Ackermann wins Bredene Koksijde Classic

Pascal Ackermann (UAE Team Emirates) claimed victory at the Bredene Koksijde Classic on Friday. 

The German beat Hugo Hofstetter (Arkea-Samsic) and Tim Merlier (Alpecin-Fenix) to the line in a bunch sprint. 

It was Ackermann's first win since the Deutschland Tour last summer, and his first for UAE Team Emirates since moving from Bora-Hansgrohe over the winter. 

"I was not really lucky in the last weeks but my shape was really good," an elated Ackermann said after hitting out early to the victory. 

"I was thinking about what's wrong but I think the mistake just was waiting too long in the sprints. Today I decided to go early like in the last years and it worked out again. I'm really happy about it."

It's Ackermann's second win at the Bredene Koksijde Classic after a similar finale in 2019.

"I have good memories about this race, I won it three years ago. I hope that was the final kick for me and now it's going forward to the next races. I already felt good in the last days, I was just a bit unsure because I had now 10 race days in 12 days. Now I stop the first part of the season with a victory and can look forward to the next race in De Panne next week.

"My shape is really good, my level is higher than the last years - my sprint power is better than last year. I am looking forward to the next races. It's really special because for the first time in my career I'll do the Classics, so I'm really looking forward to it and hope I can do something in the next weeks. I'm really proud to be part of the team and now it's time to give something back."

