Skip to main content

Pelucchi takes Clasica de Almeria victory

Neo-pro Matteo Pelucchi (Geox-TMC) was the surprise winner of the Clasica de Almeria on Sunday. The 22-year-old Italian bested Jose Joaquin Rojas (Movistar) and Pim Ligthart (Vacansoleil-DCM) in the field sprint finale to earn the first victory of his career, as well as the first win for his Spanish Pro Continental squad.

Early in the 179.5km Spanish one-day race a strong breakaway went clear including such riders as Jens Voigt (Leopard Trek), Christian Vande Velde (Garmin-Cervelo), Jose Joaquin Rojas (Movistar), Mikel Nieve (Euskaltel-Euskadi), Michael Matthews (Rabobank) and Ruslan Pydgornyy (Vacansoleil-DCM).

This move was eventually neutralised and a trio containing Johnny Hoogerland (Vacansoleil-DCM), Francisco Ventoso (Movistar) and Victor Cabedo (Orbea Continental) made their bid for victory. The trio worked well together late into the race, but the peloton brought them back inside of five kilometres to go.

The peloton stayed together through to the finish where Pelucchi notched the first win of his professional career.

Full Results
1Matteo Pelucchi (Ita) Geox-TMC4:22:56
2Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team
3Pim Ligthart (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
4Christophe Laborie (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
5Bartlomiej Matysiak (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice
6Aitor Galdos Alonso (Spa) Caja Rural
7Diego Milan Jimenez (Spa) Caja Rural
8Robert Förster (Ger) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling
9Michal Golas (Pol) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
10Juan Jose Lobato Del Valle (Spa) Andalucia Caja Granada
11Oscar Freire Gomez (Spa) Rabobank Cycling Team
12Julian Dean (NZl) Team Garmin-Cervelo
13Ruben Perez Moreno (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
14Jan Bakelandts (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto
15Adrian Saez (Spa) Orbea Continental
16Michel Kreder (Ned) Team Garmin-Cervelo
17Marko Kump (Slo) Geox-TMC
18Christian Meier (Can) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling
19Tomasz Marczynski (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice
20Marek Rutkiewicz (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice
21Benat Urain Epelde (Spa) Orbea Continental
22David De La Fuente Rasilla (Spa) Geox-TMC
23Jon Aberasturi Izaga (Spa) Orbea Continental
24Blazej Janiaczyk (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice
25David Gutierrez Gutierrez (Spa) Geox-TMC
26Pablo Lechuga Rodriguez (Spa) Andalucia Caja Granada
27Gert Dockx (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto
28Alan Perez Lezaun (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
29Peio Bilbao (Spa) Orbea Continental
30Ricardo Garcia Ambroa (Spa) Orbea Continental
31Michael Matthews (Aus) Rabobank Cycling Team
32José Joao Pimenta Costa Mendes (Por) CCC Polsat Polkowice
33Dennis Van Winden (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team
34Jean-Lou Paiani (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
35Francis De Greef (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto
36Jens Voigt (Ger) Leopard Trek
37Olivier Kaisen (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto
38Lukasz Bodnar (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice
39Stefan Denifl (Aut) Leopard Trek
40Oleg Chuzhda (Ukr) Caja Rural
41Manuel Ortega Ocana (Spa) Andalucia Caja Granada
42Carlos Oyarzun (Chi) Movistar Team
43Mario Aerts (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto
44Thomas Peterson (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo
45Igor Anton Hernandez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
46Ruben Martinez (Spa) Caja Rural
47Adrian Honkisz (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice
48Jose Luis Cano (Spa) Andalucia Caja Granada
49Imanol Erviti (Spa) Movistar Team
50Eloy Ruiz Pinto (Spa) Andalucia Caja Granada
51Christian Vandevelde (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo
52Jon Izaguirre Insausti (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
53Johnny Hoogerland (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
54Guillaume Levarlet (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
55Anders Lund (Den) Leopard Trek
56Xavier Florencio Cabre (Spa) Geox-TMC
57Frank Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek
58Mikel Nieve Ituralde (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
59Daniel Martin (Irl) Team Garmin-Cervelo
60Wouter Poels (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
61Martijn Keizer (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
62Joaquin Sobrino (Spa) Caja Rural
63Xabier Zabalo Imaz (Spa) Orbea Continental
64Paul Poux (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
65Ruslan Pydgornyy (Ukr) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
66Jean Marc Marino (Fra) Saur - Sojasun0:00:12
67Alberto Ongarato (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team0:00:18
68Oscar Pujol Munoz (Spa) Omega Pharma-Lotto0:00:24
69Rory Sutherland (Aus) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling0:00:25
70Sébastien Joly (Fra) Saur - Sojasun0:00:29
71Vasili Kiryienka (Blr) Movistar Team0:00:31
72Matteo Carrara (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team0:00:39
73Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team
74Jonathan Clarke (Aus) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling
75Jelle Vanendert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto
76Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto
77Jonathan Hivert (Fra) Saur - Sojasun0:00:48
78Victor Cabedo (Spa) Orbea Continental0:00:54
79Ignatas Konovalovas (Ltu) Movistar Team0:01:07
80Aritz Etxebarria (Spa) Orbea Continental0:01:18
81Stef Clement (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team0:01:54
82Cyril Bessy (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
83Peter Stetina (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo
84Julian Sanchez Pimienta (Spa) Caja Rural
85Jose Vicente Toribio Alcolea (Spa) Andalucia Caja Granada0:02:51
86Jose Luis Roldan Carmona (Spa) Andalucia Caja Granada
87Juan Javier Estrada Ruiz (Spa) Andalucia Caja Granada
88Arkaitz Duran Aroca (Spa) Geox-TMC
89Francisco José Ventoso Alberdi (Spa) Movistar Team
90Javier Moreno Bazan (Spa) Caja Rural
91Xavier Tondo Volpini (Spa) Movistar Team
92Christopher Jones (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews