Irmiger wins Subaru Cup short track

Heather Irmiger (Subaru-Trek) raced to victory in the Subaru Cup short track in Mt. Morris, Wisconsin on Sunday afternoon. She finished ahead of two Crank Brothers teammates: Chloe Woodruff and the previous day's cross country winner Judy Freeman.

Amanda Sin (Scott-3Rox) capped off a good weekend with a fourth place while Rebecca Gross (Tough Girl Cycling) stepped onto the final podium spot in fifth.

Just as she did in the previous day's cross country, Sin took to the front at the start. Her efforts leading the first few laps established a gap for the lead group, including also Irmiger, Woodruff, Freeman and Gross.

"My goal was to maintain a position in the top two throughout to get a feel for how the course and race played out tactically," said Irmiger to Cyclingnews.

Teammates Freeman and Woodruff began to apply pressure by taking turns attacking, a joint effort which ended up separating them along with Irmiger from Sin and Gross.

"Without a teammate to work with, I tried to stay smart and always position myself to be ready for the next attack," said Irmiger. "With one lap to go, I attacked at the first half of the lap and continued to lay the hammer down up the longer, steep climb midway through. I was able to get a gap on the other two girls and hold on through the finish."

Irmiger took the win after a crash on Saturday in the cross country race. "The muscles in my neck and right side were super sore, but it didn't affect how I felt on my bike for Sunday," she said.

Freeman summed up what many of the racers were thinking. "It was a fun weekend. The WORS series brings in really good crowds, the weather was good for racing and the course was a lot of fun."

"I was stoked my teammate Chloe Woodruff was also on the podium this weekend. We were first and fifth in the cross country, then Chloe and I got second and third (respectively) in the short track. The Race Club had a good weekend."

Irmiger will head next to the mountain bike Worlds in Austria in mid-September. She said, "I'm looking forward to the world championships - some of my best performances of my career have been in the last month or two of the season, and I feel ready to perform well for this last race. I'm currently registered for the eliminator event but am waiting to get a better feel for the format and course, once I arrive, to decide if I'll participate."

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Heather Irmiger (Subaru-Trek)0:24:54
2Chloe Woodruff (Crankbrothers Race Club)0:00:10
3Judy Freeman (Crank Brothers Racing)0:00:13
4Amanda Sin (Scott 3Rox Racing)0:00:43
5Rebecca Gross (Tough Girl Cycling)0:00:59
6Haley Smith (Norco Evolution)0:01:09
7Andreanne Pichette (Equipe Du Quebec/ Opus/ OGC)0:01:11
8Cayley Brooks (Trek Canada)0:02:00
9Nina Baum (Stan's Notubes Elite Women)0:02:11
10Krista Park (Cannondale No Tubes)0:02:20
11Valerie Meunier (Equipe Du Quebec/ Devinci)0:02:33
12Laurence Harvey (Equipe Du Quebec/ Scott Pure)0:03:33
-1lapKaila Hart (Stan's Notubes Elite Women)Row 12 - Cell 2
-2lapsLisa Krayer (Adventure 212/Specialized)Row 13 - Cell 2
DNSMonique Mata (Sho-Air)Row 14 - Cell 2
DNSSage Wilderman (Kenda/Felt)Row 15 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Junior women 15-18
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Shayna Powless (BMC MTB Devo Team)0:17:11
2Rachel Pageau (Equipe Du Quebec/ Devinci)0:00:13
3Corrie Osborne (Team Extreme)0:00:48
4Frederique Larose (Equipe Du Quebec/ Opus/ OGC)0:01:05
5Rachael Jensen (Racc P/B Geargrinder)0:02:09
-1lapMoriah Griesbach (Point Pursuit)Row 5 - Cell 2
-2lapsEmily Shull (Expo)Row 6 - Cell 2
DNSFrederique Trudel (Equipe Du Quebec / Specialized)Row 7 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Cat. 1 Women 19-34
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Anna Ganju (Polska)0:17:19
2Leia Schneeberger (Magnus)0:01:09
3Sarah Agena-Wright (Twin 6)0:01:58
-2lapsSarah Lukas (Trek Colorado)Row 3 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Cat. 1 Women 35+
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Corey Coogan Cisek (Maplelag/Hollywood Cycles)0:17:26
2Michelle Peariso (Adventure212/Specialized)0:00:19
3Denise Coppock (Titletown Flyers)0:00:36
4April Dombrowski (Team Pedal Moraine)0:01:29


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Sue George is an editor at Cyclingnews.  She coordinates all of the site's mountain bike race coverage and assists with the road, 'cross and track coverage.

Latest on Cyclingnews