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Pascal Ackermann (Ger) UAE Team Emirates 4:29:30
2Hugo Hofstetter (Fra) Arkea-Samsic
3Tim Merlier (Bel) Alpecin-Fenix
4Sam Welsford (Aus) Team DSM
5Gerben Thijssen (Bel) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux
6Timothy Dupont (Bel) Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB
7Søren Wærenskjold (Nor) Uno-X Pro Cycling Team
8Luca Mozzato (Ita) B&B Hotels-KTM
9Arnaud De Lie (Bel) Lotto Soudal
10Bert Van Lerberghe (Bel) Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team
11Piet Allegaert (Bel) Cofidis
12Colin Joyce (USA) Human Powered Health
13Pier Andre Cote (Can) Human Powered Health
14Lorrenzo Manzin (Fra) TotalEnergies
15Tord Gudmestad (Nor) Uno-X Pro Cycling Team
16Rudy Barbier (Fra) Israel-Premier Tech
17Barnabás Peák (Hun) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux
18Ethan Vernon (GBr) Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team
19Felix Groß (Ger) UAE Team Emirates
20Niklas Märkl (Ger) Team DSM
21Cyril Lemoine (Fra) B&B Hotels-KTM
22Tom Van Asbroeck (Bel) Israel-Premier Tech
23Sasha Weemaes (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
24Gil D´Heygere (Bel) Minerva Cycling Team
25Thimo Willems (Bel) Minerva Cycling Team
26Arne Marit (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
27Dries De Bondt (Bel) Alpecin-Fenix
28Jon Aberasturi Izaga (Spa) Trek-Segafredo
29Sandy Dujardin (Fra) TotalEnergies
30Andreas Goeman (Bel) Tarteletto-Isorex
31Stanislaw Aniolkowski (Pol) Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB
32Victor Campenaerts (Bel) Lotto Soudal
33Lennert Teugels (Bel) Tarteletto-Isorex
34Cedric Beullens (Bel) Lotto Soudal
35Kévin Vauquelin (Fra) Arkea-Samsic
36Jenthe Biermans (Bel) Israel-Premier Tech
37Rui Oliveira (Por) UAE Team Emirates
38Adrien Petit (Fra) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux
39Thomas Joseph (Bel) Minerva Cycling Team
40Enrico Zanoncello (Ita) Bardiani CSF Faizane'
41Lindsay De Vylder (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
42Tuur Dens (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
43Martin Laas (Est) Bora-Hansgrohe
44Maximilian Walscheid (Ger) Cofidis
45Mauro Schmid (Swi) Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team
46Jonas Iversby Hvideberg (Nor) Team DSM
47Itamar Einhorn (Isr) Israel-Premier Tech
48Jannik Steimle (Ger) Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team
49Gilles Borra (Bel) Minerva Cycling Team
50Benjamin Declercq (Bel) Arkea-Samsic
51Ceriel Desal (Bel) Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB
52Patrick Gamper (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe
53Shane Archbold (NZl) Bora-Hansgrohe
54Kristoffer Halvorsen (Nor) Uno-X Pro Cycling Team
55Markus Pajur (Est) Arkea-Samsic
56Jens Debusschere (Bel) B&B Hotels-KTM
57Dayer Quintana (Col) Arkea-Samsic
58Boy van Poppel (Ned) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux 0:00:12
59Maximiliano Richeze (Arg) UAE Team Emirates
60Dimitri Claeys (Bel) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux 0:00:16
61Ward Vanhoof (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
62Jeremy Cabot (Fra) TotalEnergies
63Marco Frigo (Ita) Israel Cycling Academy
64Jeroen Eyskens (Bel) Tarteletto-Isorex
65Gage Hecht (USA) Human Powered Health
66Enrico Battaglin (Ita) Bardiani CSF Faizane'
67Vegard Stake Laengen (Nor) UAE Team Emirates
68Iljo Keisse (Bel) Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 0:00:19
69Sébastien Grignard (Bel) Lotto Soudal
70Lionel Taminiaux (Bel) Alpecin-Fenix
71Michael Schwarzmann (Ger) Lotto Soudal
72Mathijs Paasschens (Ned) Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB
73Karl Patrick Lauk (Est) Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB 0:00:21
74Rasmus Tiller (Nor) Uno-X Pro Cycling Team 0:00:22
75Christophe Noppe (Bel) Arkea-Samsic 0:00:26
76Kasper Saver (Bel) Minerva Cycling Team 0:00:33
77Taj Jones (Aus) Israel-Premier Tech 0:00:34
78Anders Skaarseth (Nor) Uno-X Pro Cycling Team 0:00:36
79Nickolas Zukowsky (Can) Human Powered Health 0:00:39
80Rüdiger Selig (Ger) Lotto Soudal
81Tom Devriendt (Bel) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux 0:00:41
82Wesley Kreder (Ned) Cofidis 0:00:47
83Stijn Steels (Bel) Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 0:00:48
84Matthew Walls (GBr) Bora-Hansgrohe
85Thibau Verhofstadt (Bel) Tarteletto-Isorex 0:00:57
86Leon Heinschke (Ger) Team DSM 0:01:14
87Daan Hoole (Ned) Trek-Segafredo
88Jelle Wallays (Bel) Cofidis 0:01:28
89Robbe Ghys (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise 0:02:19
90Lukas Pöstlberger (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe
91August Jensen (Nor) Human Powered Health 0:02:23
92Dimitri Peyskens (Bel) Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB
93Jacob Relaes (Bel) Tarteletto-Isorex
94Sander De Pestel (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
95Niki Terpstra (Ned) TotalEnergies 0:03:00
96Otto Vergaerde (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
97Scott Thwaites (GBr) Alpecin-Fenix
98Jakob Egholm (Den) Trek-Segafredo
99Morten Hulgaard (Den) Uno-X Pro Cycling Team
DSQRobin Carpenter (USA) Human Powered Health
DNSJonas Koch (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe
DNSTaco van der Hoorn (Ned) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux
DNSCees Bol (Ned) Team DSM
DNSDries Van Gestel (Bel) TotalEnergies
DNFSimon Dehairs (Bel) Alpecin-Fenix Development Team
DNFAlexander Krieger (Ger) Alpecin-Fenix
DNFGuillaume Van Keirsbulck (Bel) Alpecin-Fenix
DNFAlexys Brunel (Fra) UAE Team Emirates
DNFFinn Fisher-Black (NZl) UAE Team Emirates
DNFAntonio Puppio (Ita) Israel Cycling Academy
DNFEmils Liepins (Lat) Trek-Segafredo
DNFMarc Brustenga Masague (Spa) Trek-Segafredo
DNFTom Bohli (Swi) Cofidis
DNFAndré Carvalho (Por) Cofidis
DNFKenneth Vanbilsen (Bel) Cofidis
DNFPepijn Reinderink (Ned) Development Team DSM
DNFHannes Wilksch (Ger) Development Team DSM
DNFMichel Ries (Lux) Arkea-Samsic
DNFLasse Norman Hansen (Den) Uno-X Pro Cycling Team
DNFRaphael Parisella (Can) B&B Hotels-KTM
DNFJérémy Lecroq (Fra) B&B Hotels-KTM
DNFJulien Morice (Fra) B&B Hotels-KTM
DNFAdrien Lagree (Fra) B&B Hotels-KTM
DNFBas Tietema (Ned) Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB
DNFJohnatan Cañaveral Vargas (Col) Bardiani CSF Faizane'
DNFLuca Colnaghi (Ita) Bardiani CSF Faizane'
DNFAlessandro Santaromita Villa (Ita) Bardiani CSF Faizane'
DNFSamuele Zoccarato (Ita) Bardiani CSF Faizane'
DNFKenneth Caethoven (Bel) Minerva Cycling Team
DNFStefano Museeuw (Bel) Minerva Cycling Team
DNFGianni Marchand (Bel) Tarteletto-Isorex
DNFKobe Vanoverschelde (Bel) Tarteletto-Isorex

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1