Fahlin claims championship

Columbia-Highroad's Emilia Fahlin took home the Swedish Time Trial Championship in the village of Götene. Held on a newly constructed highway which will not open for traffic until Friday, the riders were given the best possible conditions on the rather flat course.

Reigning champion Emma Johansson (Team Red Sun ProCycling) started last in a field of 32 riders. Emma has won the last two years but nothing proved to be certain in this race.

With number five on her back,  Fahlin set out on the course in a furious pace. The 21-year old from the city of Örebro has been a professional since she moved up from the juniors. Last year she won the road race in the Nationals after being in a break from the second kilometre. Today she proved to everyone that last year was not coincidence.

Fahlin won the race with a margin of nine seconds on former world road champion Susanne Ljungskog (Team Flexpoint). At the intermediate time half way through the race Ljungskog had the lead with nine seconds. Johansson never came close to winning. She finished third, 23 seconds down on the winner.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
1Emilia Fahlin (Swe) Örebrocyklisterna0:43:02
2Susanne Ljungskog (Swe) Team Skoda CK0:00:09
3Emma Johansson (Swe) Härnösands CK0:00:23
4Jennie Stenerhag (Swe) AlrikssonsCykel.se CK0:00:48
5Sara Mustonen (Swe) Team Cykelcity0:00:58
6Kajsa Karlsson (Swe) Team Cykelcity0:01:01
7Karin Aune (Swe) Örebrocyklisterna0:01:11
8Eva Nyström (Swe) Fredrikshofs IF CK0:01:30
9Marie Lindberg (Swe) AlrikssonsCykel.se CK0:01:59
10Malin Rydlund (Swe) Hässleholms CK0:02:25
11Catrine Josefsson (Swe) AlrikssonsCykel.se CK0:02:36
12Monica Holler (Swe) CK Hymer0:02:54
13Camilla Niklasson (Swe) Klubben Cyklisten0:02:58
14Avalo Lyngbaek (Swe) CK Hymer0:02:59
15Carolin Gustafsson (Swe) Svanesunds GIF0:03:43
16Madelene Olsson (Swe) Svanesunds GIF0:03:48
17Hanna Larsson (Swe) AlrikssonsCykel.se CK0:03:55
18Isabelle Söderberg (Swe) Upsala CK0:04:12
19Jenni Nilsson (Swe) Sigtuna Märsta Arlanda CK0:04:30
20Emma Mills (Swe) Team Sportia CK Karlskoga0:04:52
21Linda Eriksson (Swe) Skara CK0:04:53
22Malin Stövling (Swe) Borlänge CK0:05:17
23Annika Löfström (Swe) Sandvikens CK0:05:40
24Maria Ehrin (Swe) Svanesunds GIF0:05:53
25Charlotte Brems (Swe) Svanesunds GIF0:05:55
26Linnea Sjöblom (Swe) Upsala CK0:06:20
27Mirella Ehrin (Swe) Team Cykelcity0:06:37
28Johanna Nilsson (Swe) Örebrocyklisterna0:06:44
29Sara Olsson (Swe) Svanesunds GIF0:06:44
30Angelica Agerteg (Swe) Fredrikshofs IF CK0:06:47
31Martina Thomasson (Swe) Svanesunds GIF0:07:14
32Alexandra Korff (Swe) Örebrocyklisterna0:09:56
DNSElin Lundberg (Swe) ÖrebrocyklisternaRow 32 - Cell 2


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1