Skip to main content

Trentin wins Trofeo Matteotti

(Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

Matteo Trentin (Italy National Team) won the Trofeo Matteotti, triumphing as part of  an early five-man breakaway which stayed away to the finish. Andrey Amador (Movistar) and Daniel Savini (Bardiani-CSF) completed the podium.

Despite attacks from behind in the closing 40 kilometres, including a group consisting of Davide Formolo (Italy National Team), Odd Christian Eiking (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) and Simon Clarke (EF Education First), the leaders stayed away to contest the finish, where Trentin proved the fastest man.

Brief results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Matteo Trentin (Ita) Italy National Team
2Andrey Amador (Crc) Movistar
3Daniel Savini (Ita) Bardiani-CSF
4Fabien Doubey (Fra) Wanty-Groupe Gobert
5Matteo Fabbro (Ita) Italy National Team
Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Daniel Ostanek

Daniel Ostanek has been a staff writer at Cyclingnews since August 2019, having joined in 2017 as a freelance contributor and later part-time production editor. Before Cyclingnews, he was published in numerous publications around the cycling world, including Procycling, CyclingWeekly, CyclingTips, Cyclist, and Rouleur, among others. As well as reporting and writing news, Daniel runs the 'How to watch' content on Cyclingnews and takes on live race text coverage throughout the season.

Daniel has reported from the world's top races, including the Tour de France, and has interviewed a number of the sport's biggest stars, including Egan Bernal, Wout van Aert, Remco Evenepoel, Mark Cavendish, and Anna van der Breggen. Daniel rides a 2002 Landbouwkrediet Colnago C40 and his favourite races are Tro-Bro Léon, Strade Bianche, and the Vuelta a España.

Latest on Cyclingnews