Skip to main content

Specialized-lululemon dominate World Cup team time trial

Specialized-Lululemon stormed victory in Vargarda on a warm and slightly breezy evening. The squad finished the required four of their six starting riders in a tactical ride in which they maintained their momentum throughout the 42.5km test.

Orica-AIS presented by GreenEDGE were second fastest. They had led to the first time check in Herrljunga (16.4km), with World Time Trial Champion, Judith Arndt, leading the team fluidly through the technical twists and turns of the turning point. The team's three second advantage over Specialized-Lululemon became a ten second deficit at the point of return to Vargarda, with 31.9km covered. At the finish, Specialized-Lululemon were 29 seconds ahead.

Consistently in third place throughout the event were the team of World Cup series leader, Marianne Vos – Rabobank Women. They were never in contention for the victory, but taking the final place on the podium was important for both their morale and for Vos' retention of the overall World Cup competition lead.

Team owner, Kristy Scrymgeour, Specialized-Lululemon was in Sweden to see the team race. She was obviously delighted afterwards, "It was a very exciting win today, it was so nerve racking in the car, it was such a close race between us and Orica-AIS. They really put it to us in the first third of the race. We had to bring it home".

Marianne Vos (Rabo Women), fresh from her Olympic victory was very happy to be racing in Sweden and to have retained the overall World Cup leaders jersey, "Well, we can be pretty happy with that result I think. Third place is good, Specialized-Lululemon and Orica-AIS are strong teams. We tried to get as close as possible, for us the third place is the best we could do," said a smiling Vos, " I am very happy for the World Cup. I had time after the Olympics but no recovery time, just celebration time."

Marianne Vos will wear the World Cup leader jersey on Sunday in Vargarda in the road race. The 132 kilometre course covers 12 laps of a circuit which the riders will recognise, it formed part of the team time trial course too. Her total of 225 points gives her an advantage over Judith Arndt (Orica-AIS) (169 points) which is 56 points better and Evelyn Stevens is in third place on 110 points.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Team Specialized - Lululemon0:52:58.9
Evelyn Stevens (USA)
Ina Teutenberg (Ger)
Trixi Worrack (Ger)
Amber Neben (USA)
Eleonora Van Dijk (Ned)
Charlotte Becker (Ger)
2Orica - AIS0:53:27.3
Judith Arndt (Ger)
Linda Melanie Villumsen (NZl)
Shara Gillow (Aus)
Claudia Häusler (Ger)
Loes Gunnewijk (Ned)
Alexis Rhodes (Aus)
3Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team0:54:48.4
Marianne Vos (Ned)
Tatiana Antoshina (Rus)
Iris Slappendel (Ned)
Thalita De Jong (Ned)
Liesbet De Vocht (Bel)
Roxane Knetemann (Ned)
4AA Drink - Cycling Team0:55:43.5
Emma Pooley (GBr)
Sharon Laws (GBr)
Shelley Olds (USA)
Kirsten Wild (Ned)
Lucinda Brand (Ned)
Jessie Daams (Bel)
Irina Molicheva (Rus)
Hanka Kupfernagl (Ger)
Romy Kasper (Ger)
Alina Bondarenko (Rus)
Natalia Boyarskaya (Rus)
6Dolmans - Boels Cyclingteam0:58:09.9
Laura Van Der Kamp (Ned)
Anouska Koster (Ned)
Mascha Pijnenborg (Ned)
Emma Trott (GBr)
Nina Kessler (Ned)
Janneke Ensing (Ned)
7Skil 1t4i0:59:01.0
Kelly Markus (Ned)
Amy Pieters (Ned)
Monique Van De Ree (Ned)
Esra Tromp (Ned)
Janneke Kanis (Ned)
8Team Ibis Cycles0:59:03.4
Natalie Van Gogh (Ned)
Eileen Roe (GBr)
Julie Leth (Den)
Esther Olthuis (Ned)
Aafke Eshuis (Ned)
Martina Thomasson (Swe)
9Hitec Products - Mistral Home Cycling Team0:59:10.3
Emilie Moberg (Nor)
Lise Nöstvold (Nor)
Thea Thorsen (Nor)
Marie Voreland (Nor)
Cecilie S Johansen (Nor)
Tone Hatteland Lima (Nor)
Mette Fugl Rasmussen (Den)
Catrine Grage (Den)
Fie Degn Larsen (Den)
Nina Schultz Nielsen (Den)
Britt Lauenborg (Den)
11Alriksson Go:Green0:00:03.6
Jessica Kihlbom (Swe)
Hanna Nilsson (Swe)
Malin Rydlund (Swe)
Beata Sandström (Swe)
Cecilie Gotaas Johnsen (Nor)
Tina Andreassen (Nor)
Thrude Natholmen (Nor)
Anne-Katrine Meland (Nor)
Camilla Indseth Sögjerd (Nor)
Anny Hauglid (Nor)
Lotta Lepistö (Fin)
Sari Saarelainen (Fin)
Anna Lindström (Fin)
Jutta Nieminen (Fin)
Maija Rossi (Fin)
Pia Pensaari (Fin)


Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews