Smith outsmarts for muddy win

From the start of the race, it seemed like it would be a duel between Sally Annis ( p/b JRA Cycles) and Andrea Smith (LadiestFirst Racing). The two at the front had put a large gap behind them within the first lap.

For much of the race, it was between Smith and Annis, neither able to make any appreciable gap on the soft and relatively slow course. From behind, with three laps to go, came Lyne Bessette (, finally completing the bridge to the leaders.

The three rode together for a lap until Smith attacked and Annis came slowly off the chase. Smith was able to hold it together in the difficult conditions and cross the finish line first with Bessette 16 seconds back in second and Annis 30 seconds off the pace in third.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
Pro/1/2/3/ Women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Andrea Smith (LadiesFirst Racing)0:52:08
2Lyne Bessette (
3Sally Annis ( p/b JRA cycles)0:00:30
4Elle Anderson (LadiesFirst Racing)0:02:22
5Catherine Sterling (
6Frances Morrison (J.A.M. Fund / NCC)0:03:43
7Evelyne BlouinRow 6 - Cell 2
8Sheila vibert (Sunapee Racing Team)0:04:05
9Sarah Krzysiak (
10Kim Blodgett0:04:26
11Rebecca Wellons (Quad Cycles)0:04:56
12BrittLee Bowman ( p/b JRA Cycles)0:06:13
13Kathleen Lysakowski (Cycle Lodge)0:06:53
14Elizabeth Lukowski (
15Molly Hurford (Team Rockstar Games / Signature Cycles)Row 14 - Cell 2
16Ellen Noble (Trek Portsmouth)Row 15 - Cell 2
17Christina Birch (J.A.M. Fund / NCC)Row 16 - Cell 2
18Corey Coogan Cisek (Plan C p/b Stevens)Row 17 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Amateur Women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Kathy Sarvary (Blue Steel Cyclery)0:36:28
2Lori Cooke (cycle lodge)0:00:45
3Vickie Monahan (Exposition Wheelmen)0:00:58
4Renee Bousquet (Racer-X)0:01:18
5Karen Tripp (BLUE STEEL CYCLERY)0:01:51
6Victoria Gates (Blue Steel Cyclery)0:02:21
7Michele Harrison (Essex County Velo powered by Mazada)0:02:35
8Dana Prey ( p/b JRA Cycles)Row 7 - Cell 2
9Sherri Curcuru (ECV)0:02:45
10Susan MacLean (BOB Cycling-Goodale's/Speed Merchant)0:02:52
11Meghan Smith0:03:31
12Erin Donohue (Killington Mountain School Cycling Team)0:03:42
13Jessie Duppler (MVCX)0:03:47
14Amanda Bedard (Cycling Concepts)0:03:54
15Dana Cooreman (mission in Motion)0:04:28
16Joanne Grogan (
17Kimberly Shattuck (Corner Cycle)0:04:59
18Cathy Rowell (NEBC p/b CycleLoft)0:05:23
19Ana Sirianni Cook (
20Joanne Breau (Rio Tinto/Martin Swiss)Row 19 - Cell 2
21Julia Sperry0:06:17
22Rebecca Wolski (LadiesFirst Racing)0:06:46
23Susannah Hufstader (Colby College)0:06:54
24Tessa Clare (Threshold Cycling)0:07:28
25Lodrina Cherne (Geekhouse Bikes)0:07:43
26Julianne Oberle (NEBC p/b Cycle Loft)0:08:23
27Kristina Donehew (Hup United)0:08:49
28Ivy Luhrs (Portland Velo Club/CycleMania)0:09:10
29Megan Curry (New England Athletic Cyclocross)0:10:01
30Starr Walker (New England Athletic Cyclocross)0:11:10
31Lauren Tracy (Zanconato Racing)Row 30 - Cell 2
32Katrina Zalenski (Burns Racing)0:11:40
33Jordan Dube (Central Wheel - GHCC)0:12:02
34Carrie Mosher (NEBC p/b Cycle Loft)0:12:09
35Katherine Snell (NEBC p/b Cycle Loft)0:12:14
36Claire Dufort ( 35 - Cell 2
37Tracy Gustafson (Danielson Adventure Sports/ QV Velo)0:14:55
38Alessia Genovese (Corner Cycle)Row 37 - Cell 2
39Peggy Gioioso (BOB CYCLING/Goodales Bikes)Row 38 - Cell 2
40Cori Dahlstrom (Team AMP)Row 39 - Cell 2
41Yvonne Schumacher (Nova Cycle Sport/ISCorp)Row 40 - Cell 2
DSQErin Brennan (Portland Velo Club)Row 41 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1