Lizzie Deignan wins GP de Plouay

Lizzie Deignan (Trek-Segafredo) claimed a record third victory in the GP de Plouay when she beat her fellow Briton Lizzy Banks (Équipe Paule Ka) in a two-up sprint at the end of a rain-sodden race in Brittany.

Chiara Consonni (Valcar - Travel & Service) won the bunch sprint for third ahead of Marta Bastianelli (Alé BTC Ljubljana), a little over a minute down on Deignan and Banks.

Banks and Deignan had a winning gap on their pursuers by the time they hit the final climb of the Côte du Pont-Neuf. Deignan looked comfortable, leading most of the way up the ascent, and the former world champion then calmly manoeuvred Banks to the front to lead out the sprint.

How it happened

It was an early start for the Women’s WorldTour peloton, and though the 101.1 km race began in the dry, it soon started raining. Swiss Lara Krähemann (Cogeas Mettler Look) went on a solo escape on the initial 46.5 km loop, but when the race crossed the finish line for the first time to tackle four laps of the finishing circuit, she had been caught again.

Swiss champion Marlen Reusser (Équipe Paule Ka) kept a high pace in the peloton on the first of the three laps. At the start of the antepenultimate lap, Reusser attacked herself, but was quickly reeled in again.

A mass crash on the wet and narrow roads held up last year’s winner Anna van der Breggen (Boels-Dolmans), world champion Annemiek van Vleuten (Mitchelton-Scott), and newly-crowned Spanish champion Margarita Victoria García (Alé BTC Ljubljana), among others.

Soon after, Banks triggered the winning move when she attacked with 35km to go. She was quickly joined by Deignan and Jip van den Bos (Boels-Dolmans). However, the Dutchwoman crashed out of the break almost immediately when she misjudged a turn on the wet roads, leaving Deignan and Banks alone at the head of the race.

The two Britons combined smoothly, and they quickly established a lead of a minute over a group of ten chasers that had formed on the Côte du Lézot, 25 km from the finish.

With one lap of the 13.6-kilometer circuit remaining, Deignan and Banks still had 43 seconds in hand on the chase group, though their lead was briefly threatened by some fierce accelerations from Annemiek van Vleuten (Mitchelton-Scott).

It was a short-lived rally from the world champion, however, and when she dropped to the rear of the group, Deignan and Banks’ advantage rose again, with Elisa Longo Borghini (Trek-Segafredo) and Mikayla Harvey (Équipe Paule Ka) helping to police the chase group. Eventually, the chasers stopped their efforts to catch the front duo and were themselves joined by the peloton six kilometers from the line.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full results
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Elizabeth Deignan (GBr) Trek - Segafredo 2:43:40
2Elizabeth Banks (GBr) Equipe Paule Ka
3Chiara Consonni (Ita) Valcar - Travel & Service 0:01:13
4Marta Bastianelli (Ita) Ale BTC Ljubljana
5Elena Cecchini (Ita) Canyon – SRAM Racing
6Arianna Fidanza (Ita) Lotto Soudal Ladies
7Marta Lach (Pol) CCC - Liv
8Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Ita) Ceratizit - WNT Pro Cycling Team
9Alicia Gonzalez Blanco (Spa) Movistar Team Women
10Stine Borgli (Nor) FDJ Nouvelle - Aquitaine Futuroscope
11Leah Kirchmann (Can) Team Sunweb
12Liane Lippert (Ger) Team Sunweb
13Mikayla Harvey (NZl) Equipe Paule Ka
14Silvia Persico (Ita) Valcar - Travel & Service
15Aude Biannic (Fra) Movistar Team Women
16Eugénie Duval (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle - Aquitaine Futuroscope
17Amy Pieters (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam
18Alison Jackson (Can) Team Sunweb
19Emilia Fahlin (Swe) FDJ Nouvelle - Aquitaine Futuroscope
20Marta Cavalli (Ita) Valcar - Travel & Service
21Valerie Demey (Bel) CCC - Liv
22Demi Vollering (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg
23Lotte Kopecky (Bel) Lotto Soudal Ladies
24Eva Buurman (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam
25Ruth Winder (USA) Trek - Segafredo
26Noemie Abgrall (Fra) Charente - Maritime Women Cycling
27Floortje Mackaij (Ned) Team Sunweb
28Leah Thomas (USA) Equipe Paule Ka
29Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Trek - Segafredo
30Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (Den) FDJ Nouvelle - Aquitaine Futuroscope
31Sarah Roy (Aus) Mitchelton Scott
32Eugenia Bujak (Slo) Ale BTC Ljubljana
33Jesse Vandenbulcke (Bel) Lotto Soudal Ladies
34Anouska Koster (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg
35Marlen Reusser (Swi) Equipe Paule Ka
36Teuntje Beekhuis (Ned) Lotto Soudal Ladies
37Nina Buijsman (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg
38Riejanne Markus (Ned) CCC - Liv
39Danielle Christmas (GBr) Lotto Soudal Ladies
40Charlotte Becker (Ger) Team Arkea
41Ane Santesteban Gonzalez (Spa) Ceratizit - WNT Pro Cycling Team
42Margarita Victo Garcia Cañellas (Spa) Ale BTC Ljubljana
43Urska Pintar (Slo) Ale BTC Ljubljana
44Ilaria Sanguineti (Ita) Valcar - Travel & Service
45Chantal Van den Broek-blaak (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam
46Alena Amialiusik (Blr) Canyon – SRAM Racing
47Kathrin Hammes (Ger) Ceratizit - WNT Pro Cycling Team
48Erica Magnaldi (Ita) Ceratizit - WNT Pro Cycling Team
49Jip Van den Bos (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam
50Grace Brown (Aus) Mitchelton Scott
51Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Mitchelton Scott
52Tayler Wiles (USA) Trek - Segafredo
53Karol-Ann Canuel (Can) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam
54Pauliena Rooijakkers (Ned) CCC - Liv 0:01:19
55Anaïs Morichon (Fra) Team Arkea 0:03:18
56Abby-Mae Parkinson (GBr) Lotto Soudal Ladies 0:03:46
57Catalina Anais Soto Campos (Chi) Wcc Team 0:05:56
58Celia Le Mouel (Fra) Charente - Maritime Women Cycling
59Eyeru Tesfoam Gebru (Eth) Wcc Team
60Tanja Erath (Ger) Canyon – SRAM Racing 0:05:58
61Lorena Wiebes (Ned) Team Sunweb
62Lisa Klein (Ger) Canyon – SRAM Racing
63Anna Henderson (GBr) Team Sunweb
64Victorie Guilman (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle - Aquitaine Futuroscope
65Magdeleine Vallieres Mill (Can) Wcc Team
66Julie Leth (Den) Ceratizit - WNT Pro Cycling Team
67Katrine Aalerud (Nor) Movistar Team Women
68Alice Barnes (GBr) Canyon – SRAM Racing
69Barbara Guarischi (Ita) Movistar Team Women
70Trixi Worrack (Ger) Trek - Segafredo
71Annabel Fisher (GBr) Cogeas Mettler Look pro Cycling Team 0:06:20
72Sandra Levenez (Fra) Team Arkea
73Coralie Houdin (Fra) Team Arkea 0:07:49
74India Grangier (Fra) Charente - Maritime Women Cycling 0:08:31
75Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) Ale BTC Ljubljana 0:10:44
76Nancy Van der Burg (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1