Tour of Rwanda 2017

Latest News from the Race

The Tour of Rwanda celebrates its 20th edition in 2017 with the race continuing to grow in stature since gaining UCI status in 2009. The capital, Kigali, once again hosts the opening and closing stages of the race which ventures into the east, south, west and north of the country in just over 800 kilometres.

Rwandan Valens Ndayisenga returns to the race in 2017 as the defending champion. Ndayisenga also won the race in 2014 and is the only multiple winner of the race overall. The 24-year-old will line out with the Austrian Tirol Cycling Team and starts as one of the favourites for overall victory.

Tirol are one of six Continental teams invited to the Tour of Rwanda alongside Dimension Data for Qhubeka, Team Illuminate, Bike Aid, Dukla Banska Bystrica and Interpro Cycling Academy. The other teams for the Tour of Rwanda include three Rwandan squads, five national African teams, and three international club teams.

Cyclingnews will be attending the Tour of Rwanda in 2017, providing race reports and photos, and exclusive news and features across the prologue and eight stages. The Tour of Rwanda takes place 12-19 November. 

Top News on the Race

Related Features