Skip to main content

McConnell and Hanlen crowned Oceania cross country champions

2012 London Olympians Dan McConnell of Australia and Karen Hanlen of New Zealand were crowned the 2013 Oceania cross country champions in Glenorchy, Tasmania on Saturday.


McConnell successfully defended his title in the elite men's category, beating challengers Sid Taberlay (Australia) and Luke Fetch (Australia) to the line.

"I have won this a few times," McConnell said of his third Oceania title. "It's a very good race to set up the season with a lot of UCI points on offer, it's really going to help me for the rest of the season in Europe," the Trek Factory rider said.

Tasmanian expat Taberlay, led the field for the first two laps, riding in a lead group of five including three under 23 competitors.

The inclusion of the under 23 riders Anton Cooper (New Zealand), Jack Haig (Australia) and Dirk Peters (New Zealand) to the lead group ensured a fast and furious pace, eventually getting the better of Taberlay who dropped back with three laps remaining.

McConnell, however, held the wheel of the under 19 junior world champion Cooper and Haig before the pair broke away to complete their final lap in what was clocked as the fastest lap time of the day.

That left the Victorian to ride tempo to the finish line one lap later to claim the Oceania title, over two and a half minutes ahead of Taberlay.

"There was a fair battle with the under 23 guys and there weren't too many elite men here today. The younger guys had one less lap so the pace was a lot faster than the elite guys.

"I just tried to stay out of their way and they set a good pace for me so I was able to use them to get a bit of gap on the rest of the elite field," McConnell said.


In the elite women's race, Hanlen made up for a shaky start, racing from fifth position to first during the five-lap race.

"I had a really slow start," Hanlen said. "but I then managed to come back nice and strong on the third lap and kept coming back for the finish. I was really wrapped to get a win for an Oceania championship."

The mother of two took out the race ahead of Australia's Rowena Fry (Australia) and Jenni King (Australia).

Fry led the race from the gun with Hanlen hot on her heels, however after the first lap was completed, the New Zealander had slipped well down the field.

Hanlen spent the next two laps making up ground, catching Fry by the bell lap and consolidating her winning position to take a comfortable 45-second win.

"I have been having this happen in my national series and I know once I get through the second lap I kick in and seem to just get stronger and stronger," said Hanlen.


In the under 23 racing, Rebecca Henderson (Australia) claimed the Oceania Championship title, the 21-year-old testing herself against the elite women, finishing a lap early with a sizable lead on the entire field.

In the men's race, Cooper made a decisive move mid-way through the final lap with Haig holding on for second, Peters third.

The action continues at Tolosa Park, Glenorchy on Easter Sunday when the downhill Oceania Champions will be crowned in all categories including elite men and women.

Full Results

Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Daniel McConnell (Australia)1:29:07
2Sid Taberlay (Australia)0:02:40
3Luke Fetch (Australia)0:03:49
4Carl Jones (New Zealand)0:07:18
5Nick Morgan (Australia)0:10:33
6Ben Henderson (Australia)

Elite women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Karen Hanlen (New Zealand)1:30:34
2Rowena Fry (Australia)0:00:44
3Tory Thomas (Australia)0:00:46
4Jenni King (Australia)0:01:22
5Samara Sheppard (New Zealand)0:08:22
6Myra Moller (Cook Islands)0:10:27
7Edwina Hughes (Australia)0:18:26

U23 men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Anton Cooper (New Zealand)1:13:33
2Jack Haig (Australia)0:00:14
3Dirk Peters (New Zealand)0:02:05
4Michael Crosbie (Australia)0:04:08
5Ben Forbes (Australia)0:05:21
6Brad Hudson (New Zealand)0:07:20
7Samuel Shaw (New Zealand)0:08:20
8Alexander Meyland (Australia)0:08:52
9Tom Goddard (Australia)0:09:50
10Adrian Retief (New Zealand)0:11:11
11Ben Comfort (Australia)0:12:18
12Sebastian Jayne (Australia)0:15:57
13Josh Parkin (New Zealand)0:16:59
14Stephen Matthews (Australia)0:17:33
15Travis Parkley-Simpson (Australia)

U23 women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Rebecca Henderson (Australia)1:10:45

Junior men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Samuel Gaze (New Zealand)1:00:54
2Ben Bradley (Australia)0:00:16
3Ben Oliver (New Zealand)0:00:41
4Chris Hamilton (Australia)0:01:07
5Reece Tucknott (Australia)0:03:31
6Scott Bowden (Australia)0:03:42
7Brett Stokman (New Zealand)0:04:45
8Felix Smalley (Australia)0:04:58
9Tasman Nankervis (Australia)0:05:12
10Ethan Kelly (Australia)0:05:38
11Mitchell Greenway (Australia)0:06:54
12Craig Oliver (New Zealand)0:07:30
13Cameron Prosser (Australia)0:07:54
14Tristan Ward (Australia)0:14:40
15Josh Abbey (Australia)0:16:39
16Jack Gardner (Australia)0:22:26
17James Goodsell (Australia)

Junior women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Amber Johnston (New Zealand)0:55:33
2Harriet Beaven (New Zealand)0:00:46
3Samantha Hope (New Zealand)0:02:45
4Holly Harris (Australia)0:02:47
5Emily Parkes (Australia)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews