Harris takes fine win in Gavere

On the muddy slopes of Grenier castle in Gavere, Belgium it was British rider Nikki Harris (Young Telenet-Fidea) who grabbed a fine win in the Hansgrohe Superprestige cyclo-cross event. A mud-clad Sanne van Paassen (Rabobank-Giant Offroad Team) and Sanne Cant (Veldritacademie Enertherm-BKCP) came in second and third, holding off Sophie de Boer (Telenet-Fidea) for the podium in Asper-Gavere.

“It was very motivating knowing there was a chance to win. It’s nice to win by a bit of a margin. I enjoy riding here. The course has a bit of everything in it,” a mud-covered Harris said after her win in Gavere. “There are a lot of different winners these days. Maybe that will change once Marianne Vos returns to competition next weekend. I need to get as much wins as I can before she returns,” Harris continued, referring to last year’s endless winning streak of Vos. The latter is expected to return to cyclo-cross competition in Gieten, next Sunday.

Rain showers during the night and the morning of the race turned the park around the Grenier castle into an extremely muddy course for the women. Harris didn’t mind, finding a course that suited her technical abilities to the maximum. At first Van Paassen and Cant were riding in the lead group with Harris but during the second lap she gapped her rivals. Van Paassen was gapped on the extremely technical descent.

“I was quite surprised I was getting a gap on Sanne,” Harris said. “This is no course for me,” Van Paassen told Cyclingnews. “I could not come back on Harris. I wasn’t able to develop my power on the course.”

With one lap to go Harris had a comfortable lead of more than half a minute on the three chasers: Van Paassen, Cant and De Boer.

“Once we were riding with the three of us behind Harris I realized we were not going to catch her back,” Van Paassen said. Meanwhile Harris was about to complete a long solo effort in Gavere. She didn’t mind riding alone. “Being alone in front it’s easier to ride if you have a clear line ahead of you,” Harris said.

In the battle for second place, it was De Boer who fell back first despite looking good on the climb back up to the castle at the end of the penultimate lap. “Maybe I overdid it there,” De Boer admitted to Cyclingnews. “I felt good but I didn’t have energy left for the last lap. I’m already satisfied to be in the mix for the podium. Actually, it was super here. This is one of the nicest courses of the season and I already look forward to next year.”

Van Paassen and Cant seemed destined for a sprint to decide who would finish runner-up behind Harris. Eventually Van Paassen managed to get a small gap on Cant just before the final stretches of the course.

“Cant is pretty fast so I figured I need to get away before the sprint,” Van Paassen said. Third place wasn’t a disappointment for the Belgian champion. “Two weeks ago I was ill and this week I trained a lot so it’s not a surprise to see I wasn’t great,” Cant said, clearly focusing on the Belgian round of the World Cup in Koksijde, next Saturday.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Nikki Harris (GBr) Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:10:29
2Sanne van Paassen (Ned) Rabobank Women Team0:00:18
3Sanne Cant (Bel) Veldritacademie Enertherm - BKCP0:00:27
4Sophie de Boer (Ned) Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:00:45
5Ellen Van Loy (Bel) Melbotech Prorace CT0:01:44
6Sabrina Stultiens (Ned)0:01:51
7Amy Dombroski (USA)0:02:07
8Pavla Havlikova (Cze) Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:02:16
9Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel)0:02:50
10Githa Michiels (Bel)0:03:36
11Margriet Kloppenburg (Den) BMC Concept Store0:04:08
12Nancy Bober (Bel) Style & Concept0:04:35
13Kim Van de Steene (Bel) Kon. VC T Meetjesland-KnesselareRow 12 - Cell 2
14Christine Vardaros (USA) Baboco0:05:17
15Evy Kuijpers (Ned)0:05:30
16Hilde Quintens (Bel) Melbotech Prorace CT0:05:50
17Lindy van Anrooij (Ned)0:06:10
18Ilona Meter (Ned)0:06:20
19Kristien Nelen (Bel) Houffalize Granville Team0:06:21
20Jolien Verschueren (Bel)0:06:28
21Femke Van den Driessche (Bel)0:07:00
22Suzie Godart (Lux) CCI Differdange0:07:18
23Lekuona Lierni (Spa)0:07:44
24Marjolein Wijkel (Ned)0:08:04
25Anja Geldhof (Bel)0:08:20
26Valerie Boonen (Bel) De Kastelse Durvers VZW0:09:07
27 (-1 lap)Maaike Lanssens (Bel)Row 26 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1