Digital Swiss 5: Küng solos to victory

Paris Nice 2020 - 78th Edition - 6th stage Sorgues - Apt 161,5 km - 13/03/2020 - Stefan Kung (SUI - Groupama - FDJ) - photo Nico Vereecken/PN/BettiniPhoto©2020
(Image credit: Bettini Photo)

Stefan Kung (Groupama-FDJ) took a resounding victory on day two of the Digital Swiss 5 with Filippo Ganna (Team Ineos) and Michael Matthews (Sunweb Team) taking third.

Kung was in almost complete control over the four laps of an undulating 11.5km circuit. In a similar performance to Rohan Dennis (Team Ineos) on Wednesday, Kung hit out and reached the front after the opening few kilometres. From there the time triallist powered his way clear of the rest of the online field.

Hitting almost 9 w/kg, Kung was in a league of his own, while the chasers swapped positions on a regular basis. Matthews and Van Avermaet – the latter who won the virtual Tour of Flanders a few weeks ago – were the closest to Kung’s back wheel but Ganna timed his charge well and came through the opposition inside of the opening 10 kilometres. From there, the race settled into a familiar patter with Kung tapping out an unmatchable wattage while his rivals struggled to get on terms.

Ganna, another powerhouse against the clock, moved clear of Matthews and Van Avermaet but was unable to gain any ground on the Groupama leader.

At the finish Kung had plenty of time to sit up and celebrate, which he did in real life, while his avatar – a far cooler and more collected character - kept his emotions in check and simply ground to a halt. Ganna crossed the line in second place, 47 seconds down, while there was more of a battle between Matthews and Van Avermaet with the pair coming into the final few hundred meters side-by-side. With no drafting element on this particular platform the sprint came down to pure power and it was the Australian who kicked for the line to take the final podium place at 1:18 down on Kung.

The race series continues on Friday.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Brief Results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Stefan Küng (Swi) Groupama-FDJ 0:54:30
2Filippo Ganna (Ita) Team Ineos 0:00:47
3Michael Matthews (Aus) Team Sunweb 0:01:28
4Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) CCC Team 0:01:32
5Matteo Dal-Cin (Can) Rally Cycling 0:02:23
6Stephen Bassett (USA) Rally Cycling 0:02:30
7Rasmus Tiller (Nor) NTT Pro Cycling
8Kamil Gradek (Pol) CCC Team 0:02:42
9Michael Schär (Swi) CCC Team 0:02:47
10Mitchell Docker (Aus) EF Pro Cycling 0:03:30

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews