Pendleton and Burke winners on opening night

Victoria Pendleton and Steven Burke claimed the opening titles at the Great British Track Championships on Tuesday night in Manchester. Pendleton (Team Sky+ HD) claimed the women's 500m time trial ahead of Jess Varnish (Halesowen A & CC) and Rebecca James (Abergavenny Road Club). Burke (100% ME) rode to an impressive victory in the men's kilo ahead of Ed Clancy (Team Halfords Bikehut) and David Daniell (Cleveland Wheelers CC).

The women's 500m time trial ran to form with Pendleton edging out her younger rivals, Varnish and James, to take her seventh British title in the event. The Olympic gold medallist recorded a time of 34.262. A week out from the opening round of the International Cycling Union's (UCI) track World Cup, it was a satisfying result for the 29-year-old.

"I'm really pleased with today - this is the third or fourth best time I've ever done, and it's by far the fastest time I've put in at this stage in the year so I'm pleasantly surprised," said Pendleton after her victory. "Training for the World Cup starts today, so preparation is going ok! It's much better than I expected - I was expecting to do a mid to high 34. It's great to see Jess and Becky coming through and putting in good times tonight too - having these girls with me in training as they push me to train harder."

Steven Burke surprised himself with his win in the men's kilo. The 21-year-old had finished third in the 2008 British Championships, but this year was able edge out Halford's Ed Clancy by a tenth of a second. David Daniell finished in third, under a second behind the kilo champion.

"I really didn't expect a win tonight, I thought I'd come in third so I'm really shocked to win," said Burke afterwards. "I got everything out in the ride tonight - my preparation has gone really well and the work we've put in for the Team Pursuit has really helped me today."


Swipe to scroll horizontally
Women's 500m Time Trial
1Victoria Pendleton (Team Sky+ HD)0:00:34
2Jess Varnish (Halesowen A & CC)0:00:01
3Rebecca James (Abergavenny Road Club)0:00:02
4Helen Scott (Halesowen A & CC)0:00:02
5Charline Joiner (City of Edinburgh RC)0:00:03
6Alison Chisholm (Edinburgh RC)0:00:03
7Jenny Davis (City of Edinburgh RC)0:00:04
8Sarah Storey (VC St Raphael)0:00:04
9Emma Baird (BC PM)0:00:04
10Janet Birkmyre (XRT -
11Rachel Turner (VC St Raphael)0:00:05
12Cassie Gledhill (XRT -
13Cheryl Owens (GS Metro)0:00:08
14Louise Satherley (Yasumitsu Schlapp)0:00:08
15Ruth Middleton (East London Vélo)0:00:09
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Men's Kilo
1Steven Burke (100% ME)0:01:03
2Edward Clancy (Team Halfords Bikehut)0:00:00
3David Daniell (Cleveland Wheelers CC)0:00:01
4Andrew Tennant (Team Halfords Bikehut)0:00:02
5Andrew Fenn (100% ME)0:00:03
6Bruce Croall (City of Edinburgh RC)0:00:04
7Jody Cundy (
8Alex Dowsett (100% ME)0:00:04
9Ben Elliot (VC St Raphael)0:00:04
10Mark Christian (100% ME)0:00:05
11Richard Lambert (Cottingham Coureurs RT)0:00:09
12Thomas Powell (Newcastle RC)0:00:09
13Rowan Elliot (VC St Raphael)0:00:10
14Joseph Wood (BC PM)0:00:10
15Joseph Allen (BC PM)0:00:10
16B McCullough (Young City of Edinburgh)0:00:10
17Simon Warren (Norwood Paragon CC)0:00:10
18Terry Byrne (BC Paracycling Dev Prog)0:00:11
19Jon-Allen (Butterworth BC Paracycling Dev)0:00:12
20Oliver Lougheed (Manchester Whlrs Club)0:00:13
21James Viner (Twickenham CC)0:00:13
22Callum Watson (City of Edinburgh RC)0:00:14
23Neil Laing (Edinburgh RC)0:00:15


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews