Folcarelli (Italy)
40Matej Ulik (Slovakia)
41Mariusz Michalek (Poland)
42Philipp Heigl (Austria)
43Jakub Kurty (Slovakia)
44Patryk Kostecki (Poland)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.