Skip to main content

Field victorious in Southampton

World Cup rider Ian Field made a winning return to UK racing, taking victory from Hargroves Cycles team-mate Jody Crawforth in the fourth round of the National Trophy Cyclo-Cross Series in Hampshire.

The duo led a superb day for the Hargroves Cycles team on their home patch of Southampton Sports Centre, with Field crossing the line nine seconds ahead of Crawforth who retains the overall series lead.

Previously just one point ahead of rival Paul Oldham, the Hope Factory Racing rider from Colne in Lancashire, Crawforth is now five points clear after Oldham settled for third spot.

The Southampton course is always fast, but with the ground frozen solid (but snow free) it proved to be even quicker than usual.

The top three were stuck like glue for the first few laps as they figured out the best lines to take, but after about 25 minutes’ racing Field caught them by surprise and attacked, establishing a gap of around five seconds.

Not wishing to chase his team-mate too hard, Crawforth concentrated on making sure Oldham remained behind, and Field held his advantage to the line.

“It was a tough race,” said 29-year-old Crawforth afterwards. “It was really cold and frozen. Everybody normally expects a mud-bath at Southampton.

“My main aim was to beat Paul Oldham and maintain the overall lead. It’s always nice to win a race, but I had to think of the overall.

“When Ian [Field] attacked it caught me out, and I chased for a bit, but it’s not really good to chase down your team-mate, so I concentrated on making sure Paul was behind me.

“He was chasing hard to catch me but with three laps to go I put in a big effort and I think that was enough to stay clear.”

With continental riders normally high up the placings at National Trophy events, it was a rare all-British podium, although Belgian riders Steven De Deker and Floris De Tier were fourth and fifth respectively.

Hannah Barnes (Motorpoint) was best of the women, crossing the line 34 seconds ahead of Stourbridge CC’s Hannah Payton, while Team Corridori rider Corinne Hall was just five seconds further back.

After former British champion Chris Young (Wheelbase) had won the previous round, normal service was resumed with Darren Atkins (Coventry Road Club) winning by 30 seconds over his Yorkshire rival to make it three wins out of four in the over-40s category.

Endura-MI Racing rider Steve Davies won the over-50s by a similar margin to Atkins, with Raleigh RT’s Ian Wright second and Evans Cycles Dave MacMullen third.

And in the junior race newcomer Jack Clarkson, the Pedalsport rider from Halifax who has been riding for less than a year, put in a superb ride to win the junior category by 41 seconds from Hargroves rival Alistair Slater, while Taylor Johnstone of Team De Ver was third, another 1-09 back.

The series now moves north to Peel Park in Bradford, where Ian Field will be aiming to make it two wins out of two before heading back to his Belgium base for more continental racing to prepare for the British Championships in January.

Full Results
1Ian Field (GBr) Hargroves Cycles
2Jody Crawforth (GBr) Hargroves Cycles/Trant/Next/Scott/GSI
3Paul Oldham (GBr) Hope Factory Racing
4Steven de Decker (Bel) Flemisch Cycling Projects
5Floris De Tier (Bel) Baboco - Revor Cycling Team
6Nicholas Craig (GBr) Team Scott UK
7Kris Lapere (Bel) Mez Team
8Kenny Geluykens (Bel) Scott Cycling Team
9Luke Gray (GBr) Hargroves Cycles/Trant/Next/Scott/GSI
10Thomas Vernaeckt (Bel) Sunweb-Revor
11Rob Jebb (GBr)
12Daniel Booth (GBr) Cult Racing
13Kevin Cant (Bel) Van Goethem Prorace Cycling Team
14Lewis Craven (GBr) Wheelbase.Co.Uk/Cannondale
15Stuart Bowers (GBr) Hargroves Cycles/Trant/Next/Scott/GSI
16Ritchie Denolf (Bel) Baboco Cycling Team
17Crispin Doyle (GBr) Swindon RC
18Bjorn Rondelez (Bel) Lingier Versluys Team
19Gianni Denolf (Bel) Baboco - Revor Cycling Team
20Tim Baldwin (GBr) Paul Milnes/Bradford Olympic RC
21Ben Eedy (GBr) Team Empella
22Robert Watson (GBr) Paul Milnes RT/Bradford Olympic
23Steve Gruwier (Bel) Asfra Racing Team
24Billy Joe Whenman (GBr)
25Tom Payton (GBr) Cult Racing
26Ben Roach (GBr) Cult Racing
27Lee Westwood (GBr)
28Scott Chalmers (GBr) Dream CC/Zero
29Michael Cotty (GBr)
30Andrew Nichols (GBr) Cambridge University CC
31Andrew Waterman (GBr) Dulwich Paragon CC
32Andrew Hargroves (GBr) Hargroves Cycles/Trant/Next/Scott/GSI
33Daniel Lewis (GBr) Raf Ca
34Robert McCarthy (GBr) VC Meudon
35Matt MacDonald (GBr) Hargroves Cycles/Trant/Next/Scott/GSI
36Lawrence Frost (GBr) Team Empella Cyclo-cross .com
37Nathan Miller (GBr) X Rt / Elmy Cycles
38Paul Young (GBr)
39Mark Davies (GBr) Revo Racing
40James Duguid (GBr) Sigma Sport/Specialized
41Paul Sheers (GBr)
42Sam Allen (GBr) Aw Cycles.Co.Uk / Giant
43Jonathan Limebear (GBr) Batley CC/Hargreaves
44James Cotty (GBr) Wheelbase.Co.Uk/Cannondale
45Karl Norfolk (GBr)
46David Rees (GBr) Dulwich Paragon CC
47Edward Sneddon (GBr) Sigma Sport / Specialized
48Ben Spurrier (GBr) Rapha Condor

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews