Gough wins in record time

Wes Gough kicked off the New Zealand Road Cycling Championships in Christchurch by taking the Elite men’s time trial title, betting on his second place last year.

Jason Christie (Mid-South Canterbury) won the men’s Under 23 title in a time of 49:41.56. Michael Vink (Canterbury) was second at 9 seconds, with Alex McGregor (Otago) third at a more distant 1:43.

Gough, a member of New Zealand's team pursuit squad, took advantage of favourable winds to scorch home in the 40km time trial in 48:50.48. This broke the record set by Gordon McCauley in winning on the same course in 50:10 last year.

Gough (Waipukurau) scored a telling result to beat fellow pursuit teammate Jesse Sergent (Feilding) and Melbourne-based Greg Henderson by 28 seconds and 1 min 07sec respectively.

"It was a really quick time and some fast conditions today. I was actually quite surprised myself with the time when I crossed the line," Gough said. "It's great to win after coming second last year.”

"The goal was definitely to win although there some strong riders today. At this time of year riders are at varying levels of fitness and you just never know. I was one of the early riders and it was a bit of a waiting game until the others came through. It was pleasing for me and a pleasing start to the year for my Subway team.”

"I haven't thought about the time trial going forward. My first priority will still be the team pursuit on the track for the London Olympics. But I would like to continue with some good TT results during the year."

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite Men Results
1Westley Gough0:48:50
2Jesse Sergent0:00:28
3Gregory Henderson0:01:07
4Jeremy Vennell0:01:15
5Peter Latham0:01:24
6Paul Odlin0:01:48
7Marc Ryan0:02:27
8Shem Rodger0:03:08
9Chris Nicholson0:03:14
10Samuel Horgan0:03:23
11Nicholas Lovegrove0:03:43
12Roman Van Uden0:03:54
13Andy Hagan0:04:11
14Michael Northey0:04:15
15Robin Reid0:04:21
16Justin KerrRow 15 - Cell 2
17Clinton Avery0:04:39
18Brock Roberts0:06:06
19Simon Croom0:06:21
20Mike Henton0:06:26
21Jonathan Gee0:06:36
22Matt Sillars0:06:49
23David Ayre0:07:37
24James Gibson0:07:48


Swipe to scroll horizontally
Under 23 Men Results
1Jason Christie0:49:41
2Michael Vink0:00:09
3Alex Mcgregor0:01:43
4Josh Atkins0:01:46
5Taylor Gunman0:02:16
6Ruaraidh Mcleod0:02:34
7Scott Mullaly0:02:40
8Darcy Ellerm-Norton0:02:45
9Cameron Karwowski0:03:22
10Andrew Van Der Heyden0:03:27
11Thomas Scully0:04:14
12Kieran Hambrook0:04:33
13Sean Joyce0:04:44
14Myron Simpson0:05:46
15Chad Adair0:05:57
16Mathew Wheatcroft0:06:52
17Scott Thomas0:08:09
DNSLouis CrosbyRow 17 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews