Skip to main content

Ryan takes out Sid Patterson GP

The Sid Patterson GP/Melbourne Madison attracted some big names in international cycling, with the race the first of a track racing double header in Melbourne, Australia.

Riders came from afar to take part in the event, with New Zealand’s Hayden Godfrey returning from injury to race, while German duo Leif Lampater and Christian Grassman returned to compete on Australian shores.

New Zealand’s Mark Ryan won the first of the night’s main events, taking out the Sid Patterson Grand Prix title. Ryan won the event from fellow scratch rider Lampater while Australia’s Stuart Vaughan took third place from 145 metres.

It was again a battle between Ryan and Lampater, plus their respective teammates, in the Melbourne Madison. Lampater and Grassman took the race win with 35 points to the 28 of Ryan and partner Tom Scully. Another all-Kiwi pairing in Godfrey and Shane Archbold took third place, however the duo was a lap down with 18 points.

Many of the riders taking part in the Melbourne Madison will return on Saturday evening to DISC for the Revolution 6 track event.

MU17 Team Sprint
1Front Straight0:00:49
2Back Straight0:00:02

Next Generation 20 Lap Motorpace
1Stuart Vaughan (HAW)0:06:37
2Brett Rollinson (WGL)
3Cameron Shaw (CLC)

Ray's Preston 20 Lap Scratch
1Nathan Corrigan-Martella (CAR)0:05:59
2Casey Munro (BWK)
3Tom Leaper (BBN)
4Clint McDonell (CAR)
5Oliver Le Grice (CAR)
6Mark Flood (BGO)
7Mitchell Bullen (NSW)
8Jarrod Moroni (BGO)

Shimano Aces Elimination
1Leif Lampater (GER)0:05:59
2Tom Scully (NZL)
3Shane Archbold (NZL)
4Christian Grassman (GER)
5Mark Ryan (NZL)
6Myron Simpson (NZL)

Beasley Cycles 10 Lap Scratch
1Fatehah Mustapha (MAL)0:03:16
2Ting-wing Huang (TPE)
3Apryl Eppinger (CAR)

Modern Security 10 Lap Motorpace
1Evan Hull (CAR)0:03:12
2Jacob Schmid (CAR)
3Jack Cummings (CAR)
4Thomas Hamilton (CAR)

Locker Group 20 Lap Scratch
1Stuart Vaughan (HAW)0:06:26
2Callum Fryer (CAR)
3Jamie Goddard (BBN)
4Cameron Woolcock (HAW)
5Alex Santagada (BBN)
6Brett Rollinson (WGL)

Abalone King Keirin Heat 1
1Hafiz Sufian (MAL)0:00:11
2Azizal Awang (MAS)
3Shane Weekes (BAR)

Abalone King Keirin Heat 2
1Rizal Tisin (MAS)0:00:11
2Aaron Cooper (CAR)
3Po Hung Wu (TPE)

Abalone King Keirin Heat 3
1Hariff Saleh (MAS)0:00:11
2Nathan Corrigan-Martella (CAR)
3Mitchell Bullen (NSW)

Rays Preston 1500m Handicap
1Ting-wing Huang (TPE) 50m0:01:48
2Fatehah Mustapha (MAL) scr
3Thomay Michaltsis (NOR) 110m
4Carly McCoombe (BGO) 40m

Next Generation 20 Lap Motorpace
1Syamil Bahram (MAL)0:05:49
2Aaron Cooper (CAR)
3Edrus Yunos (MAL)
4Shane Weekes (BAR)

Abalone King Keirin Final
1Azizal Awang (MAS)0:00:11
2Hafiz Sufian (MAL)
3Hariff Saleh (MAS)
4Nathan Corrigan-Martella (CAR)

Beasley Cycles Women's Keirin
1Fatehah Mustapha (MAL)0:00:12
2Apryl Eppinger (CAR)
3Laine Hammond (NOR)
4Megan Marsh (HAW)

Sid Patterson Grand Prix
1Mark Ryan (NZL) scr0:02:06
2Leif Lampater (GER) scr
3Stuart Vaughan (HAW) 145m
4Brett Rollinson (WGL) 145m
5Tom Leaper (BBN) 65m
6Callum Fryer (CAR) 145m
7Clint McDonell (CAR) 65m

Modern Security 10 Lap Sratch
1Alexander Morgan (BBN)0:03:02
2Hugo Tolliday (B-S)
3Zac Shaw (CLC)
4Michael Hayle (CAR)

Lance De Luca Memorial Scratch
1Hariff Saleh (MAS)0:05:44
2Hayden Godfrey (NZL)
3Leif Lampater (GER)
4Shane Archbold (NZL)

Melbourne Madison
1Lampater/Grasmann (GER)35pts
2Ryan/Scully (NZL)28
3Archbold/Godfrey (NZL)18
4Tansley/Edmonson (SA)14
5Simpson/Munro (NZL)4
6Witmitz/Moroni (VIC)2


Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews