Moody and Bourque win downhill

The Gravity East downhill race was run on Sunday on the "Eastern Hemlock" trail. While rain did fall Saturday night, conditions during the race were great, with just enough moisture to make for a fun track. High speed rocky descents, quick bermed turns, and tacky soil made for a race course that tested racers' resolve to let go of the brake levers and use their sprinting strength to rocket out of the turns.

Ben Moody (Rhino Bike/HMBP/POC/ARMOR) set the bar high, blazing the finishing line with a 2:40.16 ahead of second place Chris Higgerson (VonCooper/ by over four seconds. Mad March Racing's Shaums March, proving he still "has it" after all these years, came across the line in third place - what better advertising for your teaching methods is there?

In the elite women's division, Rhino Bike’'s Dawn Bourque pulled off the weekend sweep by winning the downhill and adding to her previous day's dual slalom victory with a 3:16.93. Karen Eagan (Sam Adams) and Stephanie Gubernat (Cutters Bike Shop/Vertical Earth) were second and third.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Benjamin Moody (Rhino Bike/HMBP/POC/ARMOR)0:02:40.16
2Chris Higgerson (VonCooper/
3Shaums March (MMR/Marin)0:00:06.59
4Tim Howland (Cannondale)0:00:07.26
5Luke Snyder (Factory VonCooper)0:00:07.84
6David Flynn (Paul Mitchell/Luming Health/Glaceau)0:00:09.58
7Ben Hulse (Sycamore Cycles)0:00:11.12
8Patrick Noonan (Dream Team)0:00:11.53
9Jeff Cayley (Fly Racing/661/Utopia)0:00:12.63
10Zach Faulkner (Drummer Racing)0:00:13.71
11Avery Buch (Dream Team/Allspeed/E13)0:00:13.90
12Pete Fougere (12 Cent Racing/Landry's/JFK Design)0:00:16.17
13Willem Cooper (VonCooper/Mongoose/NEMA)0:00:17.54
14James Patterson (Dream Team)0:00:18.06
15Dan Whitehead (Vertical Earth)0:00:18.07
16Connor Rowan0:00:19.37
17Erik Gosselin (Team Drop)0:00:19.70
18Andrew Bressem (Wachesett Brew Racing)0:00:30.12
19Paul McNeil (HMBP)0:00:52.67
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Dawn Bourque (Rhino Bike)0:03:16.93
2Karen Eagan (Sam Adams)0:00:02.18
3Stephanie Gubernat (Cutters Bike Shop/Vertical Earth/ Last Cha)0:00:03.61
4Alexis Wruble (Sam Adams)0:00:08.05
5Kate Parhiala (Wachusett Brewery)0:00:23.11
6Kristine Koch (Dad/661/Fluid/SDG/Spy)0:00:25.64
7Susan DelPino (Iride/Oakley/Loeka)0:00:30.26
8Vicki Koch (Nema/Spy/ODT/SockGuy/Husband)0:00:30.88
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Cat. 1 Men 19-29
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Corbett Tulip (Kringles)0:02:52.34
2Alex Moschitti (Morpheus Cycles)0:00:04.00
3Adam King (DG Racing)0:00:04.47
4Owen Tulip (Dream Team)0:00:04.99
5Beau Cormier (Flint Michigan Tropics)0:00:07.05
6Oliver Levick (Drummer Racing)0:00:07.50
7David Penn (Wachusett Brew Racing)0:00:10.46
8Geoff Ayr0:00:12.19
9Peter Mills (UNC Asheville)0:00:12.79
10Peter Scannell (Crankfire Racing)0:00:13.30
11Json Nixon (
12Jack Williams (Drummer Racing)0:00:15.94
13Michael Brown (Dream Team)0:00:16.69
14Stephen Solt (South Mountain Cycles/Last Chapter)0:00:17.43
15PJ Noto0:00:19.52
16Mike Stock (Ghostship Clothing)0:00:19.87
17Mike Gruhler (
18Will Marks (Harley Davidson)0:00:21.97
19Craig Zarzycki0:00:24.23
20Clay Patterson (Inspired Athletes)0:00:28.66
DNFAdam Plumley (X-Factor Jumps)Row 20 - Cell 2
DNFChris FlynnRow 21 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Cat. 1 Men 30-39
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Neil Snyder (VonCooper)0:02:48.84
2David Mee0:00:11.34
3David Bershefsky (Bullitt Racing)0:00:16.11
4Jason Baker (Me Myself and I Racing)0:00:22.63
5John Pentecost (
6Donnie Roberts (VonCooper/Mongoose/NEMA)0:00:26.47
7Jorge Gomes (Last Chapter)0:00:26.54
8Seth Salwa (Wachusett Brewing Co.)0:00:28.76
9Erik Johnson (Wachusett Brew Racing)0:00:34.86
10Brady Owens (
DNFLeif Erickson (RD Performance)Row 10 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Cat. 1 Men 40+
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Dennis LaClair (Wachusett Brewing Co.)0:03:03.87
2Stefan Daney (Inspired Athletes)0:00:12.67
3Doug Wilson (Drummer Racing)0:00:20.16
4Richard Rude, Sr. (Cycle Center Racing)0:00:31.07
5Reid Kiniry (Michelin)0:00:31.53
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Cat. 1 Junior men 18 & under
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Richard Rude, Jr. (Santa Cruz/Allride Academy)0:02:49.12
2Mike Gross (Team Drop)0:00:09.76
3Peter McNulty (Team Drop)0:00:11.37
4Jake Baxter (Voncooper/mongoose)0:00:21.67
5Logan Mulally (Specialized Team America)0:00:23.04
1Hunter Budd (Mongoose)0:03:35.47
6Sam Pensler (Inspired Athletes)0:03:52.62
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Cat. 2 Men 19-29
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1William Anderson0:02:58.22
2Sam Chipkin (Drummer Racing)0:00:11.27
3Tyler Martin0:00:13.78
4Ben Gidney0:00:13.84
5Chris Chmielewski (Wayfarer Bike)0:00:14.84
6Josh Rosenthal (Rosie Racing)0:00:15.28
7Chris Buckley0:00:18.49
8Dustin Foudray (VonCooper/Mongoose)0:00:22.22
9Michael McLennan0:00:25.19
10Steven Czaplicki (Knapps Cyclery)0:00:26.78
11Richard Patty (Wayfarer Bike)0:00:28.23
12Jayme Selinger0:00:41.31
1Brendan Silkey (Mongoose)0:03:51.45
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Cat. 2 Men 30-39
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Tim Simoneau (Red Jersey)0:02:56.92
2Jason Lalla (Next Step O and P)0:00:04.95
3Scott Lapanne0:00:12.56
4James Boyer (Bike Stop/Nema)0:00:21.45
5David Homan0:00:21.69
6Lane Boertmann (Beachwood Bikes)0:00:22.36
7Luke Wenschhof0:00:22.78
8Jason Washer (Last Chapter Clothing)0:00:26.78
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Cat. 2 Men 40+
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Frank Endreson (Team Town Cycle)0:03:32.94
2George Bodycoat0:00:19.56
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Cat. 2 Junior men 18 & under
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Damon Morin (Team Drop)0:02:51.99
2Nick Richer0:00:11.21
3Jason Evan0:00:12.14
4Max Syron (Sinister/United Freeride)0:00:18.11
5Matt Ducharme (Zlotnick Construction)0:00:18.23
6Dylan Conte (Team I- Ride)0:00:23.92
7Greg Zlotnick (Voncooper/mongoose)0:00:23.93
8Ray Syron (Sinister/United Freeride)0:00:30.34
9James Bannister (United Freeride)0:00:33.75
10Nicholas Battyani0:00:34.03
11Ben Bodycoat0:01:31.73
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Cat. 3 Men 19-29
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1David Johnson (Wheels n Waves)0:03:08.84
2Andrew Ochsner0:00:34.54
3Benjamin Sawyer (Beverly Cycles)0:01:07.00
4Alex Colby0:01:13.67
Row 4 - Cell 0 Michael MillerRow 4 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Cat. 3 Men 30-39
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Kyle Perkin0:03:34.27
2Todd Boucher0:01:23.03
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Cat. 3 Men 40+
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Doug Breslin (
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Cat. 3 Junior men 18 & under
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Andrew Kittredge (Mages)0:03:34.54
2Colin Bates0:00:04.16
3John Barreira0:00:09.54
4Richard Kahan (661)0:00:17.00
5Ian Bloomfield0:00:20.99
6Levi Whitaker0:00:28.29
7Pierce Taylor0:01:02.32
8Taylor Wright0:01:08.69
Row 8 - Cell 0 Shane AlexanderRow 8 - Cell 2
Row 9 - Cell 0 Peter HoganRow 9 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Cat. 2 Junior women 14 & under
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Taylor Allison0:04:07.63
2Maddie Crowley (Sinister/United Freeride)0:01:12.63
3Olivia Allison (MMR/Marin)0:03:16.02
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Cat. 2-3 Women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Rebecca Bagley (VonCooper/Mongoose/NEMA)0:04:04.75
2Cait Franciscovich0:00:02.87
3Jennifer Tammam0:00:28.21
4Meredith Mansfield0:00:43.25
5Jennifer Childress (Drummer Racing)0:00:43.76
6Olivia Harkness (Beverly Cycles)0:01:04.76

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews