Skip to main content

Itzulia Basque Country 2021

Latest News from the Race

Image 1 of 6

Itzulia Basque Country

(Image credit: Getty Images)
Image 2 of 6

ONDARROA SPAIN APRIL 09 Arrival Josef Cerny of Czech Republic Mikkel Honor of Denmark and Team Deceuninck QuickStep Celebration during the 60th ItzuliaVuelta Ciclista Pais Vasco 2021 Stage 5 a 1602km stage from Hondarribia to Ondarroa Breakaway itzulia ehitzulia on April 09 2021 in Ondarroa Spain Photo by David RamosGetty Images

Deceuninck-QuickStep goes 1-2 on stage 5 with win by Mikkel Honoré and second place by Josef Cerny (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)
Image 3 of 6

Itzulia Basque Country

Itzulia Basque Country: Brandon McNulty (UAE Team Emirates) took the race lead on stage 4 (Image credit: Getty Images)
Image 4 of 6

BILBAO SPAIN APRIL 05 Primoz Roglic of Slovenia and Team Jumbo Visma during the 60th ItzuliaVuelta Ciclista Pais Vasco 2021 Stage 1 a 139km individual time trial from Bilbao to Bilbao itzulia ehitzulia ITT on April 05 2021 in Bilbao Spain Photo by David RamosGetty Images

Primož Roglič wins 2021 opening stage in 13.9km individual time trial in Bilboa (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)
Image 5 of 6


Stage 2 winner Alex Aranburu of Astana-Premier Tech (Image credit: Getty Images)
Image 6 of 6

Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) wins stage 3 of the 2021 Itzulia Basque Country

Tadej Pogačar of UAE Team Emirates climbs to stage 3 win just ahead of GC leader Primož Roglič (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

Itzulia Basque Country Dates: April 5, 2021 - April 10, 2021
Category: UCI WorldTour
Overall distance: 797.7km

Primoz Roglic wins Itzulia Basque Country

Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma) won the overall title at the Itzulia Basque Country on Saturday.

Roglič went on the attack to expose, crack and distance overnight leader Brandon McNulty (UAE Team Emirates) to secure overall victory during the final hilly stage 6 to Arrate.  

Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates) tried to pace his teammate McNulty on the steep Krabelin climb, but then abandoned the American to set off in pursuit of Roglic, with other riders sitting on his wheel all the way to the finish.  

David Gaudu (Groupama-FDJ) went on the attack with Roglič over the day's final climb, and then took the stage 6 victory, with Roglič happy to have won overall. 

Itzulia Basque Country - Final Results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1David Gaudu (Fra) Groupama-FDJ 3:05:43
2Primoz Roglic (Slo) Jumbo-Visma
3Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team 0:00:34
4Adam Yates (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers
5Tadej Pogacar (Slo) UAE Team Emirates
6Jonas Vingegaard (Den) Jumbo-Visma
7Pello Bilbao Lopez De Armentia (Spa) Bahrain Victorious 0:01:02
8Esteban Chaves Rubio (Col) Team BikeExchange 0:01:05
9Mikel Landa Meana (Spa) Bahrain Victorious
10Mauri Vansevenant (Bel) Deceuninck-QuickStep 0:01:53

Final general classification after stage 6
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Primoz Roglic (Slo) Jumbo-Visma 19:11:36
2Jonas Vingegaard (Den) Jumbo-Visma 0:00:52
3Tadej Pogacar (Slo) UAE Team Emirates 0:01:07
4Adam Yates (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers 0:01:26
5David Gaudu (Fra) Groupama-FDJ 0:01:27
6Pello Bilbao Lopez De Armentia (Spa) Bahrain Victorious 0:01:28
7Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team 0:01:33
8Mikel Landa Meana (Spa) Bahrain Victorious 0:02:17
9Esteban Chaves Rubio (Col) Team BikeExchange 0:02:38
10Ion Izagirre Insausti (Spa) Astana-Premier Tech 0:02:59

Itzulia Basque Country history

After being cancelled in 2020 because of the coronavirus pandemic, the 60th edition of Itzulia Basque Country will take place from Monday April 5 to Saturday April 10, 2020. 

Formerly known as the Tour of the Basque Country and Vuelta al Pais Vasco, the Itzulia continues to be decided on the steep, mountainous terrain of the Basque territory.

Climbs such as the Alto de Arrate, Alto de Aia and the Alto de Asensio have historically been where the race has been decided but for 2021, the course is a bit more open until the final stage, which ends atop the category 1 ascent of the Arrate.

Past winners include notable climbers like Alberto Contador, Nairo Quintana, Joaquim Rodriguez, Alejandro Valverde and Primoz Roglic. Ion Izagirre (Astana) took the last victory in the Itzulia Basque Country in the 2019 edition taking the overall win on the final stage and unseating Emanuel Buchmann.

Itzulia Basque Country 2021 Teams

  • Astana-Premier Tech
  • Bora-Hansgrohe
  • Team BikeExchange
  • UAE Team Emirates
  • Groupama-FDJ
  • Movistar Team
  • EF Education-Nippo
  • Trek-Segafredo
  • Deceuninck-QuickStep
  • Cofidis
  • Lotto Soudal
  • Ineos Grenadiers
  • Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux
  • Team DSM
  • Jumbo-Visma
  • AG2R Citroën Team
  • Israel Start-up Nation
  • Bahrain Victorious
  • Team Qhubeka Assos
  • Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
  • Burgos-BH
  • Total Direct Energie
  • Equipo Kern Pharma

Top News on the Race

Related Features