Dennis solos to win Ineos eRace Classic

TAVIRA PORTUGAL FEBRUARY 21 Start Rohan Dennis of Australia and Team INEOS Faro Village during the 46th Volta ao Algarve 2020 Stage 3 a 2019Km stage from Faro to Tavira VAlgarve2020 on February 21 2020 in Tavira Portugal Photo by Tim de WaeleGetty Images
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Rohan Dennis came out on top at the Team Ineos eRace Classic, continuing his virtual race domination during the COVID-19 lockdown. The Australian had a tougher time of it than he did at the Alpe du Zwift and Digital Swiss 5 though, just about managing to hold off a chase group on the final lap of the race.

British champion Ben Swift, Dennis' teammate in one of the six Ineos mini-teams, sprinted to second place at 3.39 seconds, while Dylan Van Baarle rounded out the podium, 4.36 seconds down.

The Team Ineos eRace Classic was held on four laps on much of the Yorkshire Worlds course in Harrogate, with two climbs on the circuit and 43.4km of racing to tackle.

The first lap saw a big move go away as the double world time trial champion Dennis powered away from the peloton of Ineos men. Fellow TT specialist Jonathan Castroviejo jumped onto the Australian's wheel, as Swift mounted a chase behind.

The Spaniard managed to stay in touch with Dennis, though Swift couldn't quite get across. The time trialing duo built up a solid lead on the virtual Harrogate course, taking a 1:30 advantage by the midway point.

"It's not easy. I was hurting from lap 2 but I was looking at the time gap and I thought Jonathan was playing a bit, so I opened it up. He wasn't, so I end up having to do the race solo which absolutely killed me towards the end," Dennis said after the race.

"I was hoping they wouldn't catch me, but with Swifty it was a one-two for us, Team 4, so even if he did catch me it was a win for us, so I was keeping an eye on it and pushing. If it was someone else, I probably would've found another gear, but I was completely wrecked at the end."

Despite the efforts of a cadre of other Ineos stars like Michał Kwiatkowski and Pavel Sivakov, the pair's gap only increased as they pushed big watts – over 5w/kg on the flat – and made it two minutes at the 27-minute mark.

Further back, a 12-man group formed as the pace upped, with Van Baarle, Sivakov, Kwiatkowski and Chris Froome among the notable names making the cut. They made headway into the big time gap, pulling it back to 1:40 as the penultimate lap started.

Froome, Sivakov and Eddie Dunbar made a move on the hill, with the Russian leading the charge as the gap fell to 1:20. Dennis, meanwhile, had left Castroviejo behind up front, putting 20 seconds into the Spaniard on the incline. Castroviejo quickly reined in his effort, dropping back to the chase group soon after losing contact.

Sivakov and Dunbar put in a massive 8w/kg on a short, steep incline with 15km to go, passing Castroviejo and leaving the chasers behind to get within 1:10 of Dennis. Then, inside the final 10km, Kwiatkowski, Van Baarle and Swift made it a five-man chase group, as Dennis' advantage fell to 45 seconds.

Inside the final five kilometres, the group had made it to within 20 seconds of Dennis. Van Baarle, Sivakov and Swift got a gap on the final climb of the race, 3km from the finish, but despite a slim lead, Dennis' victory was secure on the final flat run-in.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Brief Results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Rohan Dennis (Aus) Team Ineos 1:03:54
2Ben Swift (GBr) Team Ineos 0:00:03
3Dylan Van Baarle (Ned) Team Ineos 0:00:04
4Pavel Sivakov (Rus) Team Ineos 0:00:06
5Edward Dunbar (Irl) Team Ineos 0:00:12
6Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Ineos 0:00:13
7Carlos Rodriguez Cano (Spa) Team Ineos 0:00:25
8Christian Knees (Ger) Team Ineos 0:00:36
9Michal Golas (Pol) Team Ineos 0:00:38
10Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Ineos 0:00:39

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews